We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Deal”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked a 2 night stay with dinner on the first night. The deal included a half lake trip on Windermere. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly & helpful. The manager Wayne made our stay he was so friendly and good fun. The rooms were a bit small but very clean, our room could have done with a proper shower & screen over the bath. On the whole it was an enjoyable stay & I would be happy to return on another short stay at the lakes.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was very patchy except in the bar area and the phone signal was non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for visiting. Your nice review has brought a smile to our faces. We're pleased you found us to be good value for money and your comments about our staff have gone down a treat! Thank you for saying you will visit again. We will certainly look forward to it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a two night Travelzoo Deal to Damson Dene Hotel & Spa a deal which we could not resist as we made one prevoius visit three years & always intended to return. Our previous visit cost £218 whilst this visit was an amazing £149 for two nights bed & breakfast plus dinner on the first night.The wonderful setting of Damson Dene was equalled by the view from our bedroom window, we enjoyed watching the ducks & water fowl,especially the chicks on the lake Service & choice in the Restaurant was excellent portions,generous. The icing on the cake was our visit to the spa where we swam, had a sauna as well as a first experiance of a steam room, internet access in public areas is also available all at no additional cost ! Bowness is easily accessed & parking not as difficult as in some other destinations with free parking for two hours along the lake road. We will make sure that we do not leave our return as long this next time.

Room Tip: Free wifi in public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granny4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and for the 5-star rating! There aren't many things that become better value for money as time goes on, but it seems we are! Yes, do ensure you don't wait another 3 years to come and see us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Reception staff could not have been more helpful, Room was near to facilities and had some lovely goods for sale in foyer together with lots of leaflets with local information. Breakfasts were superb & evening meal was lovely and well cooked, waiting staff were attentive and very fast in serving all foods, very smartly dressed, and polite. Room was clean and adequate. Loved the gardens, and being looked at through the windows by some of the many ducks. Very rural, quite a way out if you want shops.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for posting this lovely 5-star review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your mention of our staff. We're happy to read your comments about our food, especially our breakfast which sets you up great for the day we think! Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night this weekend (do so wish other commitments had not prevented us staying longer). We have stayed here many years ago with groups of friends, this time just the two of us celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary. Reception staff were beyond polite and helpful, really cheerful and friendly too. Superb team in the restaurant and bar, excellent service and superb food. Think the breakfast eggs were the nicest ever had in a hotel.
Our room was lovely, very clean and fresh. Bed was really comfy and cosy.
We will not be leaving it too long before we return, thank you to all the staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Excellent review to read thank you; you've put a smile on all of our faces! your comments about our staff are truly warming to our hearts. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay including our delicious breakfast! We hope to see you again soon, thanks for the 5-star rating as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned home today after a weekend at the damson dene hotel. We had a lovely time here. On arrival we were greeted by lovely polite reception staff. Having arrived late because of traffic the restaurant manager very kindly arranged for us to have a hot meal. The staff in the restaurant were very polite the whole weekend I couldn't fault them at all. The food was lovely at breakfast and in the evening, we didn't have Bar meals but I did see the food and it looked really nice. There was one thing that we didn't like about this hotel this was that they welcomed dogs, they were aloud to sleep in the rooms, and one couple had three of them they were barking at times but thank god not during the night. I also went in the grounds to have a wak round and there was dog poo in many places on the grass near the status which I stood in, if the hotel allows dogs their owners should have more respect for others especially children and clear the poo when their dogs do it. Apart from this problem which I feel that this hotel should address and maybe have kennels for the dogs, we enjoyed our stay here .

Room Tip: We were in room ten a family room. We did see rooms 11 and 12 which looked lovely they had four post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and food. Thank you also for your constructive comments on our dog policy. We do ask that dog-owners respect the property and other guests and of course we do try to ensure that only well-behaved dogs are allowed to stay. The vast majority of dogs are well-behaved, but every no and again you get the odd pooch who is a bit naughty. We're pleased you did not let the issue with the dogs spoil your stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend at Damson Dene Hotel for our first wedding anniversary and we stayed in the Bluebell suite. We didnt realise upon booking but this suite had a jacuzzi bath and patio doors which opened onto a small sun terrace and walled garden. The walled garden was perfect as we took our dog so she could run about freely.
we were also travelling with our 9 week old sun and there was plenty of space for his pram (which he slept in during our stay as he is still tiny). The room was very modern and clean with everything you would need- kettle, iron, ironing board, hair dryer etc.
The hotel is dog friendly but we saw a sign on the reception desk which asked you to put your dog in the car when youwent to the restaurant- this was not pointed out when booking and it was extremely hot outside so we ignored this as it would have been extextremely cruel! Our dog is well behaved so I dont think anyone would have noticed that she had been in the room alone!

The restaurant served us a beautiful meal the first night we stayed- however it is a 3 course meal- there are no options just to have one or two courses so it's best to go when you are very hungry! The food was amazing and there was a beautiful view of the pond and gardens from the restaurant.
Breakfast was self service (both continental and cooked) and it was delicious.
The waiters were very friendly and attentive at both dinner and breakfast.

it is a short 10 minute drive to Bowness and Winderemere so we drove to Bowness for dinner on the second night and for lunch both days. There is plenty to do in Bowness.

We didnt use the pool or spa during our stay as the weather was so nice!

I have attached some photos of the Bluebell suite also- I would request this room again and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle_736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Wonderful review. Thank you so much for staying and posting your 5-star remarks! We think you covered all of our strong points very well. We would add that we don't force people to put dogs in their cars; we simply request that if your dog barks when you aren't around to take necessary precautions to not disturb those around you. Better yet, guests can dine on the delicious 3-course (or 1 or 2 course if you prefer!) meal in the bar with their dog! Thanks for posting your photos and we hope we'll be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Where to start, room ( 6 ) small tired looking ensuite ok for very slim midget, shower dosnt drain so ankle deep in dirty water, yuk. Quilt so old and compacted as to be unusable. Horrible deep droning noise from fans/ mothers from the pool, when I complained was just told they will be turned off at ten, they were but very noisy boiler cutting in and out all night made sleep impossible.fans back on again at 6 am. WiFi is not available in the room.
Had to send one meal back, it was inedible. Next morning the bacon was raw and covered in a white scum, when I tried to very discreetly to ask for some better cooked I was told if you don't like it find somewhere else. The welsh waiter was very rude.
To sum up, if you have a choice between camping in a muddy field or this hotel the field would win every time

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank robuk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

From the outset, this was one of the more difficult guests to please we have experienced. Although we work very hard to be a great place to visit, we understand that we cannot be the hotel for everyone. We were made aware of how unhappy the guest was with the room and were able to move them to a different room on the second night of their stay. From that point on, the complaints kept coming to the point of absurdity when the way in which we serve coffee was questioned (for the record, with filter coffee; pour coffee into cup. For cafetiere coffee, a bit more elaborate!). Luckily, the good people of the tripadvisor community can usually spot an outlier review and will choose to have an excellent value break with us over the offer of a muddy field.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
572 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £65 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing