We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints from us”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from an excellent weekend deal booked directly with hotel. No complaints from us. Service, food, ambience, entertainment all exceptionally good value. Lake cruise also included. We agree with all the previous positive comments. Sticky toffee pudding to die for!

However Wayne, we did feel that the prize of a bag of crisps for the winner of the Saturday Night Quiz was a little mean, when the winner of the previous quiz (your sister no less) go two tickets to the Big Apple!

We left very disappointed that we couldn't spot Bill the beakless duck on that gorgeous tranquil lake. We'll certainly be back to search for him. LOL.

Can't praise the staff enough for giving us a weekend of both laughter and relaxation, just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

A big THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Lovely 5-star review thank you. We are very happy you found us to be good value for money and appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff, food and entertainment. After such a big quiz prize, the bag of crisps were all we could afford to give away! We'll start saving up again though. Thanks so much and we will hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel direct after seeing it on groupon which included dinner on one night and breakfast for both mornings. We also used the complimentary trip on Windermere.
Check in was very efficient and quick booked a morning newspaper which was handy as the place is in a quiet and tranquil location and you are a few miles from anyone else . Was located downstairs wasn't the biggest room but the bed was comfy room exceptionally clean good TV reception and plenty coffee . The bathroom again nice and clean with a lovely hot shower.
Had dinner the first night and have read other reports who thought it overpriced - ours was included in the price for the first night but I would have had no qualms for paying £30 a head for the food we had . It was delicious hot tasty well presented and plenty of it - so to me compliments to the chef and I have stayed at a lot of places and this was right up there with the best . The wine list although not exhaustive was ok - like every hotel though charge x4 times what the wine costs - but they have to make a living . Had a few beers in the bar nice selection including local ales cider lager etc . Breakfast was self service for the good waiters brought coffee tea and toast quick and efficient service . Nice selection of juices and cold fruits yoghurt sand cereal . Buffet service full English - no one will go hungry here . After a full day out in bowness Windermere and Kendal decided to have a few quiet drinks in the bar at night and joined in Wayne's quiz which he does for the local charity - full of humour and passed a hour .
Wayne has an efficient staff and runs an excellent hotel
We will b back - my wife loves feeding the ducks !!!
If you've booked here u will no doubt have a wonderful time well done all at the damson dene - I've given you MY 5 star review of 2015 so far this year

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank woodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We loved reading your review, so thank you for posting it. As an avid reviewer, your comments are very important to us and your 5-star rating means the world. The quiz has become a guest favourite and, of course, it is for a good cause so it is win-win. We'll let the ducks know to keep an eye for your return. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay for our 20th wedding anniversary. From the time we checked in we were made to feel really welcome. We had room 1 with 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath. Bed was really comfy and the room very clean. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night, the food was delicious and the staff very efficient and polite. Breakfast on both mornings was very good with a great choice of hot and cold food. On Saturday we used the cruise passes included in the price a great wee extra and much appreciated. Bar staff were really good and friendly. The weather was perfect and we sat on the patio sipping drinks and watching the ducks in the pond. The grounds are lovely and peaceful. All I can say is we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Damson Dene and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for visiting. Your review and 5-star rating is so important to us and should really help those deciding on whether to book with us. We are pleased to have played a small part in your milestone anniversary as well! Thank you again and we hope you definitely do stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of July. We were given an upgrade to a room with a four poster bed and a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Because of the bed the room seemed quite small but it had a fabulous television and plenty of coffee and tea etc. If you are using the Jacuzzi please do not put too much shower gel in the tub or you will get lost in the suds when you switch the jets on ( like I did ). The first night here included dinner which I found to be overpriced and not that exciting apart from the sticky toffee pudding which was the best I have ever had. All in all the hotel has a lot going for it with lovely scenery and thanks to the weather we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DQ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for visiting and for your nice review. Yes, the Jacuzzi will create a lot of suds and actually they aren't meant to be used with shower gels if you can believe it! We are surprised about your comments regarding our food as (after the staff) it is usually the star of the show! We do love that sticky toffee comment though - high praise indeed. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked a 2 night stay with dinner on the first night. The deal included a half lake trip on Windermere. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly & helpful. The manager Wayne made our stay he was so friendly and good fun. The rooms were a bit small but very clean, our room could have done with a proper shower & screen over the bath. On the whole it was an enjoyable stay & I would be happy to return on another short stay at the lakes.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was very patchy except in the bar area and the phone signal was non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for visiting. Your nice review has brought a smile to our faces. We're pleased you found us to be good value for money and your comments about our staff have gone down a treat! Thank you for saying you will visit again. We will certainly look forward to it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a two night Travelzoo Deal to Damson Dene Hotel & Spa a deal which we could not resist as we made one prevoius visit three years & always intended to return. Our previous visit cost £218 whilst this visit was an amazing £149 for two nights bed & breakfast plus dinner on the first night.The wonderful setting of Damson Dene was equalled by the view from our bedroom window, we enjoyed watching the ducks & water fowl,especially the chicks on the lake Service & choice in the Restaurant was excellent portions,generous. The icing on the cake was our visit to the spa where we swam, had a sauna as well as a first experiance of a steam room, internet access in public areas is also available all at no additional cost ! Bowness is easily accessed & parking not as difficult as in some other destinations with free parking for two hours along the lake road. We will make sure that we do not leave our return as long this next time.

Room Tip: Free wifi in public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granny4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and for the 5-star rating! There aren't many things that become better value for money as time goes on, but it seems we are! Yes, do ensure you don't wait another 3 years to come and see us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Reception staff could not have been more helpful, Room was near to facilities and had some lovely goods for sale in foyer together with lots of leaflets with local information. Breakfasts were superb & evening meal was lovely and well cooked, waiting staff were attentive and very fast in serving all foods, very smartly dressed, and polite. Room was clean and adequate. Loved the gardens, and being looked at through the windows by some of the many ducks. Very rural, quite a way out if you want shops.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for posting this lovely 5-star review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your mention of our staff. We're happy to read your comments about our food, especially our breakfast which sets you up great for the day we think! Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing