We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit of many!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We visited 7-9 March as two couples, with friends. The hotel was a little hard to find (thank you SatNav) but on arrival we were made welcome and assured we had not missed dinner. Our room was a little small and whilst the decor could be described as dated, the main thing I look for in a hotel
is cleanliness, and this was perfectly clean. Food throughout our stay was excellent, and all staff were extremely helpful at all times. We even managed to win the bar quiz - bonus! We're already planning our next visit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MissB3pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Lovely review thank you. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you are already planning your next stay. Congrats on winning the quiz and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the Damson Dene for a two night stay and what more can I say. The surroundings are beautiful, food was fabulous, rooms were clean and tidy and the leisure facilities were excellent. We found this place as relaxing and a definite place to visit again. The staff were all polite and professional, led by a great General Manager in Wayne. Wayne was funny and always had a smile on his face. I would definitely recommend this place to visit especially if you require that quiet break. We most certainly will be returning to this hotel this year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowling74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks so much for your amazing review and the 5-bubble rating. Everyone appreciates your kind comments about how hard we work and we are pleased that you will be returning to us soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our third visit here,and absolutely love it.the only thing that let's it down is the owner,I know times are hard but this is a great hotel with friendly staff and excellent food,but as much as Wayne the manager makes you feel welcome(and fly) it must be sooo frustrating when the hotel is in decline but food and staff are so excellent that we come back again and again,unfortunately as much as we love the damson dene it's probably our last stay if rooms are not improved,but as for staff(Wayne's sat night quiz) and all the other workers it is worth a visit.x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leemoz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello and thank you for staying with us again. You are quite right about our staff, but think you may be a bit too hard on the accommodation. Perhaps not as quickly as you may like, we are always improving the hotel and are working on medium term plans as well. Far from being in decline, we think the hotel is slowly improving all of the time, not least because of the quality of staff and the dining experience on offer. Thanks again and we hope this wasn't your last stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved our 2 night stay here (£139 Wowcher deal which included a 3-course dinner on the 1st evening, buffet style breakfast both mornings, spa/hot tub/sauna/steam room/warm swimming pool/gym access).

The views from the restaurant are wonderful in the morning (including little ducks on the ledge next to the window). The food was faultless from the breakfast to the dinner, great service by the very lovely Katie and hilariously funny manager Wayne. Wayne also does a quiz in the bar about 9.30pm on some evenings if this is your thing. All the staff we came across were just so lovely.

The hotel facilities are fantastic. Our room had its own private patio complete with table and chairs with stunning views over the countryside. It also had a large jacuzzi bath to enjoy. The bed was incredibly comfy. The lounge area in the hotel has the most comfortable settees I have ever lounged on and a roastie toastie log burning open fire to sit by.

The only down side was the wifi access, we found it a bit hit and miss and could not get a signal in our room at all.

It is about a 7 minute drive into Bowness and if you enjoy Italian food I can highly recommend Villa Positano.

A very enjoyable experience at a bargain price.

Room Tip: The Bluebell Suite is very peaceful and has a double and single bed. It has a large jacuzzi bath. Ou...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

What an enjoyable review to read. Thank you so much for posting it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for mentioning the issue with Wifi. It is a relatively new system, so we are working the bugs out and we'll get on this asap. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We visited the hotel having go ta voucher deal online which included 2 nights with breakfast, a four course meal, spa access and a cruise on lake Windemere.
The hotel was nice, a little dated but charming - our room was disappointing given the historic features of the building (small and a little cheap) but it had everything you need. The bathroom was very tiny and didn't have a bath which is a shame.
The food was fantastic and the wine selection very good also. The spa facilities are modest but well equipped and spacious enough for an off-season visit. On the whole, the hotel is very clean and the staff are just lovely.
We had the misfortune of a power cut while we stayed and the place just kept running like clockwork, no fuss, great service - we were charged a few days later and the bill emailed to us as they were not able to use the computer, no quibble.
I recommend a visit on a deal as it is well located just down the road from Bowness but not sure I would pay full price.

Room Tip: I think rooms 25+ are at the back of the building, away from the road (which is quiet anyway) and ov...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for staying and posting your nice review. Power cuts are no match for our efficient, hard-working staff so thanks for mentioning them as well. We appreciate your review of our food and wine list too. For future reference, we have several rooms with baths, some even with Jacuzzi baths, which is nice for a treat. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Damson Dene using a Groupon voucher deal & were really impressed.

Staff were friendly & courteous whether on reception, at breakfast or dinner. Our room was small but very cosy with an insanely comfortable 4 poster bed & luxurious jacuzzi bath. Tv was at an awkward angle meaning not v comfy to watch in bed but to be fair it couldn't have gone anywhere else - a minor problem.

Our deal included breakfast & a 3 course dinner one night. Breakfast is buffet style & fine; dinner was exceptional! Pork belly starter & venison main were delicious, well-cooked & beautifully presented. Dining room was bright & welcoming with lovely views over the rolling hills.

The pool was a good temperature & hot tub was great, sauna & steam room also nice.

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay & would recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Churlish_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

First off, we love that title as it is exactly what we are going for. We couldn't be happier with your review, particularly the bits about our insanely comfortable beds and exceptional food. We certainly hope you'll be visiting us again and thank you for recommending us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated about a ten minute drive from Bowness on a quiet road. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food very good. We stayed for two nights and had a three course meal in the restaurant on the first night. There was a good choice, prompt service and it was excellent. The breakfast was also good, it was buffet style but because only small quantities were put out at once everything we had was still hot. Our room (9) had a four poster bed and Jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for staying and posting this nice review. Thank you for mentioning our staff in your review as well, they certainly appreciate it. We're further pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,054 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing