We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break, will go back again and again........”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

After seeing the hotel on the TV we initially wanted to visit the hotel just to meet the staff as they seemed such a great bunch of people, one big happy family. Travelling down from Scotland we had booked a two night stay and arrived at the hotel on the Monday to book in, from the moment we walked into the hotel the reception we were given was amazing, very friendly, like they had known us for years and we were being welcomed back again. Our room was amazing, looked like it had very recently been painted and done up, the bathroom and shower were very clean and the free toiletries offered were gorgeous. The sheets looked brand new, they were crisp and white and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a flat screen tv with a good selection of channels available to watch. Even better was that the tv actually had a programme guide included within it, having stayed at hotels such as the Marriot as recently as last week this wasnt even offered by them. It is the little things that makes all the difference when staying away from home. The tea making facilities were good with a good selection of drinks/milks etc. Good wardrobe space and hanging space for clothing too which was great. Apart from the noise of the room next to us closing their door we heard nothing at all either from inside or outside the hotel. For couples looking for peace and quiet ask for room 21.

We decided to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant while we were here, the food was amazing, it was the first place I had ever ordered a steak from where the meat itself had no hard bits or fat on it, delicious and the chips were just like mum used to make. We would also recommend the sandwiches, especially the special club sandwich or the special steak ciabatta. Compliments to the chefs who prepared all our meals which were delivered hot and within a very reasonable time.

Now onto the amazing staff, they are just like one big happy family, we had the pleasure of meeting most of the staff who were off the TV programme and had our photo taken with Wayne which made my girlfriends night. All the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and always had smiles on their faces, they were all very happy to talk about their experiences in making the TV programme and were also happy to have photos taken if asked or as Amos very kindly did for us he actually took the photo of us with Wayne.

We spent most of our time sitting in the sun admiring the gardens and duck pond which surrounded the hotel, although there was a road right beside the hotel we couldnt hear the noise of the traffic going by. Very tranquil and peaceful. Unfortunately we didnt get round to using the spa or fitness centre but will the next time we visit.

We have no hesitation in going back to the Damson Dene and are already planning our next trip down. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Thank you Damson Dene for making us feel part of the family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terryp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

What a wonderful review, thank you very much. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food that we offer. Your lovely comments will be passed onto all the staff, who I am sure will be very happy with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,900 - 1,906 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Marvellously situated in wonderful countryside.
The Manager and Staff gave us the best service and made our Wedding Celebration weekend one to remember.
The food was first class, well presented and served.
We hope to make another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1529tgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding celebrations at the Damson Dene as we try very hard to make your day extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, maybe for your first anniversary celebration?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from a weekend 2 night stay at the hotel. Couldn't and wouldn't fault it in any way. The ambiance was so relaxing that we felt relaxed and chilled within an hour of checking in.
All the staff were lovely and very efficient!!!
Wayne, the General Manager is a legend!!!!! Loved him on telly, loved him more in person. Same can be said for the lovely Amos.
Keep up the excellent work. We will definately be back and so will our family and friends.
Wayne, you deserve a pay rise with all the work you do!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyoffive150771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for this great review, we are very pleased that you were so happy with your stay. Wayne, Amos and the rest of the team will be delighted that their hard work made for an enjoyable stay for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

From the minute we arrived everything from start to finish was excellent .big mention to the staff for the wonderful service and manner that they performed.The food was first class and the accommodation second to none .highly recommended
Well done to all
MR AND MRS DINGSDALE
ST.HELENS
MERSEYSIDE

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINGSDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

What a fantastic review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed you stay and that our staff were able to provide you with the excellent service we strive for. We hope you return to the Damson Dene soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful setting, from the approaching drive to the peaceful location and lovely grounds. The television series did not do the Damson Dene justice. The staff were excellent - Wayne (the manager) in particular. Fly made an appearance, though was very non-plussed by our visit?! We opted for a romantic 'dinner, bed and breakfast' getaway and were delighted with the standards all round, from the food to the cleanliness etc. We'll definately be back :) Jonathan&Rachel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choochigucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for giving us this lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your were happy with our excellent standards of service and food. We do apologise for Fly's lack of interest towards you. Maybe if you return, she will recognise you and be more excited...?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Out of Liverpool for last Saturday on Windermere, my Wife our Grandson and I thought we would check out 'Damson Dene' for last Friday night. We enjoyed the Tv series, the honest 'warts and all' of behind-the-scenes management of staff, and the up-front care of customers: Appreciated the integrity and professional enthusiasm, shot through with a kindliness, of Wayne - And our Daughter wanted to take home Amos. All the booking sites said the Hotel was full, but rang on the off-chance. Wayne answered with the same courtesy we had seen on Tv, and with a family room. The Hotel proved 'posher' than we expected, cosier, comfortably presented with plenty of relaxing space - The family-room was a treat with style (save the shower curtain missing) - And our Evening Bar Sandwiches and Morning as-much-as-you-can-eat Breakfast Excellent. We were met with a prompt efficiency in all the staff we had dealings with, and in Amos, who was onto the 'lingo' of our Grandson way before both his Grandparents. We didn't take Amos home, but settled instead for the group-photograph. I would like to say we would be back, but realistically the Hotel is out of our price range .. So we will be looking out for the special offer.
Robert Gallagher

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertgallaghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your night with us and that you were able to meet the stars of "The Hotel"! We do often run special offers, so keep an eye out on our website for any deals to tempt you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just came back from staying at Damson Dene. I booked it on line and had no idea what it would be like. It was superb, the food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We got a super deal of three night for the price of two. The room had a jaccuzi bath and four poster bed and was immaculate. We actually took the dog with us for the first time and he was more than welcome. There is an ideallic pond with ducks in the garden and a place to walk the dog. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were an added bonus. Well what a nice surprise, we had a lovely long weekend and will certainly be returning there. Anne and Mike Morrisey from Selby

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annedelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you very much for writing this great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and we do hope that you are able to come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing