We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“damson dene” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
north east uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“damson dene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

just been to damson for 2 night break its ok but the grounds give you the feeling that NO one cares about the place as long as they are making money its SO tired and everywhere needs painting so badly people say in there reviews about the food again its ok but an 8 pound supplement for a steak which was crap it wes a 3pound asda chunk of meat! and the bar dont know where most of the people come from who visit the lakes but 8 pounds for a glass of wine and a pint of beer is NOT good.breakfast was very good however well done go into bowness much better food down there and a taxi from the hotel into bowness which is 4 miles will cost you 15 pounds each way!!! also our rooms view no 37 was the staff carpark with biffa bins and old caravan.wont be back ever not worth £250

Room Tip: dont get no 37 no view at all just carpark and bins not hills and lakes at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russgreenan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay and that you did not feel that you received good value for money. We are very surprised by these comments, as we feel that in general we represent good value, especially in our bar, which offers drinks at prices that are standard to the area. The hotel is an older building and some renovation works are planned, but it is well loved by our staff and this is demonstrated by the excellent level of service that they provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    779
    228
    83
    66
See reviews for
301
1,327
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We usually stay at the same hotel on Derwent Water when we stay in the lakes but via a deal on Groupon we discovered this little gem. Yes! the decor is a bit tired, our room was small but the ambience, welcome,and amenities were great. We stayed for dinner on the first night and were gutted that we didn't on the second, as our 'posh' meal in another hotel paled in comparison and was double the price. We have raved about our lovely break in such a lovely area that friends and other family members are interested in going and we'll definately be back. Thank you all so much

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and particularly the meals that you took with us. We look forward to welcoming you, your friends and your family to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

What you see it's what you get in this place!! Good reception and warm little 3* hotel is good enough for a short break. We had some lovely memories here and I'm pleased we chose Damson Dene for our holiday.
Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
You are more than welcome! Thank you for this great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel13/14th March via a deal on Travelzoo. Our room was smallish but very comfortable, the public areas were also comfortable if a little tired looking. We had booked dinner in the hotel for the first night and had intended to eat elsewhere on the second night but the food, choice and service was so good we dined at the hotel both nights. It was also refreshing to see a sensibly/fair priced Wine List with excellent choice to accompany the menu. Breakfast both mornings was also excellent as again was the service - nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were both friendly and efficient. We used the pool and spa both mornings before breakfast and whilst the sauna, steamroom & jacuzzi could do with a facelift the pool was excellent. All in all we were delighted with our stay and intend to return.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel is probably a good idea as the rooks/crows that inhabit the trees at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudders064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for this great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about the restaurant are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked a couple of days break at the Damson Dene. Set is beautiful surroundings we arrived and were greeted by Yvonne on reception. Our room (number 26) was clean and had fab views. We had a three course dinner in the resurant that evening and the food was to die for. Enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar later and spoke to other couples who like ourselves were enjoying a relaxing break. Did some sight seeing by car and foot and enjoyed the leisure facilities. Had only been home a couple of hours and decided to rebook for April but this time at the weekend. Looking forward to returning and would recommend to other couples. The hotel was very welcoming and the only but I would have was that the place could do with a couple of small touch ups in the decor. Dont let this put you off it didnt us.

Room Tip: Room 26 is lovely and quiet and has fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
What a great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made the decision to rebook so promptly! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just got back from the damson dene which we booked through travel zoo. Had a great time. Had a meal the first night which was included in the price and the food was amazing, much better than I expected. Followed this with a coffee in the reception area sat by the fire. It was very cosy and relaxing. The breakfast was great too. The staff were very friendly and worked really hard. In particular the girl in reception who also served in the restaurant. She was very helpful and always making sure everyone was ok. The only complaint was that some areas were a bit dusty but other than that everything was perfect. Would definitely stay again if another deal came up.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for this great review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and our staff will be delighted with your feedback. We frequently run special offers, so hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Damson Dene through a Groupon offer, this is not the kind of hotel we normaly stay at but it was a cracking deal. we had a small but comfortable room, most of the public areas were a little tired to say the least and woluld have to say the staff were efficient at what they do but perhaps lacking a little interaction.
But the food!
The food was totaly unexpected. It was up there with the best we have had in the lakes, we come regularly up here and have eaten in some very good restaurants and in our opinion deserves sone serious recognition from guide books which it is lacking, it was so good we canceled a booking at one of our favorite places and ate here for a second night.
Dishes of note, braised "daube" of beef - outstanding best i have ever had
Pigeon with petit pois a la francais, the trio of rhubarb and sticky toffee were beautifully presented.
3 courses were only £24.95 and used some quality local ingredients, Superb Value (have paid double for a worse meal)

In short we will be back to eat at the Damson Dene, even if we stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enrico_theman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback about our food is excellent, and our chef will be delighted. We look forward to your next visit, when you will be able to sample different dishes from our regularly updated specials menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing