We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask For More!!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just returned from Damson Dene, after a two night stay, and we didn’t want to leave!

We went as a couple and took the family pet dog. The value for money is unbelievable, everything is over and above what you expect. The staff could not have been more accommodating or friendly.

The food was delicious! At breakfast there was plenty of choice and if you had any requests, it was done with ease. In some hotels when I have asked for poached eggs it seems a little like hard work but here, it was no bother at all. As for dinner it was fantastic, there was plenty of choice and everything was cooked to perfection and all the food I'm told is locally sourced, which you could tell from the quality of the food. My partner who is a little fussy found numerous things he liked and was most definitely never hungry!

As for the rooms, they were ideal for the three of us, with plenty of room for the dog! I was a little nervous as we had to leave the pooch in the room when we went for a morning swim and breakfast each day in case the rooms were cleaned and the dog escaped. But the rooms were cleaned when we went out so no lost dogs in Windermere.


The location is ideal, we did a few local walks and headed to Crosthwaite which was nice, we also headed over to Ambleside on the ferry which was a great day out! There are lots of things to do, and would love to go back in the summer and see some of the attractions which were closed for winter.

I really honestly cannot find any fault with our stay, it was just what we needed to get rid of the January blues, and will definitely be staying again! I couldn’t recommend enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckillop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you very much for writing this fantastic review of the Damson Dene hotel. We are so pleased to hear that our accommodation, food and beautiful surroundings were able help banish your January blues. We look forward to welcoming you back in summer so that you can enjoy all of the attractions that the area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked up last minute for a superb Sunday night deal and everything was beyond our expectations. Staff defiantly a credit to the hotel and the food was outstanding. Thank you so much for the great stay and your kindness throughout the stay. Restaurant staff are great with kids.

Tip - Make sure your sat nav and locate the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stand80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Our Sunday Night Saver is great value for money and we are happy you were able to take advantage of it. Everyone says how wonderful the staff and the food in our restaurant is - but we never tire of hearing it! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Damson Dene for 2 nights from Sunday 22nd - Tuesday 24th January 2012. During our stay we found Wayne and all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is welcoming, warm and very clean. We enjoyed our stay that much we have also booked my parents in as we are sure they will love it! and we plan on returning for our anniversary in May...if we can wait that long!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Great review! Thank you for that. We pride ourselves on offering the best service possible, and the friendliness of our staff is second to none. We look forward to seeing your parents and for your return in May (or perhaps before!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just had a 2 night break at The Damson Dene Hotel and it was excellent ! The staff , the rooms , the relaxing lounge with the log fire, and the food...i thought i had died and gone to heaven, the food was soooo good ! Would love another visit . Well done to all !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

"Died and gone to heaven" may be the best comment we have ever had so thank you! Although we may not officially be heaven, we do think our chef may have a touch of the divine! We hope you can come visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

we have just spent a very relaxing few days at the Damson Dene Hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and gave the impression they really enjoyed their jobs. The hotel was very clean, warm and cosy. The food was excellent. Overall it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123willow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

We thank you for your lovely review. Our staff do enjoy their jobs, especially getting to meet interesting people from all over the country. I personally enjoy chatting with guests in the lounge, bar or restaurant. All in all, we work very hard to ensure everything is great for our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Had a wonderful time. Went away for a few nights with my boyfriend as a Christmas present given to us. Whole experience was great. Enjoyed the swimming pool and steam room which we used everyday. Food was fresh and tasty both for breakfast and evening meal. Our room was a nice side and very clean. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would defiantly go back and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great. Any room with four poster bed and Jacuzzi bath would recommand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Thank you, we appreciate your great review! We are happy you got to enjoy your Christmas present and were able to relax in the pool and steam room. We also can't thank you enough for recommending us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wonderful time had by all. Very freindly helpful staff. If you desirer any extras don't be afraid to ask. They really will try and provide whatever you need. Rooms clean comfortable and welcoming. Excellent tea tray provided. Lounge very inviting especially the log fire. Swimming pool excellently kept, easily excessible & extra towels supplied for pool use. The restaurant was set out well and decorated with taste. The staff were suitable attentive & very helpful and friendly.The dinner was to die for if you like quality. Breakfast was for those who like quantity, eat as much as you like buffet, but the staff were on hand to provide freshly made tea coffee and toast at your table. The view from the dinning room was wonderful and the birdlife around the trees was great to watch while eating your breakfast. Our dog was welcome with us in most parts of the hotel.Of course not in the dinning room, gym or pool area. Staff genuinely seemed dog lovers. It was our friends first visit to the hotel but they are already planning there second visit as they were both inpressed by both staff and comfort.

Room Tip: Tell the booking staff what you need and they will genuinely help you. Honestly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sykes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

We thank you for your amazing review! We particularly are happy you appreciated our staff's willingness to go above and beyond. We are happy you enjoyed our food and restaurant, including the grounds and bird life. I'm sure we'll be seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
467 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing