We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at a friendly hotel”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great stay at a friendly hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

myself, my husband our 3 children aged 12,8,5 and my father in law stayed here for 1 night in a family room and a twin room. the rooms where great lovely clean with nice en suites. lovely breakfast very helpful friendly staff. friendly welcoming bar. will recommend and use again.thank you x

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    797
    238
    87
    66
See reviews for
316
1,354
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just back from a two night stay at the Damson Dene. After seeing a couple of episodes of The Hotel on Channel 4 I can't say that we were looking forward to it, but I can honestly say we have had the most fantastic time. Service was spot on from start to finish, lovely afternoon tea on arrival. Had a three course meal as part of our deal and it was absolutely delicious so booked for dinner a second night. After a long walk in the lakes it was lovely to come back to use the leisure facilities, all clean and tidy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and Wayne and Paul kept us very entertained on Saturday night! All in all a really relaxing and fantastic stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Paid £118 for the room for 2 people for the night, which included breakfast. Were initially given a scruffy, dirty room at the back of the hotel, with a damp and rotten bath panel, splashed bathroom walls and dusty skirting boards. Having been told it was the last room in the hotel (and attending a wedding) we commented to the Reception staff and were told there was one room availble. We then moved room and the standard was better. Still no view, small room, but clean and tidy.
To be honest, for a hotel of this price, breakfast was a disappointment. there was the typical table of cereals but no choice of fruit, no pastries etc. The cooked breakfast was...OK. Not bad but just OK. No vegetarian option and no option to have a cooked dish from a menu - just a help yourself...OK...buffet.
The setting of the hotel is truly beautiful. there is a small spa and pool which we didn't use so are unable to comment on. Some staff very friendly, others indifferent.
So all in all in my opinion a mediocre, overpriced, over glorified, bog standard hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekykkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Further to our recent posting, we acknowledge that the comments made by this guest were raised at the time and a personal apology is in the process of being sent out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Excellent and very friendly hotel, ideally situated for Lakes. The room we stayed in was clean and roomy, had a double bed and 2 seperate "real" single beds (one of which was in a little alcove) ideal for my two children aged 12 and 14.

Wonderful hot Jacuzzi to soak in after walking in the Lakes and swimming pool.

Only thing I was disappointed in was it was a set menu with a few choices for evening meal. I would have preferred choice of food. Food we had was excellent but expensive although had seperate children's menu forour children. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roysrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and exploring the local area. We offer a 3 course table d'hote menu in our restaurant with a choice of 4/5 dishes per starter, main and dessert and a seperate extensive bar menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We've stayed here once before, and there's nothing bad you can say about the place. The rooms are clean and everything you need is provided. The meals are superb, especially the buffet breakfast which is amazing, so don't stay here if you're on a diet !!! There is also a superb leisure centre. But for us, what really made our stay was the staff. They are so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. We will definately return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. The staff will be very pleased to receive your fantastic comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We booked our stay after watching the Channel 4 series about this hotel, from which it looked like a pleasant, unpretentious and comfortable place to stay. It exceeded all our expectations and we shall definitely be returning. It had a warm atmosphere with nice cosy areas to read the papers and relax. Our dog was made most welcome. The gardens were pretty (complete with ducklings on the pond) and there were seating areas raised up from the grounds to enjoy a drink and the views across to the wooded hills. The staff were extremely friendly, polite and attentive and could not be faulted. Wayne invited us to a viewing of that Sunday's edition of the TV programme and we sat with our dogs and had a good laugh. The three-course evening meal included in our offer was superb and beautifully presented, as was the breakfast. Compliments to Paul the chef! With the dining room windows looking out over the Cumbrian hills we could not wish for a nicer place to enjoy our meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerlinerWeisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
How fantastic to hear that you decided to book after watching the TV programme and have taken the time to write us this great review. All the staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular that the hotel and service exceeded expectation and that you are planning to come and stay again. We hope you continue to enjoy watching the programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

After planning a trip to the lakes, we decided on this hotel after seeing the tv series. Just to have a little brush with celebrity! We were a bit nervous of what to expect! But it was fanastic. Looks much better in real life. The staff are very friendly, especially Wayne the manager who could chat for England (or Wales) but is very funny and makes you feel at home. And even the other staff must have seriously improved their English since being on tv. Had no problems with communication. The star attraction for my daughter was the broods of little ducklings (and Wayne kept us supplied with bread for feeding). Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renothethief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you! We are so pleased we exceeded your expectation and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing