We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend the restaurant”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We decided to stay at Damson Dene due to the leisure facilities, which were good despite towels not being available for us and the promises made about the restuarant menu on the website. The evening meals were not enjoyable. We had to pay an additional 5 pounds each for an average steak and chips, but nothing else looking around the restaurant looked appealing. The menus and meals did not meet the expectations set by the website.

Our room was very small and impossibly hot with a large mirror falling off the cupboard door and uncomfortable pillows. At 11.30 we went to use the vending machine but the whole hotel was locked up and in darkness, we were unable to get anything to drink, this was very inconvenient.

On a positive note breakfast was good, the grounds were beautiful and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarigoldLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

I am very sorry that your stay at Damson Dene did not meet your expectations. We really pride ourselves on the food we serve in our restaurant and it is really disappointing to read that we have reached our usual high standards. The hotel reception does close at 10pm, but the bar stays open until all guests have gone to bed, we do not have a 24 hour reception as we are a small country hotel, but we are sorry that we had no staff available to meet you needs. I have passed your comments onto all departments in particular the kitchen so they can take on board and learn from your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,130 - 2,136 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night break and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay! We stayed in cottage 1, the annexe to hotel and were pleasantly suprised with our accomodation. Cottage 1 has two rooms, 1 twin on ground floor, bathroom is also on ground floor and then our double was on 1st floor (uploaded a pic of this), which was plenty big enough. We have 2 teenage children and they liked having their own space! They don't normally like hotels but loved it here! Last year we stayed at their sister hotel in Newby Bridge and were extremely disappointed with cleanliness, food, room size and staff attitudes so we were a little apprehensive about staying here, although the inlaws did check it out prior to booking. The staff at Damson Dene were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was faultless and the location was very idyllic, swallows soared and dipped as we sat on the terrace in the evening overlooking the duck pond, sheep grazing in adjoining fields and the distant hills. The view from the restaurant was gorgeous (see pics I've uploaded) The pool and changing rooms were clean, my mother in law (who stayed in the main hotel) used the beauty salon facilities and she was very impressed with the service there too. For a 3 star hotel we were more than satisfied with our stay, it was excellent value for money and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends. We booked again for July before we left!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loupoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We really appreciate the time you have taken to recommend our hotel to other holiday makers, and especially taking the time to load up your lovely pictures. We look forward to having you stay with us again and July and we hope the weather is as nice for you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I ended up at this hotel when their sister hotel the Riverside in Kendal had double booked my reservation even though I'd reserved & paid for it 2 months previously. The Damson Dene is in the middle on nowhere and when the Riverside told me I had to go & stay there & wouldn't do anything else I had to ask for the postal code to put in my satnav. What they don't tell you is that post code leads you to a farm house, whose poor owner is sick to death of people turning up at her property who think it's the Damson Dene!!
The DD hotel is very tired looking, guests rooms had received a rather unimaginative makeover but the worst thing was the amount of dog hair on the carpets. In our room the carpet was covered in what looked like golden retriever fur - unless the previous guest was a blonde with a severe case of hair loss. No way had the room been vacuumed before our stay. The stairs leading to the rooms also had dog hair on them and were very tatty.
There was absolutely no hot water on the morning we were due to leave. The receptionist told me they were "filling the pool" oh - so that's alright then!! When I again tried to have a shower after breakfast there was still no hot water so had to contact reception again who reported it to maintenance. It was still a while before it was sorted so I had to have a shower in the swimming pool changing rooms! This had happened to at least 2 other lots of guests who had gone to reception to complain.
Breakfast was ok, staff helpful but a staff member's dog was wandering in and out of the breakfast area.
The pool is ok, jacuzzi is very dangerous to get in and out of and changing area could be better. The best thing about this place was the gardens with lawns, trees and pond. My son has a disability and the reason I'd booked the original hotel in Kendal is because I could drive there and everything's on your doorstep. With this hotel I had to drive 7 miles just to get something to eat as I don't like to be stuck in a hotel's restaurant. I couldn't relax and have a drink because I had to drive everywhere. Would not recommend particularly as if you don't have a satnav or, like mine it doesn't always get a satellite signal - it's very stressful finding the hotel at night after you've had to drive to Bowness to eat something. The hotel's brochure describes it fitness centre as one of the best in Cumbria - what a joke - it's got a few machines in a small room and no air-conditioning!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acornfencing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

We are very sorry that you had to be moved from one of our other hotels, it is a very rare occurrence that this happens and it has been dealt with very seriously. In regards to the problem you had with your satnav, it is only one particular make of satnav that experiences this problem, our postcode is correct and we have tried to contact the satnav company but to no avail, I can only apologise for this. I am sorry that you had problems with the hot water; it is a problem that we are currently rectifying with our plumber. The hotel obviously wasn’t right for your needs and what want from a holiday in terms of location and in terms of the style as it very different from the one you had originally booked. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I have passed on all your comments to each department to be dealt with and rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

we stayed here for a 3 night break with family. the majority of the staff were friendly,
the rooms were small, the tv was placed on the wall so you couldnt really see it from the bed, it also had poor reception. the showers were useless, going from hot to cold and little power, the towels were ruff and in short supply, i had to ask for a facecloth but the rooms were clean and tidy with tea etc, hairdryer etc. The grounds were clean and tidy. The breakfasts were ok, the cooked breakfast was on a hot hob and looked a little dried out at times, but tasted ok. The evening meals were fairly good, and we had a good deal with the hotel. the beauty treatments were good priced and staff were helpful in re-scheduling. Yes the hotel was a little dated in parts, some being modern decor and old fashioned in other parts, but for a 3 star, it was clean, tidy, staff were accomodating, and the food was good. Location was a bit of a pain, as although it was stood on its own, it was right onto a little road, but was only 10mins from windemere and the view was ok. would go back again. good value for money. great how you can take your dogs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat_ot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you experienced problems with our showers this is a problem that we are currently investigating and we have been assured from our plumbers will be fixed. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon and that we can improve on you experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

From the moment I entered the hotel I was greeted with a friendly smile and a great welcome .My room was clean and had all the ammenities a city centre hotel would have,the bar area was quite but again a friendy face on the bar,this is a great place to unwind and take in the natural beauty of the lake district,a car is needed to get about as this hotel is set in the country. There was a lot of families staying at this hotel so very child friendly ideal as the leisure club is a great place to enjoy.A very pleasant welcome at breakfast ,self service with plenty of choice and a great view over the gardens.The manager is an asset to this hotel his proffesionalism and customer care are spot on.looking forward to returning again in August with the family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at the Damson Dene 9th & 10th April, Having read some reviews we were a little apprehensive, The rooms although dated , were clean had hairdryer , iron, 'The Tub ' toiletries even a mini sewing kit & shoe shine , The pool sauna & steam room were perfect. Highly recommend a session with the 'Healing Hands'.
All the staff we encountered were very polite and friendly at all times, which makes a big difference. The food Mmmm , not the worst we've had , breakfast was good and of ample quantity, main meal starters & desserts were excellant , main meal was o.k , good selection of wines at reasonable prices for hotels,
Would we choose to stay at Damson Dene again ? Yes without a doubt , it was a very good 3 star hotel , I'm certain the only thing preventing it from being 4 star is the dated rooms !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sand072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

Thank you very much for your great review, our beautician is thrilled that you would recommend her treatments. I have passed on your comments about the meals to our chef, average is not what he aims for, the kitchen really takes pride in the food produced and the ingredients that the hotel is supplied. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I would not rate this as a 3 star hotel, the rooms are not cleaned properly, the grounds are unkept and the food is of a poor quality. Whilst the reception and waiting staff are friendly, the general manager was incredibly rude. When we complained about the hairs left in the bath tub and bathroom floor by the housekeeping team, he claimed we were lying.
Would not go back or recommend this hotel to anyone - which is a shame as the location is great and the site has much potential.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissAsliO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Damson Dene Hotel. We do take cleanliness at the hotel very seriously; any reports of any problems are always dealt with very quickly and efficiently. We cannot always get everything right for every customer although that is always our aim sometimes it is not always achievable. I have passed on your comments to each department involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
572 reviews
3.8 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £65 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing