We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desperate to get away from it all”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Desperate to get away from it all”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

As a family struggling with a debilitating illness, we needed a break from our daily stresses. Damson Dene and its attentive staff gave us that distraction. Thank you Wayne, Amos , Yvonne and all of the staff who attended to our every need. I was even supported with my lack of driving skills with simple directions and best car park solutions for all of our daily trips. We stayed in Cottage 2 and we were more than satisfied, very spacious and adaptable for our needs. The staff encourage you to higlhlight any problems in the room or cottages sot hey can resolve any concerns. My husband was very comfortable with his surroundings and this made our visit more relaxing for my daughter and myself. Excellent grounds, pool , spa and gym facilities. The restaurant offers an enticing evening meal and a compulsive breakfast. Although at first you feel the hotel is a little isolated , you soon appreciated the solitude of the country surroundings and adapt to the readily availability of amenities within an easy driving distance of good quality pubs, inns and restaurants. Bowness and Kendal are within a comfortable driving distance, just be careful in the lanes with your speed. I have already recommended this hotel to my family and friends and I do not hesitate in passing on the same thoughts to yourselves.

Room Tip: Telephone if you are unsure about your personal room requirements. they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butty0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for this lovely review. We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with the relaxing break that you needed and that you were able to take advantage of the facilities that we offer. We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    785
    230
    84
    66
See reviews for
306
1,335
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed at the damson for a night stop over and could not fault it ! Nothing was to much for staff even the manager wayne gets involved which just shows how dedicated he and all the staff are to the hotel , food was excellent as was the evening meal , the service at the bar was great ,hennesy brandy I was in heaven , check out the pool and spar didn't show that on the program that was a bonus, breakfast was spot on and location of hotel great , easy to get to boweness turn right out of carpark and stay on road , takes you to the lakes , defo go again , bring back the piggies

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasher110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for this great review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the food and drink that we serve, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

After seeing the hotel on the TV we initially wanted to visit the hotel just to meet the staff as they seemed such a great bunch of people, one big happy family. Travelling down from Scotland we had booked a two night stay and arrived at the hotel on the Monday to book in, from the moment we walked into the hotel the reception we were given was amazing, very friendly, like they had known us for years and we were being welcomed back again. Our room was amazing, looked like it had very recently been painted and done up, the bathroom and shower were very clean and the free toiletries offered were gorgeous. The sheets looked brand new, they were crisp and white and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a flat screen tv with a good selection of channels available to watch. Even better was that the tv actually had a programme guide included within it, having stayed at hotels such as the Marriot as recently as last week this wasnt even offered by them. It is the little things that makes all the difference when staying away from home. The tea making facilities were good with a good selection of drinks/milks etc. Good wardrobe space and hanging space for clothing too which was great. Apart from the noise of the room next to us closing their door we heard nothing at all either from inside or outside the hotel. For couples looking for peace and quiet ask for room 21.

We decided to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant while we were here, the food was amazing, it was the first place I had ever ordered a steak from where the meat itself had no hard bits or fat on it, delicious and the chips were just like mum used to make. We would also recommend the sandwiches, especially the special club sandwich or the special steak ciabatta. Compliments to the chefs who prepared all our meals which were delivered hot and within a very reasonable time.

Now onto the amazing staff, they are just like one big happy family, we had the pleasure of meeting most of the staff who were off the TV programme and had our photo taken with Wayne which made my girlfriends night. All the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and always had smiles on their faces, they were all very happy to talk about their experiences in making the TV programme and were also happy to have photos taken if asked or as Amos very kindly did for us he actually took the photo of us with Wayne.

We spent most of our time sitting in the sun admiring the gardens and duck pond which surrounded the hotel, although there was a road right beside the hotel we couldnt hear the noise of the traffic going by. Very tranquil and peaceful. Unfortunately we didnt get round to using the spa or fitness centre but will the next time we visit.

We have no hesitation in going back to the Damson Dene and are already planning our next trip down. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Thank you Damson Dene for making us feel part of the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
What a wonderful review, thank you very much. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food that we offer. Your lovely comments will be passed onto all the staff, who I am sure will be very happy with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Marvellously situated in wonderful countryside.
The Manager and Staff gave us the best service and made our Wedding Celebration weekend one to remember.
The food was first class, well presented and served.
We hope to make another visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1529tgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding celebrations at the Damson Dene as we try very hard to make your day extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, maybe for your first anniversary celebration?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from a weekend 2 night stay at the hotel. Couldn't and wouldn't fault it in any way. The ambiance was so relaxing that we felt relaxed and chilled within an hour of checking in.
All the staff were lovely and very efficient!!!
Wayne, the General Manager is a legend!!!!! Loved him on telly, loved him more in person. Same can be said for the lovely Amos.
Keep up the excellent work. We will definately be back and so will our family and friends.
Wayne, you deserve a pay rise with all the work you do!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffive150771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for this great review, we are very pleased that you were so happy with your stay. Wayne, Amos and the rest of the team will be delighted that their hard work made for an enjoyable stay for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST HELENS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

From the minute we arrived everything from start to finish was excellent .big mention to the staff for the wonderful service and manner that they performed.The food was first class and the accommodation second to none .highly recommended
Well done to all
MR AND MRS DINGSDALE
ST.HELENS
MERSEYSIDE

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINGSDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
What a fantastic review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed you stay and that our staff were able to provide you with the excellent service we strive for. We hope you return to the Damson Dene soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful setting, from the approaching drive to the peaceful location and lovely grounds. The television series did not do the Damson Dene justice. The staff were excellent - Wayne (the manager) in particular. Fly made an appearance, though was very non-plussed by our visit?! We opted for a romantic 'dinner, bed and breakfast' getaway and were delighted with the standards all round, from the food to the cleanliness etc. We'll definately be back :) Jonathan&Rachel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choochigucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for giving us this lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your were happy with our excellent standards of service and food. We do apologise for Fly's lack of interest towards you. Maybe if you return, she will recognise you and be more excited...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing