We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at the Damson Dene 9th & 10th April, Having read some reviews we were a little apprehensive, The rooms although dated , were clean had hairdryer , iron, 'The Tub ' toiletries even a mini sewing kit & shoe shine , The pool sauna & steam room were perfect. Highly recommend a session with the 'Healing Hands'.
All the staff we encountered were very polite and friendly at all times, which makes a big difference. The food Mmmm , not the worst we've had , breakfast was good and of ample quantity, main meal starters & desserts were excellant , main meal was o.k , good selection of wines at reasonable prices for hotels,
Would we choose to stay at Damson Dene again ? Yes without a doubt , it was a very good 3 star hotel , I'm certain the only thing preventing it from being 4 star is the dated rooms !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sand072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

Thank you very much for your great review, our beautician is thrilled that you would recommend her treatments. I have passed on your comments about the meals to our chef, average is not what he aims for, the kitchen really takes pride in the food produced and the ingredients that the hotel is supplied. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,111 - 2,117 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I would not rate this as a 3 star hotel, the rooms are not cleaned properly, the grounds are unkept and the food is of a poor quality. Whilst the reception and waiting staff are friendly, the general manager was incredibly rude. When we complained about the hairs left in the bath tub and bathroom floor by the housekeeping team, he claimed we were lying.
Would not go back or recommend this hotel to anyone - which is a shame as the location is great and the site has much potential.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissAsliO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Damson Dene Hotel. We do take cleanliness at the hotel very seriously; any reports of any problems are always dealt with very quickly and efficiently. We cannot always get everything right for every customer although that is always our aim sometimes it is not always achievable. I have passed on your comments to each department involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

The hotel is for dog lovers....there were dogs everywhere. They weren't supposed to bark but did. The place is cute but not clean enough. It has a 3 star rating but I would say that's too generous. The rooms I booked were not available when we arrived, and we were given rooms that were not big enough and didn't have enough beds. Then they told me these smaller rooms were more expensive than the family rooms I had booked. What? The pool was pretty good but the hot tub was not hot (I was worried about catching something in there). We could never get the phone in one room to work, and neither could the staff. Fraying carpet everywhere -- not what I would expect in a "decent" hotel. I had a horrible time and couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleMisery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Thank you for taking time to write your review, we really appreciate all comments, good and bad. We are very sorry that you stayed with us at a time when we had noisy dogs in the hotel; this is quite a rarity as although we do have dogs staying they are usually very well behaved. We are very confused about the room changes mentioned here, as it very unusual for rooms to be changed and even more so for a room to be allocated incorrectly, I have asked the Head Receptionist to investigate this. I can assure you that our pool and hot tube are extremely clean and well looked after, each morning all the water is tested as is required.
We cannot hit the mark every time, but it is always a disappointment when we don’t

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We have just returned from our first visit to Damson Dene. The hotel is in a lovely quiet spot close to Bownwess. The rooms have been refurbished and were spotlessly clean. Staff were very pleasant throughout the hotel. We decided to eat in the hotel as the menu had a good choice. However, our starter was lukewarm and we sent it back to the kitchen, when it returned it was only slightly better. The lamb was very tough and the vegetables very undercooked. We were extremely disappointed, as the hotel itself is a good choice for a short break, especially with the added bonus of the leisure centre. If we stayed again, we would eat out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2010

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback. I apologise for you being served such poor meals in our restaurant, we really place a high importance on our food as we provide the meats from our own local farm and the a lot of the herbs and vegetables from our own kitchen garden, so it is very sad to hear that it has been poorly prepared after so much effort has gone into supplying a high quality local product. Since writing your email we do have a new Head Chef and we would love you stay with us again so we can serve you a meal we are really proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Just to say we booked the Damson Dene in April 09, and I would advise anyone thinking of going - not to. Firstly we asked for a spacious room as we had 2 dogs in cages, arriving at the room you couldn't swing a cat to say the least, the toilet roll holder was stuck together with yellow tape, we overlooked a skip and cesspit, the smell in room was of damp, there was a stool at the side of the bed acting as a bedside cabinet., there was masking tape still around sockets and switches as if it had been decorated ( i don't know who they were trying to kid). We then went to have a look at the menu for dinner, we were told there was no menu but we could pick off the bar meal menu. I asked about breakfast for the following morning, to which they said they would need to check with the chef as they didn't know if there was going to be a cooked breakfast. We then went in the bar for a drink, I couldn't believe how dirty it was. The seats were ripped, the dust....you could write your name in it. Please think twice before staying at this hotel. It is classed as a 3 star hotel in my opinion it would be struggling to be a 2.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AllisonTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

This is a very upsetting review to receive. We are shocked and surprised to see such a bad review on our trip advisor page. Since the start of 2009 the hotel has had serious investment and concentrated training of all staff which has ensured high levels of customer satisfaction, which is reflected by the other reviews of the hotel. The hotel is a traditional stone built Lakeland building and consequently the rooms are on the smaller side, not the large modern rooms which we know many people are used to now. But I am left with the feeling that this review may not be for The Damson Dene Hotel - In regards to the comments about the evening meals and breakfast I am completely confused, the hotel offers a table d’hôte menu in the restaurant in the evenings and a full English breakfast every morning 365 days a year, without fail. The hotel also has no cesspit to be viewed from any window, nor have any of the bar seats ever been ripped? I am upset to see this review and feel that it is unfair to have such a bad report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Arrived christmas eve to the smell of an open log fire, greeted by the friendly welsh general manager, and the un asertive receptionist, (the only bad thing that is to say about the hotel), faimly room, 2 adults 1 child was a big spacous room with a big double bed, and two singles (one bed has its own room within a room) excellent for an older child who likes there space), 1st thing to notice was the hotel au chocolate santa and damson dene teddy bear, crisp white sheets on the beds, once we had settled in with a glass of mulled wine and mince pies, fruit and nuts and even more chocolates being handed out by the staff, it was time for a well cooked, high quality english meal , we were a party of 7 and had a pictureque view of the gardens covered in a thick layer of snow and the rolling hills of the lake district, come christmas morning we were treated to a glass of buckz fizz and a beautiful breakfast, all local produce was used, then we tested out the lesuire factilites, pool was a good side 10 metres and 2meteres deep at the deep end, there was also a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna which were all warm and very clean. now time for the big christmas day lunch wow, portions was perfect not to much, turkey was beautiful and the desserts was like a gift from god,! the afternoon was left to your lesuire but again coffee and tea was being handed out to everyone by the fire,
the supper was a lovely selection of cold meats, fish , soups ,and salads, and home made treacle tart and gataues, ( thats if you had room left from lunch), the general manager was still working hard getting everyone together for a game of domino's.
boxing day we were treated to another beautifuly cooked breakfast, big danish pastries!
we decided to travel out into windermere and take the ferry across the lakes to anbslle ( sorry if i have got the name wrong), the views were breath taking,, with the rolling hills covered in snow it felt like you were in switland, apart from the slipperly ice on pavements, ( part of the fun), when we arrived back at hotel it was time for a surpise performance by the local bell ringers who came to play christmas songs and got all the guests singing along, then it was time for the last evening meal, excellent once again and the fillet steak i had was superb, there was party items on the table each night to create an fun atmospheare in the dining room, the staff were excellent, really took care of the guests, about 9.30pm it was time for the quiz, so competive, but a real fun time had by all, at around 10.30pm, another surpise one of the guests who plays the pinao, had asked if he could play a few hyms, everyone gathered round and it was so peaceful, he also played queen bohemeon rapsey, ( very good),
over all the three days we spent at dameson dene hotel was a dream, not to posh as some places can be, everyone was warm welcoming, and even the dogs all had a good time, a big thumbs up to the general manager who lead he's team in award winning style, couldn't of asked for a better time, oh and to add to the beauty it even snowed christmas day night, (1st time in my whole 22 years).
reccommed to anyone of any age, familes those with dogs,.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel_casey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

good hotel, stayed twice and each time had a good time. rooms are getting more modern, always clean and pleasant. food in retaurant excellent, both breakfast and dinner. staff very helpfull, to point out places of interest etc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gomersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
533 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing