We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Head at Middleton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
the potteries
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just recently stayed for five days at The Head and can only wonder about the "average" and "terrible" reviews posted on here, in our opinion these reviews are most unfair and should be ignored.
The accommodation is spacious, spotless,and very comfortable, the garden is NOT overgrown it is set out to be a typical cottage garden which in turn attracts different species of wildlife.
Liz and David are superb "mine hosts" with nothing too much trouble, one only needs to ask. The menu at first glance does appear to be typical pub grub but there the similarity ends because the quality of the food and the cooking is certainly well above "pub grub" standard, in fact we have dined in "starred restaurants" and many times the food has been of lesser quality than at The Head.
This was our first visit to the area and will not be our last, The Head will most certainly be our choice of place to stay due to its location but not least because of the warm welcome we received from Liz ,David and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianistsuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Recently stayed overnight with my 3 collies and will definitely return. Made to feel very welcome, lovely rooms, dog friendly which is unusual when trying to book accommodation anywhere in the Lakes. Loved the gift shop attached to the pub as you can take away a nice souvenir of your visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikkimisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent a thirteen night holiday in May/June. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and by the end of our stay we felt more as friends than guests. Elizabeth and David could not do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was clean,comfortable and spacious, and the food excellent. With it's location between the Dales and the Lakes, it's value for money and it's all round homeliness, The Head is to be thoroughly recommended, whether it be for a one night stopover or for a longer stay like ours.
We fully intend to have another break there next Spring

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the rooms and food were excellent. Good choice of menu. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stopped at the Head for one night on a quick trip around Cumbria / Yorkshire Dales, we also had food. The staff were friendly, the food was good (and very large portions), the rooms were large, clean and comfortable and overall I was very impressed.

I thought it was very well priced as well to be honest.

Lastly the object of our little trip was to drive some windy roads in exciting countryside and the head is well placed to do just that. Really had quite a refreshing time.

Rob

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We got a warm welcome. It is set in a beautiful accessible location. The family room was ideal for our 2 kids too. We had a lovely meal and a fab breakfast.
We have stayed before and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a double bed and 2 singles with a dividing wall between. Ideal for children in a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed overnight at The Head on the way home from visition family in Cumbria. The welcome we (and our dog) received was very warm and friendly and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Great shower in Room 4 too! Evening meal was very nice - excellent Steak and Kidney Pie - and the breakfast was excellent. Friendly owners had plenty of time for us and couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend The Head to others for a night or for a longer stay - they are offering three nights for £150 for bed and breakfast for two people which is great value!
Thanks again to the owners for their great hospitality. I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
15.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Head at Middleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head at Middleton

Property: The Head at Middleton
Address: Situated on the A683 | Between Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh, Middleton LA6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Head at Middleton is a charming country inn and restaurant situated on the A683 between Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale. We provide Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering accommodation in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The Head is everything you'd expect an English country pub to be: excellent home-cooked pub food, open fires in winter, a rustic bar with a fine selection of wines, malts, soft drinks and ale, and extensive gardens with seating areas. Our aim is to give all our customers a traditional Cumbrian welcome. Whether passing through, enjoying our country inn and pub food, or enjoying a break in one of our en-suite hotel rooms, you are assured warm hospitality. Motorhome guests using our restaurant are welcome to stay overnight on our car park. We welcome walkers, cyclists and bikers and the Head at Middleton is a dog friendly pub and hotel. Our garden is a haven for bird watchers, and golfers can enjoy nearby courses at Kirkby Lonsdale, Casterton and Sedbergh. Visitors to nearby Sedbergh School are assured fine hospitality. Whatever your reason for visiting the Head at Middleton, you'll get a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Head at Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head At Middleton Cumbria
The Head At Middleton Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing