We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break away”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short break away”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were really looking forward to our break away which was to celebrate my husband's birthday. On arrival the lounge area/fire was more welcoming than the lady that checked us in (it seemed an effort and she appeared pre occupied), but all the other staff seemed friendly and pleasant. We were extremeley disappointed with our room, tiny, dated and in need of freshening up, but it was clean. Far too dark, no central lights, just two dim lights on a headboard and another small dim light by a dressing table. It was too dark to successfully apply make up of an evening. The light wasn't good in the bathroom either and the overhead mirror light did not work. A piece of furniture had obviously been moved because the carpet had two large holes in it where the item had previously been. Not a good impression. The bed was comfortable. The radiator in the room and towel rail in the bathroom were far too hot (dangerously so in the bathroom) and despite having thermostats on them they did not decrease in temperature when we turned them down to minimum so we left our window wide open during our stay.

The restaurant was OK (no table cloths for evening dining), a nice menu and my food was lovely (pork belly). My husband had the pheasant, he cut into the first piece which was raw! We called the waitress over and discreetly pointed out the meat was not cooked and was told the chef likes to serve the meat pink. We both enjoy our meat pink but had to insist it was sent back to cook because there is a big difference between pink and raw. It came back heavily seasoned but seemed fine. However during the night my husband was violently sick over a couple of hours, thankfully he was fine in the morning. The following day we ate at The Hare & Hounds down the road and had a wonderful meal. We enjoyed breakfast, a very good choice available.

Like many others we were on a Groupon deal so for the price we paid our stay was just about satisfactory, but certainly not worth paying full price for. The spa was OK, but like the room, needs freshening up. Nobody pointed out when we booked that there would be no beauty treatments available on a Friday! At the time of checking in we were not informed of the procedure for security code or towels for spa area (which you get at reception - we had to ask all these questions after we had unpacked).

If you want a basic clean room with no frills then this hotel is fine (if not paying full price), but if you like a bit of luxury and attention to detail I would recommend you try somewhere else. The location was good, easy to get to so many beautiful places.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We found it both thorough and useful for us going forward. We love TripAdvisor because it sometimes gives us feedback that we would not otherwise have, so thank you for that. We do hope that if you are ever in the Lakes again you would pop in for a drink to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    787
    232
    85
    66
See reviews for
309
1,338
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just had a weekend stay at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were friendly and efficient, food in the restaurant was truly excellent, the wine list was reasonable, our room had a jacuzzi bath in it which was a nice touch, the hotel is clearly very busy and popular. But..... Our room was very small, and definitely not big enough for the four poster bed that filled it. Both bed side lamps were full of cobwebs, there was mould on one wall, and the aforementioned jacuzzi didn't have a shower curtain round it which made the mornings slightly more difficult than they needed to be.
We stayed on a groupon deal as, we suspect, were most of the other guests there. It clearly works in terms of filling beds, but that doesn't mean that the hotel should skip the basics.
We wish Damson Dene well because, as we say, we enjoyed our stay there. But would we go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: Some light pollution from outside lighting at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwoj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, particularly your dining experience and interactions with staff. It is a shame that you won't consider returning, but we thank you for the comments and, as always, they will help us going forward. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

the food was excellent, great hotel to relax and feel refreshed!
the jacuzzi bath and four poster bedrooms are well worth the money. would highly reccomend.
Only downfall it was a drive/taxi journey (£12 in taxi) to Bowness.

Room Tip: Four Poster Bed and Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thanks for the review and recent stay! We are all so happy you left us relaxed and refreshed and that you found us to be good value for money. I'm sure we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We travelled up on Feb 13th when the weather was very white which meant we set off very early to arrive safely at the hotel. The reception were helpful when we arrive and we managed to check in a little earlier after a relaxing rest in the bar area.

The hotel is lovely downstairs and the rooms were "cosy". Only thing we found was it was a little dated but still this doesnt impact on your stay and we had an excellent time over our 2 day/night stay.

The bedroom we had had a 4 poster bed which was very comfortable, tv with Freeview and a Jacuzzi bath which was brilliant to help you chill out and relax.

The staff were superb and a great asset to the hotel and Wayne was brilliant also bringing us a complimentary glass of Champagne with our meal on the 2nd night due to us being on a honeymoon break. The food in the restaurant was superb and we really enjoyed the choice from the menu.

The facilities down in the gym and swimming were brilliant and we utilised these on both days mainly due to the poor weather on the first day of arrival. The gardens are beautiful and looked lovely in both the snow and the lovely sunshine that shone through on the 2nd day.

The hotel is only a short drive from Bowness on Windermere which a lovely little place with plenty of shops to look around and places to eat/drink.

All in all we will certainly be looking to travel back to the Damson Dene Hotel in the near future for another short relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thanks so much for coming up to see us and for this nice review. It does sound like you had a relaxing time and even got to see the Lakes with a wonderful coating of snow! I appreciate your comments about our facilities, staff and food and will certainly look forward to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Thank you to Wayne, his staff and his gorgeous dog Fly for such a lovely weekend. Such a welcoming homely atmosphere - which is just want you want after a long day out walking.

The hotel was very clean and standards seemed extremely high. There is something for everyone, a lovely restaurant with delicious food. We had the mussels and belly pork to start, venison for mains the portion size was very generous which is perfect after a tiring day. The waiting staff were excellent, very friendly and attentive. There is a also a bar area in which there was a pub quiz on the Saturday night which was good fun. We took along our dog and he was allowed in this area. There is also a very cosy area in the reception which had a lovely open fire and comfy sofas very snug! Our dog enjoyed sitting here and enjoying his bone.

The local area was great - lots of places to walk the dog and if you get stuck the staff were full of suggestions of beautiful walks. Lots of surrounding fields to walk the dog and the hotel's garden itself was great. Very close to the lakes themselves and a short drive from many places.

Fantastic Value, Friendly, Relaxing and Beautiful views! - Two happy humans and a very happy dog! Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaelizaH_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
We love that final sentence; two happy humans a very happy dog! Thanks so much for coming up to see us and this great, 5-star review. Everyone was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and definitely hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay and would recommend it to anyone. The staff were very friendly especially Wayne, the food was excellent, you have got to try the beef it just melts in your mouth. Set in lovely surroundings which will be especially beautiful in the summer and only a short distance to Windermere which has plenty of shops and restaurants. Loads to do!
Definately go back soon..........

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
What a nice review, thanks so much. Everyone is so grateful for your recent stay and good review. We particular like when people make food recommendations as they really do help other guests when it comes time to order dinner! We are in a lovely location and I hope the next time you want to escape to the Lakes we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just spent a 2 night stay at the damson via groupon over valentine period. The allocated room on arrival was the woodland suite and this was lovely. Weather on arrival was a white out so struggled as all residents to get to hotel in the car. Well worth the effort as evening meal on chosen night was lovely. Due to the conditions outside not allowing a run to be done this allowed for the facilities in the gym to be sampled and these were a good selection. Afterwards a nice swim and relax in the spa pool was appreciated as was the steam room and sauna.
Myself and my girlfriend Ang walked to Bowness (approx 4.5 mile) on the second day as weather had lifted. Taxi return just over £12 so not too expensive. All in all the Hotel is very good and the staff very helpful. would definatley return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thanks so much for your stay and this nice review. It was a good weekend, probably down to the snow making the area even more beautiful. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location, staff and food to be of excellent quality. I do hope you will visit us again in the future, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing