We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People AND Dog Friendly”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What started out as a disaster turned into a very good holiday. I’d asked for a quiet room and was initially given 23. We set off to look for it but couldn’t find it and then we were told we were given the wrong room and given no 2 instead. No 2 is a disaster if you have a dog that you have never taken on holiday before, as 2 sides of the room are on creaky corridors leading to a lot of rooms. We could not sleep as the dog was constantly barking at all the passing footsteps and door movements and I doubt our neighbours could sleep either. I was ready to pack and leave but Yvonne the receptionist got it sorted the next morning and we were given room 23 – secluded, upstairs away from anybody passing, a really nice room. We had two further nights there and we all managed to sleep.
The hotel is very dog friendly and the staff are very obliging. Yes, some bits of the building and rooms could do with a little attention, the decor isn’t perfect, but that doesn’t really matter. There were a couple of bits in the room needing attention but once reported, they were fixed immediately. Didn’t use the leisure facilities as such but we both had a full body massage with Sharon – very relaxing. The food was lovely, whether the restaurant menu or the bar food. The setting is gorgeous, beautiful grounds with ducks everywhere, however, it is in the middle of nowhere and difficult to find – and it is a good 10 minutes drive to Bowness. I would certainly stay there again – but never in room 2!

Room Tip: Ask for 23 if you or your dog get easily disturbed. Avoid room 2 (a family room) - first up the sta...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

How pleased we are that your dog settled nicely into the second room you were given. One can never be sure how a dog will react on their first holiday! Your review was well-received here at the hotel and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and say that you would visit again. Hopefully soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Love everything about this place. From the friendly staff to the excellent food. We booked from a groupon voucher and booked an extra night. The room was clean with everything you needed. The food on the first night was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities were great, the pool, the sauna, the steam room and the jacuzzi. We will definitely be staying here again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angec75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review. The 5-star rating has gone down well with us, so thank you for that! We work very hard to offer clean, comfortable accommodation, delicious food and superb facilities. Thank you for mentioning our staff as well, I will let them know of your kind comments. Do come and visit us again please1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just had 2 nights here on a voucher deal. We had a very pleasant stay, room was nice although a little dated, staff were very friendly and food was good. Nice selection of tea, coffee and biscuits etc in the room and the grounds were lovely to sit with a drink and chill out. Weather was good too but I can imagine its also lovely in the winter as the lounge looked great with big wide sofas and a huge fireplace - will be great sitting in front of the roaring fire in the cold I bet. Breakfast was plentiful and a good start to a day of tramping round the lakes, plus cruise tickets were a bonus. Bit disappointed in the birthday cake my husband ordered - thought a little more thought could've been given but all in all we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which had a 4 poster bed but not sure what other rooms are like. This room was...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMJ156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your terrific review. We couldn't be happier with what we've read. I will pass your message on to our staff who always appreciate a kind word! The hotel is great, rain or shine (or snow or whatever!), but we are pleased the weather cooperated for you. Regarding the birthday cake, it is always difficult to always get it right because people want different things. When we've "gone over the top" in the past, people didn't like that either! We'll work to get it right though. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had 2 days here on a last minute deal. Although it was a drive away from Windermere etc it was a nice relaxing break. Hotel staff were friendly and the food was ok. Nice clean rooms with all tea/coffee,bikkies etc.Lovely grounds to chill out in with a cheeky beer or two.The sunshine helped.Did not use pool but it looked nice,so did the gym. Breakfast was plentiful but just had to wait a few minutes for the trays to be re-stocked with fresh eggs and bacon but on the whole was a good start to the day.Did the job!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raddaz0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We like to think we are in a great spot to chillax in, close enough to Windermere to easily visit, far enough out to be away from the throng of tourists. We're pleased the sun cooperated for you as well and I'm sure the beers went down nicely in our garden. Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and my parents for a birthday weekend through voucher deal. We had a pleasant stay. Pool and spa area small and needing a revamp but fit for purpose. Was provably a lovely hotel in the 70's and early 80's but needs some TLC now. Was fine for weekend stay. Grounds are beautiful and Bill, the duck with the broken beak, adds a personal touch and charm. The children loved him. Staff were fabulous. Rooms basic but clean. Lots of stairs so beware if mobility is an issue. Ticket for boat trip was an added bonus. Wouldn't rush back but would visit this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. Bill, the beak-less wonder, is part of the family these days and we're pleased you got to meet him. About the hotel being dated, it has been remodelled not too long ago but we retained the country hotel feel. It may not be that it is outdated, but perhaps it was not the style to your taste. That's fine, everyone has subjective tastes. We do appreciate that you would consider visiting again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booking this hotel was a pleasure. The receptionist I spoke to when I initially called with an enquiry was friendly and helpful and on arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was comfortable, clean and well stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits etc.
The restaurant staff were friendly efficient and helpful.
The evening meal was of a good standard with a good choice
Breakfast was buffet style but they still served freshly cooked items.
Will definitely be booking another visit as I would love my husband to have the same experience.
Thank you Damson Dene Hotel for making my trip with mu so memorable.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the car park and side gardens - nice view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutu2Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Wonderful review! Thank you so much for posting it and for the 5-star rating. We couldn't be happier that you and your mum enjoyed your stays with us! We're delighted that you will visit again with your husband. We'll see you then,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a nice quiet location within a few minutes drive to lake Windermere. My friend and I stayed for 2 nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. The room was very clean and had a lovely outlook over fields. We had a voucher deal and thought it excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had a twin room, facing west which was very quiet and had a nice outlook ,We also had a bathroom...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting your excellent review. We all work hard and reviews such as yours let us know we are doing a good job. We are delighted you found us to be good value for money and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing