We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!!!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed at the Damson Dene for 3 nights, got home today. lovely place, so friendly and relaxing.We had bedroom 12, stunning views of the grounds and the jacuzzi bath was so relaxing!Had evening meals everynight there and the food was stunning, really tasty fresh food,my other half fell in love with the sticky toffee pudding, he had it every night! hat off to the chef,the quality of food was amazing, as was the breakfast, served fresh and hot and tasty,good choice. All the staff are friendly and helpful,special mention to Yvonne for all her help and also to Wayne, really goes out of his way with everything, we were so well looked after during our stay and loved our stay there so much that we ve booked our wedding there for next year!!! : ) Cant wait to go back for a winter break and be spolit again, and of course a special mention to Fly,he s gorgeous, all in all a lovely cosy,relaxing place to go in a beautiful location x

Room Tip: if you can upgrade to a 4 poster room,do it! : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saranscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Brilliant, excellent review! Everyone here couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your amazing review! Thanks for mentioning how wonderful the staff are here as well. We will see you again soon to make sure every last detail of your wedding planning is taken care of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

We used a Travelzoo offer to visit the Damson Dene and would suggest anyone else checks for offers when intending to visit.
Undoubtedly needs an upgrade and money spending to bring it up to an acceptable standard.
First the good points, lovely reception area with log fire and comfy seats.
Excellent breakfast and acceptable evening meal.
The catering staff were all very pleasant and accommodating.

The not so good points, front of house and in particular the majority of reception staff were less than friendly and avoided all eye contact even when being addressed directly by guests! Our friends made an early enquiry as to whether they could possibly change rooms but this was dismissed out of hand.
We stayed in room 11 which had a beautiful view of the fells but the bed was lumpy and the toilet could be very noisy at times.
We would probably not bother visiting the Damson Dene again unless it was upgraded.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmillannurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have always put the profits back into the business and, slowly but surely, improved the hotel. We are in the process of improving the rooms right now with fresh paint, new furniture, curtains, etc. We will always look to improve the hotel. Also, regarding our front of house staff; We regularly receive lovely comments on here and every day from guests. I am sorry if you did not receive the amazing service that we have come to be known for. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

While not a modern building this hotel has loads of charm. Set in a beautiful and peaceful location, the garden with its mallard ducks is a pleasure to experience. We cannot envisage a place where the staff are more helpful or friendly. Food is wonderful, imaginative, flavoursome and plenty of it! [the duck is NOT from the garden!]Good wine, beer and malt selection.

The rooms are generally [early Oct 2012] in need of a redecoration and little TLC but that does not detract from the charm of the place. Having stayed at Riverside and Newby Bridge Hotels of the same group we recommend this set of hotels with Damson Dene our particular favourite. We intend returning next October.

Thanks to all concerned in running this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate you visiting all three of our properties. I couldn't agree more about our peaceful location and amazing food. The ducks, although perhaps the fattest in all the Lakes, do not make it on to the menu as we do love them! Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago and it was our 5th stay in a just over a year..we have been coming back again and again, on this latest visit we took our baby for her first holiday and choose to come to the Damson dene as we knew the management (wayne) and staff would go out of their way to help, which they did and made us very welcome..we wouldnt have gone anywhere else for our first holiday as new parents.
we had a family room which was huge. Our evening meal (which they kindly let us eat in the bar as with our baby we felt more comfortable eating in the bar area) was first class as always and breakfast is excellent too. We feel totally at ease and relaxed from the moment we arrive and we cant wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a four poster room, worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KazSNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Happy 5th stay! I cannot thank you enough for your repeated visits. We love hosting you and your wonderful new baby as well! I heard you may be returning around Christmas, so I will look forward to seeing you again soon, if that is the case! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel was OK, I do not understand the rave reviews though, the hotel is old fashioned in both in terms of decor and attitude of staff. The beds were comfortable however smelled of paint, no issue though, however on our first night we were woken by workmen at 915, and the second morning by workmen using an angle grinder at 0900. I know not every body sleeps in but to not be told about this owrk at check in is unacceptable.

On check out I mentioned this, and the receptionst could not muster anything more than a haf apology, which was all I required, she was more intrested in taking my payment. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

I do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the work being done whilst you were staying. I am dismayed at your comments regarding our attitudes to service. Everyone is always so friendly and genuinely enjoy meeting our guests and ensuring they are well-looked after. I am sorry you did not receive this level of service and I will ensure all of the staff will rededicate themselves to the principles of great customer service, something that has helped us stand apart in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Quiet Setting, friendly staff excellent food. Four course meal included on first night very nice overlooking the pond and gardens. Loved those breakfasts! Back in the evening, couple of Malts in the bar in to the jacuzzi and a very good nights sleep. Excellent!

Room Tip: Go for the jacuzzi rooms worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deecee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thanks for your lovely review! It sounds like you had a wonderful, relaxing stay (not to mention a nice little routine going whilst staying). We all couldn't be more happy. We do hope you'll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Found the hotel to be clean with the food and staff excellent. Read a previous review that stated the hotel was shabby.Our room could be considered to be updated with some finishing touches eg the window to be finished being painted. Allowing for this my wife and I would not hesitate to make a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wn0pma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

I couldn't agree about our staff and food, both are 5-star quality. As I type, we are working on the finishing touches in our rooms, fresh paint, etc. The little things in some of our rooms will be seen to in the next few weeks. Thanks again and I do hope you consider us the next time you are in the Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
533 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing