We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanley Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
66
27
4
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
27
4
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardensteak and ale pieexcellent beerlovely foodrecommend this establishmentselection of beersmuncaster castlemashpub foodgreat pubevening mealfantastic locationfamily roomhigh standardclivelandlorddog
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stopped off for lunch during my husbands work day, the place was empty when we arrived but the waitress made us feel very welcome. I had the liver (served with chips and not mashed potato) my husband had the gammon both were excellent, steaming hot and beautifully served. We shall defiantly go again.

Room Tip: Excellent menu, plenty of choice, good children's menu.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fabulous 3 nights stay at The Stanley Ams Hotel. Mel and Clive are perfect hosts along with their team and the friendly locals made us so welcome. Food is amazing with plenty of choice, breakfast a must! Dog friendly too with a fabulously well kept beer garden with a beautiful stream running along side, a must for the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stopped off for lunch, having driven past many times. We were warmly met by the staff. The food was excellent, and the waitress was knowledgable and made suggestions, my husband had the lamb which was delicious and I had liver which was also excellent. the pub had a very nice relaxed atmosphere. so we had a very enjoyable lunch and will definitely be back. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I spent five nights at the Stanley Arms while on a business trip. I cannot speak highly enough of the service and hospitality at this attractive country pub. Owners Mel and Clive have been here about eighteen months and have already built up a good local trade. The bar food is first class and great care is taken with standards of service. Clive admits it's work in progress (some of the bedrooms need updating) but what this hard-working couple have achieved so far is impressive indeed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were lookingt for somewhere to have lunch and several places were closed. The Stanley Arms didn't look all that open, but once inside it was a warm and cheerful place. We only had snack food, toasted sandwiches, soup and that sort of thing. Everything which should be hot was hot and the prices reasonable, if we are in the area again we will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antmaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews