We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th visit - standards are back to excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“5th visit - standards are back to excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Have been to this hotel 5 times now, and on every occasion but one, it has been excellent. I have always reviewed places honestly and a few years ago we had a bad experience, and reviewed it as such. It seems that the hotel may have taken notice of the reviews around the same time as mine, as it is now back to the enjoyable hotel it was, not full of children running wild, as had been at a previous stay. We decided to try again, having not been for 3 years, and having read recent reviews things seemed much better. In the past this hotel was somewhere we would love to visit, very relaxing, food absolutely excellent, and the staff have always been friendly and helpful. Having seen the programme after our bad experience, we thought the hotel had become Butlins, and that is not the type of relaxing break we like, so used other places, but we have so many wonderful memories of Damson Dene, having become engaged there (in the jacuzzi in leisure suite lol), taken my mother and father there for a weekend, on what was to become her last holiday ever, as she was so ill, and mum was treated like a queen that weekend by the staff who so obviously realised she was ill. I have recommended this hotel many times to people, and was sad when it seemed to have changed, but am so glad we tried again, as it was as it always had been, nice people, having a relaxing time, well behaved children, staff as attentive as ever (this has never been any different though in any stays). We have been in four poster rooms before, and have also been in a standard room, and they were all to a good standard.

This time we chose a four poster jacuzzi room, for 3 nights, not on a deal, as did not even realise that we could have booked through Groupon etc and saved money, but even though we paid top whack, we feel we got value for money. This time we were allocated Bluebell room, and were really surprised to find we had our own small patio and garden, very private, and very handy if you are a smoker as no need to go outside the hotel, as can use own patio.

The food was, as always, excellent, have noticed though that the supplement for cheese at end of meal has almost doubled, so did not bother this time. It would be nice for a very small cheese and crackers to be included in the cost, especially as people had paid less than half what we had paid! I would also like to suggest that gravy is offered with the roast meals, not just the excellent sauces. My husband was so taken with the mushroom soup he had it twice, and I requested the recipe from the chef, which I was given within 10 minutes of asking. The lady on reception and the bar man actually remembered us from previous stays which showed attention to detail.

I would like to see a little more choice at lunch time in the bar menu, perhaps some jacket potatoes or some smaller snacks, but otherwise it was perfect.

The only gripe I had was the jacuzzi was really cold in the leisure suite, dont know why, never had this before? Maybe they had changed the water and it had not reached temperature, but no worries, we simply moved to our own room and had a jacuzzi there.

We will return to Damson Dene, as it is a little gem, but would like to try some of the other hotels in the chain, perhaps the Riverside at Kendal at some time, and if they are anything like this hotel, then we will be well pleased.

Thankyou to all the staff and we will be seeing you again.

Jean Taun

Room Tip: Depending on your buget, I would always go for an upgraded room and would recommend Bluebell for smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
How happy we all are that you have returned! We are even more pleased that you had a pleasant stay once again. We do take the reviews very seriously and always try to improve based, in part, on such reviews.

As we are a special place for you, it would have been a shame had you not returned, and had we not returned to the level of service you came to expect. I am pleased this is not the case! Everyone appreciates your thorough review, particularly your glowing report of the food, staff and accommodation! We definitely look forward to seeing you again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    784
    230
    84
    66
See reviews for
304
1,333
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at the Damson Dene absolutley stunning location, we are a family of four our children aged 16 and 12. stayed in cottage 3 which was ideal for a family as we had the luxury of the hotel yet our own front door and plenty of room. You know youve got it right when your children say on the way home thanks mum and dad for the best holiday ever, This was an extra special break for us as a family as our 16 year old son is just in the process of hopefully joining the Royal Marines and flying the nest so to speak, Our special thanks to Wayne and all the staff for making our stay perfect, nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble 100%+ customer service 100%+ value 100%+ gym and swimming facilities. the food was absolutley perfect and plentiful. Will most definatley be returning in the future maybe with our extended family as on our return have not stopped rating the Damson dene and would love all our family to experience this Gem of a place. Thank you once again Wayne and your fabulous A team.
The Godridges Halifax

Room Tip: familys definatley a cottage as you have plenty room plus your own front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Wow! What a great review! We all couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay in our cottages. You have some pretty wonderful kids, especially to say that on the drive home! We wish your son well on his new journey with the Royal Marines and hope to see all of the family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We went with our pooch and had a lovely time at the Damsen Dene - nice spacious family room with nice selection of teas coffee etc - We didn't eat in the evenings at the hotel and from what other guests were saying we definitely will next time - got to say the breakfast was lovely and you can eat in the bar with your dog which is nice-Wayne the Manager is a star and a credit to the Hotel and his staff are also a credit and make the experience enjoyable. We used the hotel as a walking base and were grateful of its nice location - will we go back - absolutely and and next time will try the 3 Course dinner - By the way Wayne were the ones with the cotton wool dog!! Well done Damsen a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thanks for staying with us with your lovely dog! Also, thank you for your excellent review, we all really appreciate it. The hotel is in a great location for all of the walks the Lakes is renowned for. We look forward to seeing you again and will save you a table for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have just spent two nights at Damson Dene, & it was good value for money. We stayed in room 21 which was small, but clean, with good coffee making facilities etc. Wayne, & all the staff, were very friendly & helpful, & the food was good. It was great to use the sauna & pool after a long walk, & they too were clean. The reception area with the log fire & sofas was very welcoming. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are happy our hard work is paying off and you were able to have a relaxing break! The leisure facilities are fantastic after a cool Autumn walk, so is the log fire! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgely West midlands UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Damson Dean over the week end and have to say it was good value for money. We stayed in Romm 16 which although small was clean and well laid out. When I read some of the feed back I really wonder what people expect this was £99 a night minimum stay 2 nights with a 3 course evening meal. Now taking into account the leasure facilities pool, sauna,steam room and gym you really do have to have abad stay to moan. I would have no problem staying there again. The staff were freindly and its nicly placed to visit the lakes with Bowness just 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregson944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thanks for posting your lovely review! We feel we offer excellent value for money and I am happy you agree! The hotel is well equipped, as you mentioned, in a great location, with friendly staff and excellent food; what more could you want! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked one of the Internet deals for a two night stay and listening to other guests it would appear that a lot of other guests had booked the same deal so I think the hotel would have been quite quiet without this option.
Before I start with the good points about the hotel I will get the bad things out of the way first........ Nope, can't thing of any bad ones so straight to the good .
My first visit to the Lakes so the location is perfect being only 5 miles from Bowness on Windemere , we spent one of our days doing the touristy thing and Bowness is quaint and has a lot of little family owned coffee shops with the lovely personal touch which is far better than the usual tax dodging American chains that we normally use !!
The hotel itself is in a nice location including a little duck pond and I am sure idyllic for those with marriage in mind.
Our room was satisfactory , maybe a little need of refurbishment but not enough to warrant a moan, or to detract from the fact that it is an old period hotel.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful, and we noticed the manager worked like a Trojan yet remained chatty and interactive with the guests which is always good to see .
The best thing about the Damson Dene for us is undoubtedly the food, we had the 3 course dinner on the first night and it is not often that all 3 courses come under the term excellent yet we were highly impressed and our appetite was well and truly whetted !
The breakfast was the standard buffet but again no complaints and plenty of choice .
Overall we had a great time although 2 days was probably enough for us but would have no qualms about re visiting especially in the summer next time.
Oh and I have now managed a bad point but more of a tip.... Don't park under the massive oak in the car park when it's windy in October, took me 20 minutes to de leaf it, but if that's the only bad point, they are getting the important things right.
Oh and dogs are allowed and even they looked happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bin_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Wow! What a brilliant review! Thanks so much for that. If I had a pence for every good comment about our food...well you know the rest! There isn't much I can add, except we are all so happy you enjoyed your stay. If you visit us again in the summer, the oak tree will be filled with wonderful leaves, so you need not worry about parking under it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We used the Travelzoo offer and thoroughly enjoyed our break at the Damson Dene Hotel. The staff were friendly, and the food was very good. We really enjoyed relaxing in front of the log fire with the daily papers and a coffee. We would go again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
There is nothing better than relaxing in front of the fire, thank you for painting that picture nicely! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay, in particular the food and friendly staff! I do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing