We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damson Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$275
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,287)
Filter reviews
2,287 results
Traveller rating
1,004
846
264
99
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
846
264
99
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesmanager waynejacuzzi bathevening mealfour posterquiz nightreception areadog friendly hoteltwo nightsthree course mealvenisonbreakfast was buffet stylefamily roomlake district
Filter
Updating list...
1,135 - 1,140 of 2,287 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thank you - Just had a lovely two night stay. The hotel is great with a lovely old world charm and is such a relaxing place to be. It was also great we could take our little Jack Russell dog with us.

We chose to eat in the restaurant on the Saturday and the meal was served in the chapel as there was a 'Murder Mystery' going on in the restaurant. I wondered if we because of this we would get a slightly worse service. Far from it, the food and the service were both brilliant.

We also enjoyed using the pool, sauna, steam room etc. too.

Our second time here and once again the high quality of the food and the efficient and friendly service from staff deserve special mention.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Very enjoyable review to read. Thank you for visiting us for the second time and for all of your wonderful comments about our staff and food again. We hope it won't be long before your third visit, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The best thing about this Hotel is that it's got a lovely olde world feel about it. The log fire in the lounge and the seating on the big settees make it a nice place to unwind after a long day. We must have dropped on a 'dog free' day because we never saw or even smelled one on our visit. Our room was a four poster with a Jaccuzi in the bathroom, the down side being it was broken and no matter how many times we pumped the button as per instructions it wouldn't work and the bath was so small it wasn't really a bath. Also the shower wasn't really a shower as such, it was a hand held thing with nowhere to hang it up, not much cop when putting shampoo on!! Theres a proper spa in the Hotel anyway although we never got chance to use it. The view from our window was onto a flat roof so basically no view at all, the room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The meals were excellent, I had Beef which was cooked perfectly, our friends had Lamb but had to send it back as it seemed undercooked,some items were served not as on the menu but all our complaints were dealt with very quickly and courteously. The buffet breakfast was top quality and freshly cooked, top marks for that as I love my Full English. The bar areas are nicely laid out overlooking the pond and just the place to relax in. This Hotel was featured in a Channel 4 documentary a few years ago although I never watched it, there's a few mementoes from the cast framed on the walls. Would I visit again? Yes... Probably.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as the lower ones our friends had were quite small and dark .
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerman579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks so much for your review and stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the old world feel of the hotel and that you enjoyed relaxing in the bar area. I am sorry your friends had to send their lamb back. Slightly "undercooked" lamb is actually a beautiful thing, but perhaps not to everyone's taste. We certainly hope you return to visit in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel some years ago. At that time it was quiet and laid back. Set in the countryside with lot's of pleasant walks at the location as well as pleasant gardens it was ideal for a relaxing weekend get together with friends. So.... we thought we would do it again, Hotel looked the same upon arrival, the weather was great. Entered the reception area to the smell of damp dogs. Waited to check in for too long whilst a couple complained about their room. Stayed in room 34 which was almost underground, the corridor and the room smelled of damp dogs also. Window was wide open. When it was closed the smell of dog was overpowering.

Decided to have a coffee in the room whilst getting ready for our night out. The noise of dogs barking in various rooms bewcame unbearable. I tracked down three of the rooms where the dogs were barking/howling and knocked on their door to ask them to quieten them down. No one answered the door, so I went to reception and complained to the receptionist who had obviousely had a bad day and scowered at me before emphatically stating: " well it is a dog friendly hotel" I believe that this reaction had well used by her. I provided the numbers of the rooms where the noise was coming from and she dissappeared without a word. Never to return despite my waiting.

Upon our return to the hotel there were dogs in the lounge, dogs in the bar, dogs in the car park and dogs in the rooms. A dog had been sick in the hallway (I hope it was a dog) and the stench was incredible.

People were turning up to book in the hotel with three and four dogs. Although this review doesn't read as if I like dogs I actually do and have had them almost all of my life. However, this was not a hotel as such, more like a waiting room for Crufts.

Beds were so small! Rooms and bathrooms were good apart from the Doggie smell off the carpet. Walls were so thin we could hear every word spoken by neighbours from both sides of the room.

Breakfast was good but bar meals were only average. Didn't use the spa so can't comment. Car parking dificult at times as not enough spaces when hotel is busy.

Staff were from varying countries. Bucharest, Spain and what appeared to be Poland. Must say tho' they were all pleasant.

Upon checking out had to wait again as another couple complaining about their room.... somethiung about... you guessed it ... the smell of Dog! Sorry Damson Dene but won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Do not allow yourself to be put into the underground rooms, all numbered in the thirties.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

As stated in the review below from this person's partner; we are very sorry they did not enjoy their stay. Yes, we are dog-friendly. We do our very best to make sure that only well-behaved, clean dogs are booked in. This being The Lakes, dogs do get wet. Normally, this is not a problem as our cleaning team are experts at keeping the hotel spotless. The rooms in the thirties are hardly underground and they have beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

On another note, we are very proud of our international staff. They are friendly, efficient and professional. They enrich the hotel with their experience and cosmopolitan outlook.

Once again, we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and that we were not the hotel for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This really was a treat! We stayed on a two night groupon deal and also enjoyed a lake cruise of our choice.Not only could we find no fault with our stay,the high quality of the food and the exceptionally efficient and pleasant service from all staff deserve special mention.The setting is quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to Windermere.To top it all the weather was glorious.We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for spending Mother's Day with us; everyone had a lovely time (I'm sure the weather did help with that as well!). We appreciate your nice comments about our staff, food and the location of the hotel as well. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights on the groupon voucher and to be fair it's a three star hotel and that's what you get. the icing on the cake is the fantastic food , lovely staff and the gorgeous surroundings.
Our room was unusual the main part had no window which was odd but through a arch was a little annex with two windows and a single bed that my daughter loved as it gave her a little in dependant space of her own yet she was still safe .
The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere !
We are on Vodaphone and had no problems with service or internet .
On reflection I would say a tin of magnolia would solve a lot of the gripes people have and our room 2 did have an overwhelming smell of smoke of an evening from the fire how you would resolve this I don't know.
All in all we got value for money but I wouldn't pay rack rate

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvrholsCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for visiting. Your review was enjoyable to read. Room 2 is a good family room; kids definitely enjoy being in their "own" room, but parents appreciate that they are close by as well. We are very happy that you found us to be good value and appreciate all of your comments about our food, staff and location. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews