We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damson Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,287)
Filter reviews
2,287 results
Traveller rating
1,004
846
264
99
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
846
264
99
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesmanager waynejacuzzi bathevening mealfour posterquiz nightreception areadog friendly hoteltwo nightsthree course mealvenisonbreakfast was buffet stylefamily roomlake district
Filter
Updating list...
1,738 - 1,743 of 2,287 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nothing too fancy but nice, clean, homely and reasonably priced.

We stayed in the four poster room which had lovely views over the pond. The bed was really comfy and the room had everything we needed. The bar area was a little dated but still had the nice atmosphere and friendly folk. The food was delicious and always plentiful.

The hotel is in a really good location, there aren't many inns that you can walk to in the evening, most are a short drive out but once you get into the centre there are so many places to visit.

I've never been to the same place twice but for the Damson Dene we are making an exception and going again this year. I've also heard they are doggie friendly so we will be taking our puppy with us this time.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and cosy stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you so much for this great review. We are delighted to hear that you are making an exception to your rule and are coming back to stay with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you again and to meeting your puppy this time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have recently been on a three day break at this pleasant hotel. Room was OK but shower-room rather small (although it did the purpose). The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We had dinner on two evenings but on one occasion the main course was not to my liking - it had very little taste. The staff came to ask what the problem was and graciously accepted our constructive criticism. It was not until we had paid our bill and left that I realised that they had not charged me for my main course - Well done, Damson Dene.
The pool and leisure centre was small but adequate for a relaxing dip but not, perhaps, for serious swimmers.
The grounds are lovely but we were disappointed in the very dirty pond. It had a rather unappealing smell on the first evening, so we did not venture round on the second evening!!
All the staff spoken to were friendly and helpful and the hotel has a "comfortable" feel to it.
The only down side for us is the location - there is nowhere to walk to - you have to get in your car and drive somewhere !!
Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would certainly consider visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for this great review of our hotel. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and despite the slight issue with your food, that you were pleased with the service that we provided. With regards to the pond, this is kept as clean as is possible, however it is a natural feature of our garden, formed through the collection of rainwater, therefore it cannot be controlled in the same way a typical garden pond would be. We thank you for your comments, and hope to see you again at the Damson Dene soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We checked in for a couple of nights straight after our wedding. Gentleman on reception was polite and friendly and the lounge area is absolutely gorgeous, especially with the fire going! However, there isn't a lift (which isn't an issue for us) and the corridors are quite narrow with old fashioned decor. Unfortunately the thing that made us very much in two minds was the size of the bedroom - it was very small and the bathroom was long and thin. It felt as if the toilet was in the bedroom and everything could be heard! It wasn't a problem for us as we are quite comfortable with each other but if we had been newly going out, we'd have been mortified! The bedroom was clean and had all amenities you could need but it still had an oldish feeling about it. The bed was one of the most comfortable I'd ever slept in which was a bonus.
The other thing that we didn't like too much was the leisure facilities. They were ok and the gym was a reasonable size but the 2 treadmills are awful! One of them bangs like crazy at any speed and the other one is very old. They were also really dirty when on an incline. The hotel would be as well to replace them with a couple of newer but second hand light commercial models which they could get for £500 - £1000 a piece. It would make a big difference I think. The pool was ok for a dip but nothing too special.
The grounds surrounding the hotel are lovely and we had dinner in the restaurant one night which overlooks the pond. It was a really nice meal, good standard of food and service and it was very enjoyable watching the ducks asking for food through the windows :)
The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they are all friendly and helpful and those people who have made personal derogatory comments on here about Wayne the general manager, should be ashamed of themselves. We were amazed by how hard he works and how much he goes out of his way to make his guests happy. You can tell that he just genuinely loves his job and loves meeting all sorts of different people. One morning, he served us breakfast at 9am, served us our evening meal at 9pm and was still happy to sit and chat with us at 10pm. He was genuinely interested in what we were talking about and made us feel valued and welcomed during our entire stay.
Breakfast was great during our stay and the staff were very efficient and quick with the tea, coffee and toast each morning.
Pets are allowed at the hotel and because there are a lot of dogs staying all the time, it can have that slightly grubby, dog eared feel about it. I think it's a bit of an uphill struggle for the cleaning staff to keep on top of all the muddy dogs coming and going all the time.
In summary, this hotel has a very old fashioned, cosy, farmhouse feel to it. The vast majority of guests were in the 50-70 age bracket and that seems to be the right sort of clientele for this sort of hotel. I've marked it down purely for the points mentioned above and also because we didn't get the "wow" feeling from it. We would probably stay again but am not sure it's quite our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in cottage number 3 which were lovely and a good standard. However the beds and pillows were very lumpy and we slept terribly. What a shame. Everything else was.ok. Dinner appeared to be very expensive for what was offered and included supplements so did nt dine but breakfast ok with good service. However this does not amount to much if you can't get a decent nights sleep. Some guests had dogs without leads which ran upto our children barking at them. They should have been advised to keep them on leads as they were 3 large dogs who scared the children.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aslamfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very surprised to hear that you did not sleep well, as we pride ourselves on offering our guests a comfortable night's sleep. The pillows have now been replaced but it is just a shame that this was not mentioned during your stay, as we would have been more than happy to provide extra duvets and cushions to ensure your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just returned from a 2 night b&m KGB deal it was are 19th wedding anniversary.on arrival we were welcomed at reception very politely.we were allocated are room (17) it was very clean and cosy and everything we needed.we had drinks in the hotel at night and the barman was very helpful and chatty.Breakfast was very appetising and plentiful.We did not eat at the restaurant has we are not big eaters but people we spoke to said the food was beautiful.We ate in Windermere at night.We went for drinks sat night and there was a quiz which Wayne compered it was very amusing at well prepared I would not hesitate in going back or recommend anyone staying at the damson dene.I would like to say a big thank you to the damson dene for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for this great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Wayne makes a great quiz master, and we're glad that he kept you well entertained for an evening. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews