We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing :(”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointing :(”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are actually still here and are looking forward to our depature. The location is very good, the hotel looks lovely from the outside but the room we were put in is a disgrace. You wouldn't swing a cat here and the cleanliness is almost non existent.
Our view (and sound) was the road and the passing by cars.
The restaurant serves good food but in comparison with Michelin star restuarants in London it is nowhere near the quality and ... more expensive!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are a comfortable, 3-star country hotel and don't pretend to be a 5-star hotel with a Michelin star. We represent excellent value for money for the Lakes, or anywhere for that matter, and we will continue to offer fantastic breaks to our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    785
    230
    84
    66
See reviews for
306
1,335
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was lovely. Very friendly hotel we were welcomed with a nice smile and a happy greeting. Our room had a lovely view over fields and woodland. The room was very clean and well supplied with toiletries and a well stocked tray of the usual beverages and snacks. The food was exceptional more like 5 star food well presented and cooked to perfection and a good menue choice. The second evening the quiz arranged by Wayne was great he was very funny and for a good cause. The leisure suite was clean and well maintained pool sauna steam room also lovely and warm. This Hotel is in a beautiful setting the grounds well kept the ducks actually sat on the window sill at breakfast ..well done keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We couldn’t ask for a better write up of our hotel, ‘perfect’ is what we aim for. Wayne and the team thank you for really kind comments and we hope that you will choose the Damson Dene again on your next visit to the lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went here with a 'living social' deal and we were really pleased with the location. Anywhere we wanted to go seemed to be 10-15 minutes in any direction. This is not what I typically find when staying in the Lake District so was very pleased!. The hotel itself is a lovely old whitewash building that you can see has/had real potential, but unfortunately a few niggles on decor let it down. The most notable thing was the very thin bedroom doors. Our room was off the main corridor and we could hear every word of passers-by conversations, and I don't think they were being noisy. We also struggled to lock our door and found other guests also struggled leading to some slamming of doors. The furniture in the rooms is in keeping with a traditional hotel and we loved the lounge area at reception with big, squishy sofas and an open fire, but little things like missing ceiling tiles, peeling paint on radiators and tired, cracked window frames made you think that the Damson Dene isn't quite keeping up with the maintenance the way they should.
The biggest plus for me and my husband was the food. When you get a 3 course meal included part of me suspects you will have a restricted choice of quickly prepared dishes. How wrong I was! The food was marvellous and all the staff were really helpful. They even let us have our after dinner coffee and tea in the lounge area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is very useful to us. Yes, you are right the hotel may seem quite remote but actually we are in the heart of everything, close to almost all the top sights in the south lakes. Your comments regarding maintenance have been looked into and we are carrying out a full survey of the communal areas to find out what needs fixing. I have passed your kind comments regarding your wonderful evening meal to our kitchen team, the positive feedback is great for them to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent 2 nights In April 2014 as a birthday break using the Groupon offer.

We had a wonderful time and would rate the hotel as a 10/10.

We enjoyed a very nice and comfortable room with superb views; our dog also loved the place.

We were also very impressed with the restaurant on our first night, staff and wonderful food.

Breakfast was also delicious and in abundance.

We shall be returning to this wonderful hotel soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the lake are a great choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
5 star review! Fantastic! Thank you for giving us top marks across the board! I am thrilled that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday and that we managed to make it so perfect for you. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just had a relaxing break in the lakes, excellent meal on the Friday evening. Good service through out. Always made to feel welcome by Wayne the manager including our dog. A good base to visit the south lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole5033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your short but sweet review of your stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Wayne was, as always, the perfect host. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have enjoyed the facilities and the reasonable prices for the food and drink. On the last occasion however, the heating for the pool was not working and the water was for to cold to enjoy. The jacuzzi in the bedroom somewhat made up for the pool and the closeness to Bowness and the other Lake towns and villages did not completely spoil the trip. All in all good value for the money and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed staying with us many time over the years and that you are planning to return to us again. I am sorry that you were affected by the problems we had with the pool, the boiler problems were rectified as quickly as possible and I am now happy to tell you that the pool is now warm and welcoming and waiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

groupon deal. I must firstly say that the staff at The Damson Dene are warm welcoming and professional. We have had a lovely stay and through the patience and kindness of Helena, the receptionist when we booked in we were upgraded to one of the 3 cottages placed at the edge of the car park. We found the cottage (No 3 ) to be clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were good and they have the option for gluten free toast :) , the staff are helpful and swift. In with the deal we had a three coarse meal included on the first night. We enjoyed it , the portions are too large for me but were just right for my boyfriend. The service was excellent . We had a window table which was lovely overlooking the pond with the ducks and there ducklings in tow.
I have posted photo's of inside the cottage and the pond and ducks :)
One bad comment THE POOL IS NOT HEATED :( its absolutely freezing, I swim 3 or 4 times a week and I could only manage a couple of lengths as its so cold. The jacuzzi is small and only seemed half full of water and the sauna didn't seemed to be on, The steam room was ok.
Its such a shame because I would have said we would return to this hotel again but because the pool is too cold for me and the location is a little too far out for us we will not be returning. The staff are all lovely and they are great asset to the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelannieAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased your stay was mostly good and appreciate your kind words about our staff. We are further delighted that you enjoyed the food. We do apologise for the one or two let downs. Considering we just got a new boiler for the pool, there is no reason it should be cold. Definitely will have that sorted. Thanks for the photos and if you ever want to escape the chaos of the main tourist areas of the Lakes, we hope to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing