We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food, very friendly!”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, very friendly!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked 4 rooms for a family of 13 and 1 dog! Very helpful prior to booking and also on arrival. Food is excellent and the gym and pool are a bonus. Staff both in the bar and restaurant are friendly and polite. This is my 2nd stay at the hotel and will definitely return. Wayne and his staff do an excellent job, top marks!

Room Tip: We had a dog with us so found the cottage building worked well for us.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was absolutely wonderful to read your review! Thanks for posting it and for the 5-star rating as well. It was also lovely to host your group and we're pleased everything we did earned "top marks"! We'll definitely look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    787
    232
    86
    66
See reviews for
309
1,338
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is not value for money - Stayed for five nights - very poor house keeping. Room was small, shower not good & bad reception on TV. On departure we made reception aware we were not happy with the value for money. To be told we could have got a cheaper deal, in fact sixty five pounds a night which was half the price we paid. Not happy to hear this at all. Very unsatisfied customer.

Room Tip: Complain if not satisfied on the first day - which is something we should have done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Whilst we were disappointed to read this review we must say that these guests booked through an online agent and not directly with the hotel. For the best offers and value for money, we recommend always booking directly with the hotel. It is unfortunate that this stay was by marred by this. We apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has been a favourite of ours for many years. We have many happy memories, got engaged here, took my terminally ill mother here and they were fabulous with us all BUT this last stay was fraught with problems.
We had booked The Bluebell room as had stayed here before, with a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a private patio and garden. When booking we were NOT told this was now a family room, and the four poster was not there. We arrived to find a double bed, and a single bed, the room changed around so it was more cramped, two odd chairs in the room, one so big we could not even get it out through the door to make more room. The large chair was cited by the patio doors, making it hard to open and get through them, so we had to change things around a bit. The kettle was sited inside a narrow opening inside the wardrobe dresser part, which made it hard to access the kettle, thus making it a little hazardous working with boiling hot water. We quickly discovered that the toilet was not flushing properly so reported it, was told there was no maintenance person on until Monday (this was Friday!). The room was not very clean, when we put our case on top of wardrobe then needed to pull it down again, down came sweet wrappers, dust and some chocolate particles! The windows were dirty, bird muck was there for our whole stay. As I have had problems once before with animal smells, I had taken my own odour removal spray, and I was glad I did, as there was a pervading animal smell in the room, this had not been taken care of by the staff, as it should be. There seemed to be less staff around than in the past, a sign of the recession? Most people we spoke to had come on the deals through Wowcher etc, which makes me wonder if this is why standards were down, they just do not charge a high enough rate to employ enough staff to keep the place clean enough. We had paid the full rate, we book direct with the hotel, and are happy to do this, but our room was not what we expected. Was told this changed to a family room over a year ago, maybe this should be explained upon booking, as many people will be used to the four poster that used to be there. As a couple why would we need a family room?
The food was up to its usual good standards, the staff again up to their usual high standards, very polite and helpful, and again Wayne is a great host plus the lovely Fly (his dog).
The hotel dining room and lounge areas, were nice and clean, and as it is an old hotel I do not mind the odd cobweb, but the room was not up to the standards of cleaning we have had before.
Well on Saturday morning the toilet totally broke, no flush whatsoever, and when we reported this, the receptionist said "I will tell somebody", to which I replied, "No you will inform the manager now, it is not acceptable to have a room without a functioning toilet!". Wayne had a look at it, and told us he would try and fix it next morning, which meant a night with no toilet. We were offered to move room, to a family room, down a flight of stairs, with no patio, and as I have a knee problem and this is why we booked the room we did, which is on the flat, that was a no brainer. We were forced at this time (evening, and had had a few drinks) so could not check out early and drive away, to keep going to the public toilets in the hotel near the restaurant! We were told the plumber was not answering his phone, well phone another plumber was my suggestion, there are 24 hour plumbers on call! After an evening and a night of having to trot off to use a toilet a fair way from the room, at 4am after another trip, we packed our cases and then had to wait until 8am before we could check out early. In retrospect we should have paid up the night before telling them this was not acceptable, so not having to wait around. There was an emergency number out of hours for manager but we did not feel this was an emergency. We checked out after breakfast, and feeling a little disgruntled, after so many years visiting this hotel were surprised to be told that we were not to be charged the full rate, and had the extra night removed and the rest was half price, so we did not even have to challenge the bill.
I would suggest that this hotel always has an emergency 24 hour plumber number handy, yes it costs more, but to have to wait from Friday until Monday for a toilet to be fixed is not good customer service (yes I know it was bank holiday but these people do exist because I have used them!).
Have always loved our stays at Damson Dene, except for one in past which I reviewed years ago, but this was a special treat, for my birthday, and it was ruined for us. Not sure we will ever return now, which is a shame as this is a special hotel for us. Maybe when the recession is over and they stop cut pricing it through cheap voucher sites, I shall keep checking the reviews to see if anything changes.
Sorry Damson Dene and Wayne and your lovely staff, you have a lovely hotel, but it needs work, the patio outside Bluebell was full of weeds, there is no ashtray provided (took our own) so everybody is putting cigs out in the planter, which is totally full of cigarette butts and nobody is emptying it. There is a pile of old concrete/tiles just stacked to one side, the hotel needs painting outside, it is looking dingy, and it never did in the past. The windows are dirty in the bar, which spoils the view over to the lovely duck pond and countryside. The owners need to put some money into this hotel, bring it back to its glory. I did not like the modernist look the Bluebell room had been given, it was lovely with the four poster, this is an old hotel, it should not be going the corporate modern way!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We were dismayed to read this review for a variety of reasons. Blue Bell is now family room, as stated, and has been for quite some time now. We are sorry you were not made aware of this at the time of booking. As always, staff went above and beyond to look after these guests but unfortunately it wasn't quite enough. We did our best, on Bank holiday Sunday when we were aware of the problem, to get a plumber out and he was here at 9am the following morning sorting the problem. As it was the guest's birthday we provided them with cake and candles. Staff even put forth their best rendition of Happy Birthday! It is a shame the guest feels our standards have dropped, because they most certainly haven't. If anything we have consistently improved over the years, but maybe that has caused too much change for this guest. We do hope they will give us another chance in the future though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited at May bank holiday, booked through Superbreaks. The first thing that surprised us was that the hotel was about a ten minute drive from Bowness when it was advertised as a Bowness hotel, although this generally didn't put us off. We had a family room for ourselves and 2 children. The room was a decent size and in an L shape, with one single bed around a corner which was great because it gave our teenager some privacy, whilst still being in the same room. The room decor was ok, but could have been better. Little things such as a broken drawer handle, bedside light not working were minor irritations. Also the first carton of milk we opened to make a cup of tea had gone off. We were going to book into the restaurant for an evening meal but when my husband enquired he found that there was no kids menu meaning that we'd have to pay £30 for a set meal for our 3 year old daughter, which we thought was too much. We found the hotel very noisy at night. On the first night we were woken at 4am by a couple having a row and on the second night, we could hear people going to their rooms and slamming doors as late as 3am. The breakfast was very average and not a lot of choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast. All that being said, the staff were very friendly and helpful; Wayne's quiz night was a good laugh and raised money for a good cause. Unfortunately we wouldn't return to this hotel unless the rooms were updated and a bit more attention paid to maintenance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review although we are disappointed that we could not make your stay a totally enjoyable one. It is unfortunate that the little things were what caused your stay to be less than perfect. Luckily, those little things are easily fixed! We are pleased you enjoyed the quiz and all of the staff are happy to have been mentioned as well. We do hope you'll consider returning in the future as we are always working to improve the hotel. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Damson Dene for two nights including bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night on a deal that is excellent value. To start the hotel is in a superb location, between Windermere and Kendal. The hotel grounds were lovely with a pond with plenty of ducks, ducklings and moor hens, with views from the restaurant, bar and patio over the garden to the hills beyond. The room we had was not large but certainly comfortable and we could have booked a four poster and jacuzzi . Staff were very friendly and the dinner was very good only surpassed by the quality of the breakfast. The pool and the associated steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were very good as was the well equipped gym which also over;looked the garden.We will return if only to relax in the peace and quiet and watch the house martins swooping and feeding there young in their nests on the house. Will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Simply a lovely review to read and the 5-star rating is nice too! It is lovely to read all of the comments about our location and grounds now that the weather is nice enough to really take advantage of them. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and do visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Damson dene for two nights including bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night on a deal which was excellent value. To start the hotel is in a lovely location, the middle of nowhere midway between Windermere and Kendal. A great base for going out and about. The hotel grounds were lovely with a pond with plenty of ducks, seating and views over the hills. The view is perfect from the dining room and bar if weather is not great. Hotel could do with a little TLC especially in the rooms, but there is character. We booked a four poster and jacuzzi in room 5 which was nice, but the view from this room non-existent (rooftop buildings). Obviously not all rooms can't have the perfect view but felt this was a bit of letdown given the upgrade. The bed was uncomfortable also. Staff were very friendly, especially Sharon who does treatments in the Spa. Two treatments for £40 is the latest deal and in my opinion and absolute must!
The food was the biggest letdown for us, the Venison was lovely but the vegetables and my husbands lamb was cooked in far too much oil and almost burnt. I felt the same about the hot buffet breakfast which was greasy. For most I'm sure this was fine, but for a leisure hotel, health didn't seem a priority for the cooking. There are many lovely restaurants and pubs in the area and so we would return to the hotel but not for the food. If you want a hotel in a busy area then this is not for you, but to relax in peace with only the birds to disturb you then this is ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster room with a view as the others are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your visit. We enjoyed reading your review as well. It has let us know what we are doing well and where we can improve; invaluable information for us. We do hope the next time you are looking to relax in peace that we will see you once more. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights here using a Wowcher deal and we can't speak highly enough of this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the staff. Check in was quick and easy. Our room, room 12, was amazing! We paid £20 extra to upgrade to the luxury room and it was money well spent. We were greated by a very clean and well appointed room, with a huge 4 poster bed and a very spacios bathroom, with jacuzzi bath. The views from room 12 were amazing, out accross the gardens in one way, and over the car park and out on to the spectacular local landscape.

The spa and pool area are very nice, the pool area has a 10m pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. The beauty therapist (Sharon) is lovely and provides an excellent service. I would highly recommend booking in for a treatment.

Breakfast was bufet style, plenty of choice and is delicious. The grounds are spectuclar, a lovely duck pond surrounded by a lovely garden, perfect for an after meal stroll. The meal was very nice, I have the sirloin (£7 supplement on the deal) my girlfriend had the fish course. Both were perfect. Drinks are a little expensive, but in keeping with other local establishements.

In short I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 12 has amazing views and is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gball2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
A very enjoyable review to read thank you. The 5-star rating has gone down well too! We enjoyed reading your description of the views from your room as well. All of the staff appreciate your mentioning their hard-working demeanour as well. We love that you'll consider returning in the future; we sure hope you do. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Property: Damson Dene Hotel
Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing