We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for a great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for a great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

After initially having problems locating the hotel (The post code takes you to a farm about 3 miles away).

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at the hotel along with our constant companion Holly our Springer Spaniel after purchasing an offer from Groupon.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and made our arrival an enjoyable experience.

The restaurant was warm and inviting. and the selection of meals available was first class. Our congratulations to the chef and the serving staff for the excellent meals and service we received.

There was a good variety of food to select from at breakfast, but this did not deter the chef from making my wife boiled eggs when she asked for them.


We were fortunate to have excellent weather on the Sunday which made this short break even more enjoyable.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, hassle free weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1952-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Wonderful review thank you. Thank you also for mentioning our lovely staff too! We have tried, in vain thus far, to get the post code issue sorted with the powers that be. We will keep working at it though! Thanks again and thanks for recommending us to others. See you again we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    779
    228
    83
    66
See reviews for
301
1,327
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Apart from the temperamental tv signal (which I guess, given the area, is unavoidable) the place was faultless. My partner and I had a wonderful time. It's close enough to a couple of the villages and the lake so you don't have to travel far if you want to get out and explore. The evening meal was incredible (complements to the chef!) and the staff never seemed to be unhappy. Could never catch them without a smile. Great place to stay and would definitely return soon! Excellent job guys!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeDavis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Lovely review thank you; nice photo too of our greedy ducks. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Reviews like these keep the smiles on our faces; we will definitely look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for the third time with my partner Julie and guide dog Terry. As ever, a warm welcome from friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in room 1 which has a fab bed and a lovely bathroom. Made to feel very welcome in the dining room with our reserved table, tucked out the way, ideal for guide dog and messy eaters! Food was excellent especially the sticky toffee trio enjoyed by Julie not to mention the wild mushroom pate which was to die for and the scrumptious polenta and goats cheese recommended by one of the staff. If you're looking for a relaxing break away, can't recommend this place enough. Only problem, where were you Wayne? 3 times we've been and not met u yet!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Wonderful 5-star review! We were delighted to host you on your break again. Thanks for your kind comments about our food and staff too. You must only ever visit when I am on holiday. The next time you ring to book, make sure to ask when I'm on holiday! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed December 2012 for 3 nights. We had a comfortable and spacious room. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The bar atmosphere was very pleasant and the food was very good. The breakfasts were excellent . It is not high luxury but it was a pleasant stay in beautiful countryside representing very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Although December 2012 is but a distant memory, we do appreciate your 5-star review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us; perhaps you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our third stay at Damson Dene, which did not disappoint and gave us a lovely cosy base from which to explore the area. As always, the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the evening meal was delicious: well presented and high quality ingredients. This was also the case with the cooked breakfast. Looking out onto the garden with its duck pond and the hills beyond while we tucked into our plates of eggs and bacon was really pleasant and a great start to the day.
We particularly like the spacious lobby/lounge area with its squishy sofas and open fire. No intrusive TV screen, just the crackle of the fire and plenty of neswpapers - a very relaxing and peaceful place to relax.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and looked out onto the garden - lovely views from both windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinerWeisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
You paint a nice picture of what a stay at the Damson Dene Hotel can be! Cosy fire, relaxation, delicious food and more. Thank you for your 5-star rating and we do hope you will continue to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Food amazing Especially the trio of sticky toffee pudding Staff amazing always smiling and looking after us .we got it of groupon . But we would happily pay full price next time we come. Well done guys

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Fantastic review thank you. The 5-star rating makes us very happy too. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked the Damson Dene with a groupon voucher. Excellent deal with evening meal. The meal was 3 course and one of the best we have had. Staff where courteous. Even the bar meal we had on the second night was very good. The only minor criticism I have is the pool area looks a little tired and could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for this nice review. Thanks also for mentioning our staff and food too. Thank you for your advice on the pool too; we are always thankful for the advice of our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing