We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sister,s wedding”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had an outstanding experience and stay for my sister's wedding , the staff were attentive , and the manager wayne helped the day to be perfect. on arrival we felt very welcome , the room was very comfortable and clean for me and my family ,the food was brilliant , with local fresh produce. it's the second time we have stayed and look forward to stay again next year for a break,a big thanks to wayne and the staff at the dene for making a perfect day , and our young daughter enjoyed the last dance with wayne,we you soon ,hannah, Grace ,Gareth

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazhan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We are delighted to read your review on your sister's wedding and are so pleased you had such a lovely time. We love hosting weddings, especially with brilliant people like yourselves! Looking forward to your return next year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

well we have just spent 5 days here at the damson dene celebrating our wedding with nearly a 100 of our friends and family, it was amazing, the hotel looked stunning and so Christmassy and cosy, the service from the staff was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, so friendly and helpful from the reception staff ,bar staff and domestic staff.
everything was so organised and the whole day ran smoothly, no hitches or problems at all.
the rooms looked amazing, the staff worked so hard to give us the perfect day, once again the chef and kitchen staff were so good, the food was gorgeous , the carvey was a massive hit!
I love this hotel and everything about, wayne, you are a superstar, you always go that extra mile for everyone , I cant praise you enough, and the same goes for the staff, Yvonne, jean ,amos ,paul, hanna ,kate to name but a few, all so happy and helpful!
I cannot wait to return to this lovely place and will be doing soon, would recommend anyone planning a wedding to certainly consider the damson dene,
once again,many thanks for all your hard work, best wishes sara and scott xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saranscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to host your wedding. It was certainly a day to remember and we are delighted to read such lovely comments from the newlyweds! From all the staff, thank you for letting us play our small part in your day and we are definitely looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we have just returned after an amazing 4 days at the damson dene to celebrate the wedding of our daughter sara to scott woods,it was just perfect,the manager Wayne is a true gentlemen ,along with his caring staff nothing was to much trouble ,the location was perfect,the food was excellent,also plenty of it,the hotel looking amazing,christmas trees and decorations everywhere,truly wonderful,thankyou so much Wayne for making their special day just perfect,even the visit from santa for all the children was wonderful.We can,t thankyou you enough for all your help,we will definatley return very soon ,so can we wish you a very happy christmas,and a very happy new year,thankyou once again,best wishes from Heather and Dave,Sara,s mum and dad xx

Room Tip: ask at reception,they are very helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Wonderful 5-star review thank you. It was our pleasure hosting this beautiful wedding and we really appreciate your kind review. Thank again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My family and i have just attended a wedding at this hotel. On arrival the foyer was homely and welcoming and the wedding itself was beautiful. The food was very nice although drink were a bit pricey. The wedding itself and how we feel they supported the bride were excellent.
However, the room itself was disappointing. We was in room too and had an extra bed and a travel cot in order to make it a family room. On arrival my husband sat on the extra bed (with intentions to take his shoes off) but when he sat on the bed the whole thing collapsed so he spent the next 10 minutes fitting it all back together so it was safe enough for our son to sleep in. The room itself was not very well cleaned. There was a dead wasp on the floor near the skirting and when we went into the bathroom the bath had hair in it (what appeared to be someone previous shaving their legs) this indicated that the bath had not been cleaned and therefore i needed ti clean this before i could bath my own two children that night.
There were slight imperfections that went on to further disappoint such as a crack in the bath and the tap cap missing. Also throughout the night we lost the use of our bathroom light and the light above the mirror never worked from the beginning.
On arrival seeing a four poster bed i was looking forward to a great nights sleep however the bed itself was uncomfortable and the whole bed creaked with every turn in bed.
The highlight of the stay after (of course) the wed of our family, was the duck pond and the children being able to feed the ducks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJWaldron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was a lovely day and we were very happy to play our small part in the wedding. I do apologise for the issues with the room you were in. We will definitely have those issued looked at asap as it is such an excellent room usually - large, comfortable - in short perfect for families. Thank you for bringing these things to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent two lovely days at the damson dene. We were celebrating my nieces wedding, which was held at the hotel, and everything was wonderful. The hotel itself has a warm and friendly atmosphere and manager, Wayne, and his staff could not be more attentive. The food was excellent and the restaurant was a lovely room with great scenic views. The rooms are very comfortable and warm. We must give a special mention to Fly, Wayne's gorgeous dog. Highly recommended and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host your family for the big wedding and we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your special mention of our staff, food and of course, Fly! We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We purchased a Groupon voucher for this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights
The staff were very welcoming and the Manager was so friendly. The restaurant was good and the food was also good. The hotel was very clean and had lovely big settee's and a log fire in the reception. In the evening we had a quiz and everyone joined really good fun. I would recommend this hotel. Ken and Jenny

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenjen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your delightful review and for staying with us. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our great offer and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A very pleasant Groupon stay for 2 x nights; we had to cancel original booking due to family illness and re-arrange for 29th and 30th November, The staff who changed the booking for us could not have been more helpful. This is a nice cosy hotel tucked away with a nice pub for non-residents as well, a nice Restaurant and very pleasant staff. It was tastefully decorated with Christmas trees and Christmas decorations too. We agree with lots of comments on here about the place looking tired in places but don’t let this put you off since it is spotlessly clean. We would not usually choose to stay at a dog-friendly Hotel and we did find dogs were always in the bar whenever we went in; thankfully this was not a problem for us on this occasion. One negative thing we did notice was that you can clearly hear what is going on in rooms above and next to you. We knew when TV’s were on and off, when they were chatting and walking around etc. We dined in the Restaurant both nights and we found the food very nice indeed. The staff are all very pleasant and efficient. Tablecloths would be a nice touch we feel, rather than just table mats. There was a good choice at Breakfast too and once again staff very obliging, We would consider this Hotel again if on a deal for a short break but to be honest would prefer a no pets welcome establishment as first choice usually.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your nice review and for your kind comments about all of our staff. We are further pleased you found us to be good value for money. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing