We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for us!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Damson Dene for 2 nights and unfortunately found it disappointing. We had booked a deal through hotel connections and although we received what we thought was a good deal including room with dinner, bed and breakfast it wasn't quite what it seemed. When we first arrived we were greeted by the receptionist who was nice and helpful enough, we booked our evening meal then we were pointed in the direction of our room. The route to our room was littered with lots of old and random furniture which wasn't a problem, but along with that there seemed to be hoovers left in random places (cleaners should have been long gone as it was 2.30pm) and fire doors which would not close which was a slight concern however we didn't let this phase us and arrived at our room. We felt a bit let down by the booking agents to be honest, it had been marketed very differently to what we were now facing. It wasn't terrible and seemed clean enough but it certainly wasn't what we expected or are used to, the decor was very tired and needed updating, the chest of drawers had two out of the three handles loose and falling off. The bathroom was clean and there were clean towels, the shower mat seemed stained so we didn't use it. Much to our chagrin when we tried to watch the tv it only worked half of the time and kept breaking up, that wouldn't have been so bad had it not been for the fact we had no wifi or option for wifi in our room. We tried to put this aside and went for our massages and facials at the spa, these was fine and the pool and gym area seemed ok apart from the female changing room having a slight aroma. After this we went to get changed for dinner, when we arrived the staff were welcoming but we were not overly impressed by the menu despite previous reviews on trip advisor to the contrary. If you were a vegetarian the selection was limited. I had the duck which was ok, followed with the turkey which lacked flavour along with fondant potatoes again no flavour, my partner had steak (which incurred a £7.00 supplement) which again he said was flavourless and came with school dinner chips. Pudding selection wasn't great and when you asked for any slight deviation from the menu everything had to be run by the chef to check if that was ok! Breakfast again was ok, not a huge selection of hot food, cereal and toast were on offer and various fruit juices again this was quite good. Although that morning my partner asked for a coke as he doesn't drink tea or coffee and isn't a fan of orange or apple juice,
this proved to be some what of an issue to our waiter who sighed, advised us the bar was closed and it would take a while to organise this!! We found this bizzare and Infact really just annoying as we were paying guests that were not exactly asking for the moon. Anyhoo dinner the second night was much of the same, despite claims the menu changes daily it does not, the only slight change seemed to be the flavour of soup. The bar lacked any kind of atmosphere and didn't appeal. The final straw was no water on the last morning, so no showers, no toilet and no courtesy of anyone even letting us know this had happened we had to find out over breakfast from other guests. Whilst this may have been unavoidable it wasn't was pleasant driving 190 miles home without a shower or the courtesy of an apology regardless of how much "it happens in this part of the country" unacceptable!! Overall we were very disappointed, especially when upon leaving the hotel we expressed some of our concerns to the person on reception only to be rebuffed and told that other people enjoyed it. Well this was not our experience and not everyone likes the same things or find the same things acceptable. We won't be back and will be in certainly be in touch with the booking agents.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. I am sorry we weren't the hotel for you but appreciate your feedback nonetheless. Just as an fyi, the cleaners at the hotel work until 5pm, not 2:30. Also, I am very surprised by your comments about our food. We have never really been told the food is flavourless, so that was a bit of a surprise to say the least. There was an issue during your stay of the power company doing unplanned works in the area that caused some obvious consternation. For this we apologise and wish we had been able to let everyone know well in advance. You are quite right, we were not the hotel for you. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    794
    234
    87
    66
See reviews for
312
1,349
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed on a living social break, 149 pounds for 2 people for 2 night stay including breakfast and 4 course evening meal on the first night. The hotel was nice ,our room was very small but clean , we had no view at all but still thought the deal value for money. The pool was small but nice with sauna steam room and jacuzzi . The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service . The hotel offers a Sunday night stay with 3 course meal for £50 pp which is good value. I would recommend this hotel if you get it on a deal basis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for your nice comments about your dining experience! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked this hotel as a treat for my husband’s birthday 30th Oct to 2nd Nov, we (me, husband and 9 year old daughter) had a great time, accommodation was comfortable, clean and warm, and food was tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful, Manager was friendly, approachable and never far away. Hotel has calm and cosy atmosphere, location was excellent. Loved the whole country side experience, Ducks at the breakfast window waiting for leftover bread, too cute. Great location with so much to do, we packed in as much as possible, recommend Beatrix Potter museum, Dalton Zoo, Lake Boat ride and connecting steam train. Husband enjoyed the Motor Museum. Would recommend this hotel, only negative side - bathrooms could do with an update, old and well used. Planning another visitor soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for this brilliant, 5-star review! The fact that your planning on returning soon means the world to us! We're further pleased that you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We bought the Living Social voucher for a short break. We had to pay the usual extras: weekend supplement, upgrade for a non-standard room etc.
Generally we enjoyed it. Our first impression, however, was not very positive as the receptionist laughed when we showed her the e-mail confirmation THEY had sent. It mentioned a cruise deal and she simply laughed when we enquired about it and said we'd been sent the wrong e-mail. Notice - no apology or explanation for THEIR mistake! Not a good start!
Poor customer service was not what we encountered from other staff members, thankfully! The restaurant staff were polite, efficient and attentive. Our voucher entitled us to the evening meal on the first night. Despite enjoying our meal and the service, we chose not to dine at the hotel for the second evening.
The breakfast choice is typical but lacks some of the fresh food I'd expect of most hotels offering a buffet style breakfast. All the fruit was in syrup which was a shame as it wouldn't take much to improve the breakfast by offering some fresh fruit choices. The staff, however, were impressive. My request for poached eggs 'not too soft' rather than the offered cooked breakfast was handled efficiently and the eggs were indeed cooked perfectly as requested.
The room was dated but not unpleasant. It wasn't perfect but it doesn't claim to be a 4* hotel. We were impressed with the range of drinks and biscuits on the tray! We appreciated the variety and ... the biscuits!
So our stay was not a disappointment and it was sort of better than we'd expected after reading the very mixed reviews. I hope the hard working restaurant staff and their politeness and efficiency speaks to the reception staff and reminds them what customer service looks like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further along the corridor. The rooms just at the top of the stairs are noisy as eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMcDonald17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your review. It is nice you had an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your comments on what we could improve on; always helpful to receive unfiltered guest feedback that is always present at the hotel itself. I can assure you, the staff at reception meant no harm when you checked in with our wrongly sent email. We do try to keep things light-hearted around here, and I am pleased you still had an enjoyable stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights (30th Oct til 1st Nov) and loved every minute of it. The staff are very friendly and took time to chat with my three young children. The kids loved the pool and walking around the hotel exploring. We dined in the restaurant and thought the food was fabulous. The breakfasts were great too, lots to choose from and all nice and fresh. A big thank you to all the staff especially the manager who had time to chat with his guests. We will definitely be back in the near future.
Many thanks from Paul, Alison, Macy, Libbie and Hollie. Room 31

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely, 5-star review! We were delighted to host your family and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay; especially your kids! Thank you for mentioning our staff and your dining experience too. We will certainly look forward to warmly welcoming you back. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Very warming and lovely food! Little dated but we had a lovely view from our bedroom, nice Facilities and clean.
Only let down was the window didn't shut properly, lucky it was not that cold and bar had no atmosphere not even music.
I would return but hopefully it get a little face lift before I return

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honey7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for posting your nice review and mentioning our delicious food and amenities. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed there for two nights with my Mum last week and had a really lovely time. There was a lovely homely and relaxed atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel both nights as it was so good the first night.

We also had massages and facials in the spa which were excellent.

All in all a wonderful stay - we just wished it was longer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wonderful review thank you. Short breaks are never enough are they! Thank you for mentioning our hard-working staff in your review as well, they definitely appreciate it! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing