We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Cumbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Head at Middleton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Cumbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for Elizabeth and David who made our three day stay very enjoyable. Clean comfortable accommodation, excellent food choices and plenty of it. Having discovered this gem of a hotel in a beautiful setting we shall return time and time again.

Peter Skelson

Room Tip: The family room was very comfortable and suitable for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffordshireMoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

3 tired and damp game fishermen, spending 3 days fishing in glorious Cumbria in need of TLC. We got it in shed loads. Comfortable accommodation, great food, good selection of beers, homely atmosphere, log fire and a warm welcome from Elizabeth & David who ensured all our needs were catered for, even freezing our hard fought for fish and ice packs. Thanks both for making our stay memorable and to Ruth who ensured we were well fed and watered in the Bar! We shall return. Andy, Mac & Pete

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked in for two nights whilst visiting family in Sedbergh. Gardens very neglected and run down was initial opinion. Checked into room and were told that although we had booked two nights bed and breakfast the second morning we would have to have a very early breakfast or have a continental breakfast in our rooms as our staying was inconvenient to the owners as they had an appointment that morning. We opted for the continental served in our room.
We were asked to settle up the night before leaving which we did and were astonished to find a sum of £4 added to our account to cover two cups of coffee offered to us on arrival. We queried this, as we thought these were the usual complementary drink on arrival as we have always had this in Cumbria hotels in the past, and the bed and breakfast in Garsdale even offered us a complementary afternoon tea. David came to the bar armed with till rolls from the day we arrived and told us he had checked his accounts and we had not paid for these coffees and he wanted £4 there and then! Even though we were not offered a proper breakfast the following day! It was very intimidating and upsetting and when we returned to our rooms to find that we had not even been given clean towels despite ours being wet from a shower the day before, we left the hotel at 11 p.m. to drive home and get away from this unfriendly run down hotel. Our friends in Sedbergh wanted recommendations from us for places for their guests to stay and our recommendation for The Head at Middleton would be GIVE IT A MISS! We had an expensive lesson in Cumbria hospitality

Room Tip: Give it a miss and dine out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmCumbria, Owner at The Head at Middleton, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
This review comes as no surprise!Complimentary tea and coffee are always available upon arrival in room. The customers arrived and ordered two coffees from the bar before checking in as they were "gasping" for a cigarette and a drink. I offered to show them the room first but they declined. When booking the room I did state that Sunday evening would be a problem as we had an appointment early the next morning but they continued with the booking in full knowledge of this. After payment of food and accommodation on the Sunday evening I was told of the confusion over the £4 coffee bill - I went over to see the guests and assure them that they had indeed not paid for them- you cannot order food or drink from a public bar and expect it to be gratis! The till roll journal came about because she insisted she had a receipt and had indeed paid - no evidence on our till journal which we invited her to see, in fact she never entered the bar as she was outside on arrival with the dog.

The rooms are always tidied daily and any wet towels would have been replaced. We had complaints over smoking outside the room door from other guests and this guest's room had to be deep cleaned to rid the furnishings of stale smoke. Notices placed in room re no smoking and advising guests of the smoking areas away from the rooms. The guests decided to leave without telling us at 10 pm ( they only lived just over an hour away). The Head at Middleton has a large garden and even larger car park which is kept in good order throughout - we strongly dispute these claims and find the whole review malicious. Read the other reviews and make up your own mind!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

had a lovely quiet stay, in a comfortable bed. Elizabeth and Dave are very accommodating and welcoming people. Great food in the pub prepared by Dave and a well kept pint of bitter. A car is essential as the pub is quite out in the sticks, buts that's the appeal of the place. a great quiet relaxing place to stay. We had a nightmare with our vehicle and needed to stay an extra couple of nights. this was no problem for Elizabeth and Dave, they just fitted us in and helped us in any way they could.

Room Tip: only two rooms both nice and quiet and away from main pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicalgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just arrived home from spending 3 nights at The Head at Middleton. This is a fabulous cosy pub with excellent meals and great service - plus friendly locals. Elizabeth and David are The Hosts and could not do enough to please. We stayed in an annexe situated in a lovely wildlife garden, close to the pub, along with our dog Lilly. Lilly was allowed in the bar where we had our breakfast and evening meal. This is a great idea for people with dogs so we don't have to leave them alone in the room. There is also a separate restaurant if people so wish to eat there instead. As for the surrounding scenery.........the howgills were breathtaking covered in snow. There is also a woodland track behind the pub for excellent dog walks. We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: There are only 2 en-suite rooms available in the annexe which is single storey and overlooks the wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My girlfreind and I have called at this lovely country pub a number of times as it is only a short drive from home and we just love it so much.
It is so cosy with log fires and oak beams, the staff are so wecolming and friendly and the food is out of this world, all freshly cook to order.
The value for money is amazing, I had the Cumberland Sausage, chips and veg and a pint of beer, my Girlfriend had a Soup, bowl of homemade chips and a glass of wine, all for £20.
It is also nice to have a look round the little handycraft / gift shop that is within the pub.
Just be warned I understand this place is only open Fri, Sat and Sun but the Landlady told us she would open other nights by appointment.
This pub is a must for anyone visiting this part of the Lune Valley, BUT MAKE SURE YOU ARE HUNGREY.
Congratulation to the Landlord and Landlady and their staff for a fantastic pub
We will be going back very soon

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the potteries
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just recently stayed for five days at The Head and can only wonder about the "average" and "terrible" reviews posted on here, in our opinion these reviews are most unfair and should be ignored.
The accommodation is spacious, spotless,and very comfortable, the garden is NOT overgrown it is set out to be a typical cottage garden which in turn attracts different species of wildlife.
Liz and David are superb "mine hosts" with nothing too much trouble, one only needs to ask. The menu at first glance does appear to be typical pub grub but there the similarity ends because the quality of the food and the cooking is certainly well above "pub grub" standard, in fact we have dined in "starred restaurants" and many times the food has been of lesser quality than at The Head.
This was our first visit to the area and will not be our last, The Head will most certainly be our choice of place to stay due to its location but not least because of the warm welcome we received from Liz ,David and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianistsuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
15.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Head at Middleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head at Middleton

Property: The Head at Middleton
Address: Situated on the A683 | Between Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh, Middleton LA6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Head at Middleton is a charming country inn and restaurant situated on the A683 between Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale. We provide Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering accommodation in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The Head is everything you'd expect an English country pub to be: excellent home-cooked pub food, open fires in winter, a rustic bar with a fine selection of wines, malts, soft drinks and ale, and extensive gardens with seating areas. Our aim is to give all our customers a traditional Cumbrian welcome. Whether passing through, enjoying our country inn and pub food, or enjoying a break in one of our en-suite hotel rooms, you are assured warm hospitality. Motorhome guests using our restaurant are welcome to stay overnight on our car park. We welcome walkers, cyclists and bikers and the Head at Middleton is a dog friendly pub and hotel. Our garden is a haven for bird watchers, and golfers can enjoy nearby courses at Kirkby Lonsdale, Casterton and Sedbergh. Visitors to nearby Sedbergh School are assured fine hospitality. Whatever your reason for visiting the Head at Middleton, you'll get a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Head at Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head At Middleton Cumbria
The Head At Middleton Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing