We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th stay already booked for next year”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4th stay already booked for next year”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I am one 5 friends who worked together 45 yrs ago and meet up every year for a long weekend. This was our 3rd year at Damson Dene. Service, ambience, food and location all excellent. One or two corners of the hotel are a little tired but Wayne the manager (what a super guy) said they were being attended to. Would definitely rate this hotel as an excellent base for exploring the wonderful countryside and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Many of them are not British but their professionalism and care could not be faulted.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank florence041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    794
    234
    87
    66
See reviews for
312
1,349
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We originally booked our break via a Travelzoo offer back in early March. We had never heard of the Damson Dene but considering it's proximity to Lake Windermere, we decided to go for it. Imagine our surprise when we discovered a month later, that the hotel would be the subject of a CH4 documentary. This certainly didn't put us off as the saying goes "don't knock it until you've tried it".

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and afternoon tea was arranged by Lavinia. The foyer/reception area feels like a home which we feel is very important in making people feel comfortable during their stay.

Our room was superb. A four poster bed with a bathroom containing a jacuzzi. Fresh sheets and pillows and the usual complimentary soaps and shampoos in the bathroom with a rarely seen sewing kit, shoeshine and shower caps. Tea and coffee making facilities were excellent with a wide range to choose from.

The food served in the restaurant was first class (well done Kirk & co). The menu changed on a daily basis. Dinner and breakfast were of an exceptionally high standard especially the sausages, lamb and soup. The wine and spirits selection was comprehensive. We must add that it was such a joy in getting served by staff who smiled and never had any hesitation accommodating our requirements.

The surrounding gardens and scenery are very picturesque. During the summer, you could most definitely sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

And the most important aspect of this review refers to the staff. Very helpful and attentive. We were treated with respect and courtesy at all times as well being treated more like friends than guests. We really did feel at home. A special thank you goes out to Wayne, Amos and Lavinia. You truly know how to look after your guests.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Damson Dene. I would be inclined to ignore the CH4 documentary as it only shows what the audience should see for the sake of boosting viewing figures although a bit of free advertising doesn't hurt. We are already looking to returning this coming September.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Well, what can I say about his hotel, the location is beautiful but you definately need a car to explore. I dare say that the tv programme has helped in the number of visitors now booking to go to here. The food was good, service good, rooms could do with some updating and better cleaning, I don't have a dog but the hotel does advertise that it is a dog friendly place. The staff that we met were friendly and polite but some were hard to understand, wish I understood Polish or Romanian!

I think the owner of the place summed it up with the line 'we cater to mondeo man' and that is exactly what it does, no frills, the one thing I do object to which was also said in the programme that the British are lazy etc, do not judge all of us - the reason why eastern europeans are employed is because they will work unsocial hours for a pittance and will put up with a lot!! Lets hope the ones that work here will stay in Britain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pookie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Me,my friend and little daughter called into the hotel for a drink and to look around having watched the programme.The staff were very friendly,communal areas very clean and a big thankyou to Wayne for taking time out to spend some time chatting to us.Will definately be returning for stay.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank suemac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I planned a weekend away with my hubby for our wedding anniversary. I did watch a few episodes of the channel 4 programme but decided to form my own opinion. We were pleasantly surprised. I am so glad I didn't cancel. We had a great time. My advice - IGNORE the tv programme and go see for yourself. We didn't have great weather but that's the Lakes for you!
Keep up the good work Wayne, Kirk and Co, you're doing a brilliant job!
The Robbos from West yorkshire

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo15956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Four friends and I meet up once a year for a reunion. The last three years we have been to Damson Dene staying three nights bed breakfast and evening meal each time.
The friendly laid back atmosphere of the hotel, the very good rooms, the excellent food and the care and consideration of all the staff contributed greatly to the good time we all had.
Before we left we booked another break for June next year (it is also such good value).
We are all mature ladies with a good deal of experience of hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at the Damson Dene in May, It was fantastic, dont take any notice of the tele , we had the best time, staff are happy and helpful, manager sooo funny with his stories.

We took our 6 month old puppy so was a little worried, but she was treated as any other dog, nothing was any trouble, grounds are lovely, hotel itself great, food was fantastic better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world. we even sat with locals in the bar as they said the food was well known to be excellent at Damson Dene, cannot get better endorsement than that can you.

We loved it so much we have booked again for christmas , cannot wait

Timmy2

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
497 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing