We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel! A real find!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel! A real find!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having just stayed at this hotel on a groupon deal we weren't sure what to expect . This was a lovely cosy hotel with great friendly staff, nice food and well situated. Our room was a family room, the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room. Tea and coffee and miniature toiletries in the bathroom. If I have any criticism it would be that the room was a little tired! A lick of paint and a bit of cif on the bathroom door wouldn't go a miss, but it didn't,t interfere with our stay, just an observation!! The shower was a bit weak too - could do with a power shower!
We used the pool and found it to be more than adequate. I also had a super massage by Sharon who was wonderful! Thank you x
The quiz was funny Wayne kept us all entertained! All in all a great hotel with a lovely atmosphere we will definitely be back
Thank you xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and stay. We are delighted you found us to be a lovely hotel and your comments about our staff have gone down well! We appreciate your tips on areas for improvement; rest assured there will be more painting going ahead very soon. Thanks again and we'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    785
    230
    84
    66
See reviews for
305
1,335
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I bought a Ling Social deal to stay here for two nights with my 18 year old daughter. It was an excellent offer as we had a fantastic four course meal in the restaurant and enjoyed a delicious breakfast both mornings. We had tickets included to take a boat cruise on Windermere, which is a short drive from the hotel. The hotel is an old country style hotel, decor and rooms were pleasant and the hotel was very clean though had not been refurbished for some time, but this added to its charm. The large real fire was great to sit by of an evening.
We went to a local pub for a meal on our second night. The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful, especially Yvonne on the desk, who recommended places to visit and took time giving us directions. The spa and pool were older but adaquate and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
What an enjoyable review to read thank you. The hotel does have wonderful character (and characters!) and we're happy you took notice and enjoyed it. Yvonne also thanks you for personally mentioning her as well. we're pleased you will visit us again; see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed with friends in April 2014. Rooms clean and completely adequate. Food better than expected and service in bar and restaurant very good. Beware though this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, you are about 5/6 miles from the nearest town but a taxi was only about £14.
Very happy overall, although it did take 35 minutes standing in a queue to check out on the Sunday morning.

Room Tip: All rooms fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Lovely review thank you. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We find many appreciate our "middle of nowhere" location as it really helps them unwind and relax. Very occasionally if everyone tries to check out at the same time on Sunday it can slow things down. Thank you for your patience and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived in the dead of night and were delighted to find our quaint abode with en-suite clean, tidy and ready for our arrival. Breakfast was served for our group and everyone ate their fill. The manager Wayne was outstanding, a hilarious barrel of laughs at all times of the day, with an armoury of knowledge about local walks, lake cruises and the surrounding area. He arranged with such care a private banqueting style dinner for my friends birthday and kept the birthday celebrations very much alive the whole weekend. Coming from London, I highly recommend the Damson Dene experience, even if, as we did, just for a weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
It was most enjoyable to host your group for your friend's birthday. We are very pleased everyone had such a enjoyable and fun time. Just remember, we are a not so long drive from London and an even shorter direct train from Euston if you ever need to escape the city again! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have recently returned from a short stay at Damson Dene and cannot fault it. Our room was very clean and comfortable,the public rooms were spacious and welcoming, the staff were all friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the food. Would very happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBOOth982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
That last line of your review means the world to us. Turning first-time guests into repeat ones is so important for us. We're happy that you would visit us again and we certainly hope that you do. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location 10/10 charming relaxing. The people 10/10 friendly an accommodating The gardens and surrounding area cannot wish for better 2.5 miles only to the lake. The room 5/10 comfortable yes in need of decoration yes strange lay out no light. The food 5/10 sometimes good sometimes not The worst cheese and biscuits I have seen in my tender 60 odd years and at 8.95 no value at all.Public areas 8/10 The price of food and value 6/10. Room service 10/10 Would |I go again probably yes.Room for improvement.

Room Tip: Well worth a room with a view ( Extra )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818JOHNR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We definitely enjoyed the bits where we rated highly but also appreciate where you believe we can improve. We're a bit surprised with the comments on our food as we usually receive excellent reviews (as others can see on here). We'll keep working to ensure everyone has the kind of wonderful experience they will be talking about for years. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Was nice place just small drive from bowness. Food was excellent and produce was fantastic as well. We took our dog and was great to be able to do that. Thanks for the stay
Would say the same as other guest's and to fo a lil bit of updating. The hotel wasnt bad though. Clean and comfy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NearyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for coming to visit us and posting your nice review. You are most welcome for the stay and we hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing