We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Weekend Away”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another Great Weekend Away”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Just got back from our Christmas Party night stay at the Damson Dene. It is our second visit to the hotel and this time our room had a lovely four poster bed and jaccuzi style bath which was a great surprise when we walked in. The hotel has a friendly and cosy feel to it and the sitting area by reception is great with it's open fire, in fact the whole place was nice and warm which was just as well as the weather outside was awful. I made use of the good facilities on offer and enjoyed a nice 5 mile run in the gym before partying the night away - which i have to say is well worht the money. The food was excellent (again) and we both really enjoyed ourselves. The staff are friendly and polite and we will be visiting again as soon as we can. Thanks for a great wekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We love reading reviews from repeat guests. We especially enjoy reading them when we receive an increase from 4 to 5 stars, so thank you for that. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay; we hope to have nicer weather for you next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    787
    232
    85
    66
See reviews for
309
1,338
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Ashby
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a fantastic 3 night stay in an upgraded room. Lots of space and great comfort. Food well above expectations, evening meal up market not for those who want Kentucky Fried Chicken. For those with small appetites do not order the full breakfast, I could hardly move after the first one.Those who complain must not be used to excellent cuisine and those who complain about space, should upgrade their room. Staff attentive to your needs whilst not being intrusive. Christmas decorations a delight to behold. Manager was friendly chirpy and great company. Will go again.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room with a four poster and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endless-Gossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Lovely review thank you. Thanks for the 5-star rating too, truly appreciated. The chef certainly enjoyed reading your review as well. Thanks again and we definitely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a wonderful tranquil place to spend time at so close to Christmas. The staff were so helpful, polite and not intrusive. The best customer service we have ever experienced at a hotel :-) the rooms were lovely, however the be was a little uncomfortable. The food was fantastic! Best steak I've ever eaten. Fantastic value for money, would definitely recommend and return :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for spending your Christmas with us and posting this 5 star review. We really appreciate all of your comments about our staff and food. Thank you as well for posting the photo; no snow at Christmas this year but we'll take nice green grass as an alternative! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We've been going to this hotel for 10 yrs on and off,it has always delivered value for money and the staff are friendly and helpfull. The food although not spectacular is non the less very very good and always hot and served well. I'm not sure the TV documentary gave the best impression and feel some of the "stunts" filmed were set up by the production crew and made some of the staff look incompetent which is far from the truth but it makes "good TV viewing figures". We have just come back from a break there and thoroughly enjoyed meeting up again with the original staff that remembered us. It was a good feeling. The Xmas decorations are always well thought out and look fantastic and with a big roaring log fireside and comfy leather armchairs and settees what more do you want.

Room Tip: If you have a well behaved dog then the choice of rooms is a little limited but the two suits "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atkins419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks for visiting again and posting this lovely review. Yes the programme was an experience for us, and there definitely was some imaginative editing on behalf of the production company. But it was a fun experience. Thanks again and I'm sure we'll be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Booked in to stay here one night in October and was so poor that we made an excuse and left even after paying the room cost! Found a lovely hotel in Keswick to stay at a reduced price. The room was small, and tired and bugs / flies were all around the window. The shower was minute. Was prepared to take a loss on this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareAdeRochUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We don't believe this person ever stayed with us. There certainly no flies around on account of our cleaning regiment and that their are no flies in the Lakes in October. If this were true, it is a shame the reviewer opted to make an excuse rather than bring their issues to our attention where would could have rectified them. Either way, we have asked TripAdvisor to remove this review as fraudulent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had an outstanding experience and stay for my sister's wedding , the staff were attentive , and the manager wayne helped the day to be perfect. on arrival we felt very welcome , the room was very comfortable and clean for me and my family ,the food was brilliant , with local fresh produce. it's the second time we have stayed and look forward to stay again next year for a break,a big thanks to wayne and the staff at the dene for making a perfect day , and our young daughter enjoyed the last dance with wayne,we you soon ,hannah, Grace ,Gareth

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazhan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are delighted to read your review on your sister's wedding and are so pleased you had such a lovely time. We love hosting weddings, especially with brilliant people like yourselves! Looking forward to your return next year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

well we have just spent 5 days here at the damson dene celebrating our wedding with nearly a 100 of our friends and family, it was amazing, the hotel looked stunning and so Christmassy and cosy, the service from the staff was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, so friendly and helpful from the reception staff ,bar staff and domestic staff.
everything was so organised and the whole day ran smoothly, no hitches or problems at all.
the rooms looked amazing, the staff worked so hard to give us the perfect day, once again the chef and kitchen staff were so good, the food was gorgeous , the carvey was a massive hit!
I love this hotel and everything about, wayne, you are a superstar, you always go that extra mile for everyone , I cant praise you enough, and the same goes for the staff, Yvonne, jean ,amos ,paul, hanna ,kate to name but a few, all so happy and helpful!
I cannot wait to return to this lovely place and will be doing soon, would recommend anyone planning a wedding to certainly consider the damson dene,
once again,many thanks for all your hard work, best wishes sara and scott xx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for allowing us to host your wedding. It was certainly a day to remember and we are delighted to read such lovely comments from the newlyweds! From all the staff, thank you for letting us play our small part in your day and we are definitely looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing