We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damson Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$405
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$417
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$190
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$238
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,274)
Filter reviews
2,274 results
Traveller rating
1,000
840
263
97
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,000
840
263
97
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondgroupon deallog fireleisure facilitiesmanager waynejacuzzi bathevening mealfour posterquiz nightreception areadog friendly hoteltwo nightsthree course mealvenisonbreakfast was buffet stylefamily roomlake district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,079 - 1,084 of 2,274 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked 4 rooms for a family of 13 and 1 dog! Very helpful prior to booking and also on arrival. Food is excellent and the gym and pool are a bonus. Staff both in the bar and restaurant are friendly and polite. This is my 2nd stay at the hotel and will definitely return. Wayne and his staff do an excellent job, top marks!

Room Tip: We had a dog with us so found the cottage building worked well for us.
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It was absolutely wonderful to read your review! Thanks for posting it and for the 5-star rating as well. It was also lovely to host your group and we're pleased everything we did earned "top marks"! We'll definitely look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is not value for money - Stayed for five nights - very poor house keeping. Room was small, shower not good & bad reception on TV. On departure we made reception aware we were not happy with the value for money. To be told we could have got a cheaper deal, in fact sixty five pounds a night which was half the price we paid. Not happy to hear this at all. Very unsatisfied customer.

Room Tip: Complain if not satisfied on the first day - which is something we should have done!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Whilst we were disappointed to read this review we must say that these guests booked through an online agent and not directly with the hotel. For the best offers and value for money, we recommend always booking directly with the hotel. It is unfortunate that this stay was by marred by this. We apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has been a favourite of ours for many years. We have many happy memories, got engaged here, took my terminally ill mother here and they were fabulous with us all BUT this last stay was fraught with problems.
We had booked The Bluebell room as had stayed here before, with a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a private patio and garden. When booking we were NOT told this was now a family room, and the four poster was not there. We arrived to find a double bed, and a single bed, the room changed around so it was more cramped, two odd chairs in the room, one so big we could not even get it out through the door to make more room. The large chair was cited by the patio doors, making it hard to open and get through them, so we had to change things around a bit. The kettle was sited inside a narrow opening inside the wardrobe dresser part, which made it hard to access the kettle, thus making it a little hazardous working with boiling hot water. We quickly discovered that the toilet was not flushing properly so reported it, was told there was no maintenance person on until Monday (this was Friday!). The room was not very clean, when we put our case on top of wardrobe then needed to pull it down again, down came sweet wrappers, dust and some chocolate particles! The windows were dirty, bird muck was there for our whole stay. As I have had problems once before with animal smells, I had taken my own odour removal spray, and I was glad I did, as there was a pervading animal smell in the room, this had not been taken care of by the staff, as it should be. There seemed to be less staff around than in the past, a sign of the recession? Most people we spoke to had come on the deals through Wowcher etc, which makes me wonder if this is why standards were down, they just do not charge a high enough rate to employ enough staff to keep the place clean enough. We had paid the full rate, we book direct with the hotel, and are happy to do this, but our room was not what we expected. Was told this changed to a family room over a year ago, maybe this should be explained upon booking, as many people will be used to the four poster that used to be there. As a couple why would we need a family room?
The food was up to its usual good standards, the staff again up to their usual high standards, very polite and helpful, and again Wayne is a great host plus the lovely Fly (his dog).
The hotel dining room and lounge areas, were nice and clean, and as it is an old hotel I do not mind the odd cobweb, but the room was not up to the standards of cleaning we have had before.
Well on Saturday morning the toilet totally broke, no flush whatsoever, and when we reported this, the receptionist said "I will tell somebody", to which I replied, "No you will inform the manager now, it is not acceptable to have a room without a functioning toilet!". Wayne had a look at it, and told us he would try and fix it next morning, which meant a night with no toilet. We were offered to move room, to a family room, down a flight of stairs, with no patio, and as I have a knee problem and this is why we booked the room we did, which is on the flat, that was a no brainer. We were forced at this time (evening, and had had a few drinks) so could not check out early and drive away, to keep going to the public toilets in the hotel near the restaurant! We were told the plumber was not answering his phone, well phone another plumber was my suggestion, there are 24 hour plumbers on call! After an evening and a night of having to trot off to use a toilet a fair way from the room, at 4am after another trip, we packed our cases and then had to wait until 8am before we could check out early. In retrospect we should have paid up the night before telling them this was not acceptable, so not having to wait around. There was an emergency number out of hours for manager but we did not feel this was an emergency. We checked out after breakfast, and feeling a little disgruntled, after so many years visiting this hotel were surprised to be told that we were not to be charged the full rate, and had the extra night removed and the rest was half price, so we did not even have to challenge the bill.
I would suggest that this hotel always has an emergency 24 hour plumber number handy, yes it costs more, but to have to wait from Friday until Monday for a toilet to be fixed is not good customer service (yes I know it was bank holiday but these people do exist because I have used them!).
Have always loved our stays at Damson Dene, except for one in past which I reviewed years ago, but this was a special treat, for my birthday, and it was ruined for us. Not sure we will ever return now, which is a shame as this is a special hotel for us. Maybe when the recession is over and they stop cut pricing it through cheap voucher sites, I shall keep checking the reviews to see if anything changes.
Sorry Damson Dene and Wayne and your lovely staff, you have a lovely hotel, but it needs work, the patio outside Bluebell was full of weeds, there is no ashtray provided (took our own) so everybody is putting cigs out in the planter, which is totally full of cigarette butts and nobody is emptying it. There is a pile of old concrete/tiles just stacked to one side, the hotel needs painting outside, it is looking dingy, and it never did in the past. The windows are dirty in the bar, which spoils the view over to the lovely duck pond and countryside. The owners need to put some money into this hotel, bring it back to its glory. I did not like the modernist look the Bluebell room had been given, it was lovely with the four poster, this is an old hotel, it should not be going the corporate modern way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We were dismayed to read this review for a variety of reasons. Blue Bell is now family room, as stated, and has been for quite some time now. We are sorry you were not made aware of this at the time of booking. As always, staff went above and beyond to look after these guests but unfortunately it wasn't quite enough. We did our best, on Bank holiday Sunday when we were aware of the problem, to get a plumber out and he was here at 9am the following morning sorting the problem. As it was the guest's birthday we provided them with cake and candles. Staff even put forth their best rendition of Happy Birthday! It is a shame the guest feels our standards have dropped, because they most certainly haven't. If anything we have consistently improved over the years, but maybe that has caused too much change for this guest. We do hope they will give us another chance in the future though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited at May bank holiday, booked through Superbreaks. The first thing that surprised us was that the hotel was about a ten minute drive from Bowness when it was advertised as a Bowness hotel, although this generally didn't put us off. We had a family room for ourselves and 2 children. The room was a decent size and in an L shape, with one single bed around a corner which was great because it gave our teenager some privacy, whilst still being in the same room. The room decor was ok, but could have been better. Little things such as a broken drawer handle, bedside light not working were minor irritations. Also the first carton of milk we opened to make a cup of tea had gone off. We were going to book into the restaurant for an evening meal but when my husband enquired he found that there was no kids menu meaning that we'd have to pay £30 for a set meal for our 3 year old daughter, which we thought was too much. We found the hotel very noisy at night. On the first night we were woken at 4am by a couple having a row and on the second night, we could hear people going to their rooms and slamming doors as late as 3am. The breakfast was very average and not a lot of choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast. All that being said, the staff were very friendly and helpful; Wayne's quiz night was a good laugh and raised money for a good cause. Unfortunately we wouldn't return to this hotel unless the rooms were updated and a bit more attention paid to maintenance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review although we are disappointed that we could not make your stay a totally enjoyable one. It is unfortunate that the little things were what caused your stay to be less than perfect. Luckily, those little things are easily fixed! We are pleased you enjoyed the quiz and all of the staff are happy to have been mentioned as well. We do hope you'll consider returning in the future as we are always working to improve the hotel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Damson Dene for two nights including bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night on a deal that is excellent value. To start the hotel is in a superb location, between Windermere and Kendal. The hotel grounds were lovely with a pond with plenty of ducks, ducklings and moor hens, with views from the restaurant, bar and patio over the garden to the hills beyond. The room we had was not large but certainly comfortable and we could have booked a four poster and jacuzzi . Staff were very friendly and the dinner was very good only surpassed by the quality of the breakfast. The pool and the associated steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were very good as was the well equipped gym which also over;looked the garden.We will return if only to relax in the peace and quiet and watch the house martins swooping and feeding there young in their nests on the house. Will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Simply a lovely review to read and the 5-star rating is nice too! It is lovely to read all of the comments about our location and grounds now that the weather is nice enough to really take advantage of them. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and do visit us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews