We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the Damson Dene last week on a 2 night Groupon deal, with evening meal included on the first night, and breakfast both mornings. The hotel appearance is a bit tired and in need of some updating but that didn't stop us from thoroughly enjoying ourselves. I used the pool and steam room which was lovely and relaxing. We had the evening meal in the restaurant on the first night which was superb (highly recommend the chicken with risotto), and ate in the bar area on the 2nd evening which was just as delicious. The buffet breakfast was scrummy and no limit on extra toast etc.
The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Wayne is a great host, along with Fly. A great atmosphere throughout the place. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Everyone has enjoyed reading your review and all of your kind comments, so thank you for that. It is always nice when the only regret is not having been with us for longer. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    794
    234
    87
    66
See reviews for
312
1,349
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with great staff.

We had a voucher for two nights B&B and evening meal on the 1st night.

The hotel is slightly dated but is very clean and tidy.

The meal was excellent

Our room was small but very clean and had everything we needed.

It's only a 10 min drive to Windermere, and the hotel is set in a nice quiet spot with great views of the country side.

I would happily stay again

And I'm going to have a look on the Internet to see if I recognise any staff when they filmed ch4 the hotel in 2010!




Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graeme45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Great review thank you. Yes, have a look online as I think you will see some familiar faces. Thanks as well for all of your comments about our staff and food and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Service,food & staff was all good. Pleasant hotel but a bit dated. Housekeeping needs improvement, a damp cloth would remove the detritus of dust on surfaces, dado rails, pictures, mirrors, headboard etc!! The exterior could do with some attention. Nice grounds although broken pots full of cigarette-buts, not nice, & a lick of white paint wouldn't go amiss. Would go back in the summer when the sun is shining makes anywhere look better!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suequk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your review and saying that you'll come back to visit us once more. In the summer, the grounds will be in bloom and looking great, which is nice. Sorry about the dust, but that is an easy fix! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel has a lot of character Nice open fire in the lounge area with plenty of seats. The bar is very relaxed and overlooks the duck pond- as does the restaurant. The food was great and we enjoyed a 3 course evening meal on the first night. The staff were very friendly. Hotel very handy for visiting Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: we had room 3 which was above reception.- however it is close to the door which leads from the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKKKKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks so much for this 5-star review and for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed the fire in the lounge and your meals with us. Thanks also for mentioning our staff in your review as well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to the Damson Dene Hotel. We bought the Groupon Deal that included 2 nights stay, with breakfast each morning and dinner on first night, also the boat trip on Lake Windemere, we must say this proved to be excellent value for money. The food was top quality and we decided to eat again on our second evening due to this. Our 3 year old son loved the swimming pool and myself and wife also did along with the other health facilities.
The staff were very friendly and professional and our room was everything we needed. We also enjoyed sitting by the fire on our last evening, the whole place is such a beautiful setting. We would definitely come back again in the future.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank graber1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Everyone is so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your 5-star rating. Your review lets us know we are doing a good job, which is always helpful. We couldn't be happier that your family enjoyed our leisure facilities and thanks for your nice comments about our staff too. We definitely hope you do come back in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Super staff in reception, bar and restaurant. Impressive meals - especially breakfast. Really appreciated the use of the steam room/swimming pool area. room slightly disappointing - no view at all apart from emergency fire escape and staff quarters! Otherwise a pleasant experience in a hotel of character.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Nice review thank you. We certainly appreciate you coming to visit us and all of your comments about our staff, food and spa facilities. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I booked through Groupon for two nights B&B plus dinner for two.

I was greeted by friendly staff and a cosy log fire. We were upgraded to a four poster bed and jacuzzi bath free of charge. Our room was not modern (yes it had net curtains which seems to upset people in some reviews I've read!) but it was clean which is important to me. We had room number 9.

The dinner on the first night was a three course meal - delicious venison! Waiters were polite, non-intrusive, friendly and helpful.

The indoor pool was small but we only had to share it with a few other guests. Everything worked as it should (showers, steam room, sauna etc) the pool and changing rooms were clean.

The hotel is 4.5miles from the lake, a lovely scenic drive.

Breakfast was a buffet of sausage egg bacon mushrooms beans etc, plus cereals, jam and toast, fruit and yogurts, teas coffees and fresh juice.

I really cannot see how anyone could have a bad experience here. I didn't have any problems but I was given the impression that if I had one the staff would go out of their way to help.

Highly recommend, I will likely return in the summer.

Thank you Damson Dene

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanrahanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks so much for this review. You are quite right about the staff; they will do everything they can to ensure guests have an enjoyable, relaxing time so thank you for mentioning them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the warm summer. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing