We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra special treat!”
Review of The Knoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knoll
Ranked #1 of 2 Lakeside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Extra special treat!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

What a real treat! My wife and I had a one night stay last night. The hotel was friendly and very stylish. Not pretentious but beautifully decorated. The room was very clean and had everything you might need. A bonus was the two seater chair. The lounge, with its log fire, was great to sit in before dinner and drink a lovely glass of wine (or 2). The real star in this 4/5 star establishment was the food. It was amazing! We ate dinner, which has a small but more than adequate menu even though my wife is a vegetarian there was something for everyone. The breakfast was terrific, lots to choose from all local produce and extremely tasty. The staff were very friendly and their service was great too! As a guest there, you can also use the spa facilities down the road at the Swan, free of charge, which we did and it was great too. Overall this was a lovely retreat and I would/will be visiting again. The only downside (and some would say a real benefit) is that they don't cater all for children. Thank you The Knoll, we hope to stay again soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
239
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After attempting to find a decent hotel after working in Barrow, we decided on The Knoll after reading favourable reviews on Tripadvisor.

Arriving at about 5pm the owner(Jen) welcomed us and showed us to our rooms, both of them were described as Luxury Rooms on website.

Very clean and tidy, bed was really comfy. Next to a road but barely noticeable because of the small amount of traffic passing.

Great breakfast, very reasonably priced also.

Would we stay again??.......YES.

Room Tip: The none luxury rooms can be £40 cheaper but they are nearly as nice as the more expensive ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCorner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place was fantastic, my wife is gluten intollerant, the hostess brought us a special gluten free cream tea on arrival, biscuits in the room gluten free and even catered the evening menu to suit. Made our 2 night stay very special. could not fault anything room spotless, hostess couldnt do enough for us. would definatly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Geoffshaw68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at The Knoll for a post-Christmas break having searched through many hotel listings to find something special - we certainly found the right place! The hotel was comfortable. Jen, Denise and all other staff made us very welcome and the food was exceptional. All in all the stay was perfect in every respect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We recently stayed at The Knoll to attend their women only New Year's Eve / New Year's Day event. We extended our stay by adding on a couple of extra nights before NYE.

The Knoll is a wonderful country house with 8 rooms just at the bottom of Lake Windermere. Each room is decorated and furnished to the highest standards with lots of attention to detail. The 'communal' rooms in the house (lounge and dining room) are of an equally high standard.

Food at the Knoll is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for the incredibly talented owner and chef Jen. From a vast selection at breakfast including the usual continental, cooked and more to wonderful evening meals, if you want them. All ingredients are locally sourced as far as possible and everything is home-made - even the granola and jams!

Jen and all the amazing team of women that help to run The Knoll cannot do enough to help...or just leave you completely to your own devices if that's what you want. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this wonderful house for that little extra special treat for anyone wanting to be spoilt in the Lake District. Go on book yourselves in...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning...you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshnVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed on a living social deal. It was excellent. Roaring fire in the living room. Wonderful dinner and superb breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff are really friendly and can not do enough for you. It is nice enough to stay in have dinner which is served at 7.30 enjoy a bottle of wine and whiskey coffee and head up to your room or stay in the lounge for a night cap.

Room Tip: Upgrade we did not but I wish we had. The standard room was good but wished we had spoilt ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Thanks to all at the Knoll for making our weekend so special a lovely room great food and
brilliant friendly staff. Thank you we look forward to staying with you again.
The Knoll really is not to be missed.
Paul & Sue B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
7.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll

Property: The Knoll
Address: Lakeside, Lakeside LA12 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knoll 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tranquil country retreat stands in beautiful grounds at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, surrounded by spectacular woodland. The unwinding begins the moment you arrive. Following a warm welcome, you'll be shown to one of eight beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with its own luxurious en suite bathroom. We've thought of everything, from little treats like complementary toiletries to more practical concerns like hair dryers, Satellite TV, DVD and iPod dock, internet access and your own hospitality tray. We also offer complimentary use of the local four star hotel's health and fitness spa.After that, it's up to you. Our pleasant gardens suggest drinks on the lawn or a lovely outdoor eating experience. Open log fires and a cosy drawing room invite you to curl up and relax. If it weren't for our superb location, you'd never want to go out - but the Lake District beckons, and it's all just waiting to be explored. Need a last minute gift? We can provide vouchers for future stays at the Knoll. Call to book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Hotel Lakeside
Knoll Newby Bridge
Knoll Hotel Newby Bridge
The Knoll Lakeside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing