We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful rural break”
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The servcie was excellent with staff all polite and willing to help with whatever you needed. We stayed in one of the cottages away from the main hotel building. The rooms were spacious and well appointed.

The location is located on its own in the countryside although within a short drive of the village of Crosthwaite and also the main tourist centres of Bowness and Windermere. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful walks through wooded and open country.

The food was reliably good at both morning and evening meals. We also took advantage of the leisure centre using the pool, jacuzzi and saunas.

A thoroughly good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmdleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you very much for such a positive review, I will pass all your comments onto the team. Hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,044 - 2,050 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was our third stay at the DD, the last time being 8 years ago. We were happy to find everything as we remembered - excellent food, lovely grounds and as usual the friendliest, most helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, even though the hotel was full throughout our stay (6 nights) and everyone was clearly very busy. The only downside was the size of the bath in our room, it was just too small unfortunately, my son is nearly 6ft and I'm only 5ft 3" and even I found it too small, (this wasn't a problem the last times we have stayed as we had the same room but a different one on this occasion).

We spent a lot of luxury time in the pool, steam room and sauna each day and left on Saturday morning feeling like we'd had the relaxing break we were after.

We're going to try and make some of the soups that the chef made to perfection and my husband said the steak was the best he had ever had.

(Note: The bedrooms do not have air conditioning and the weather was very muggy while we were there so this might be something to bear in mind if you are planning on booking in high season as obviously the hotel cannot control the weather!!).

See you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariereynolds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you for your great comments and we can’t wait to have you stay with us again next year! Please mention on your reservation about the problem you had with your bath and we will endeavor to get you a room with a bigger bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay and although slighlty shabby carpets in places, we found the hotel to have a lovely atmosphere, excellent service and fantastic food. We took our dog and he loved being with us in a hotel ,as apart from the restaurant and leisure club he was allowed in the lounge and bar and all other areas. He behaved really well and loved the friendly attention from other guests.
The hotel is remote but has character and a ten minute drive from Bowness.
The staff were all lovely and helpful and aimed to please.
The leisure and pool area needs some tlc but it was nice to have a pool.
We stayed here because we wanted somewhere where we could take our dog, rather than booking a cottage etc, so thumbs up from us - a proper hotel that accepts and welcomes dogs, like they do in Europe.
Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased that you (and your dog!) enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed for my daughter's wedding and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the event went off smoothly. It felt very intimate and the setting was beautiful, without the hassle of normal Lake District traffic problems. The hotel does need some money spent on it but it is 'shabby chic'. We enjoyed the swimming-pool and the beauty/ relaxation treatments! The food was good and plentiful.
There were some problems but the sign of a good organisation is how it deals with them - and we can't fault how Wayne and the staff responded. It pays to be courteous and civil to everyone- unpleasant guests are a damned nuisance to everyone!
A nice extra was being able to pet other people's dogs! And some guests even left kind notes in my daughter's guestbook! Overall, a lovely, value-for-money place with very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnesroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you very much for your lovely review, what a compliment to receive from the Mother of Bride we couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed the wedding and have taken the time to post such a positive review on trip advisor for us. I will pass on all your comments to Wayne and the team, we hope that you will come and visit us for a holiday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were looking forward to our 2 night Break in the 'Lakes' , but was quite disappointed with the Damson Dene Hotel. It is only about a 10 minute drive from Bowness and Lake Windermere, but seemed quite remote. The Hotel doesn't look as attractive in real life as it does on the website, infact had we seen it beforehand, we would not have booked a room here. The staff that we spoke to all seemed pleasant and were very polite. Our room, which was a Four Poster with Jacuzzi (with a single fold away bed in for our Daughter), because of an 'upgrade' as we were told the family rooms were full, although sounding quite luxurious, was infact very small and the bathroom also and incidently the shower over the bath which we were under the impression was one we could actually shower under, had a 3 foot hose and so the only way we could shower was to kneel down in the bath. The room looked clean but the stairs leading up to the landing was always full of dog hairs and the corridoor leading to the rooms were very narrow and 'pokey'. We also didn't sleep much on both of our nights, as the first night we were disturbed off and on by loud talking and laughing from people outside up until about 3.00 am and on the second night it was the usual loud noise when somebody in the next room went to the toilet and then ran the tap. We paid for breakfast and dinner and thought the food was quite good, but all things considered and on the whole thought the Hotel was a little over priced and we wouldn't want to return here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieHessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the hotel. The hotel is in a quiet country location, surrounded by fields and woods which is part of it charm, a very traditional Lakes location, we realize that this is not always what everyone looks for in holiday but we do emphasis this point in our literature.
The bathroom is designed around the Jacuzzi bath, the shower is an extra but the heart of the bathroom is the large Jacuzzi bath, we are sorry if you were expecting a shower. The building is an old country house and hence the rooms are smaller with smaller corridors but this again is very lovely but not, as I accept, what some people look for in a hotel. I think maybe that the hotel wasn’t really what you were looking for in accommodation; perhaps maybe on your next visit to the Lakes you would try our more modern town centre hotel, ‘The Riverside Hotel Kendal’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I booked the hotel, then read some bad comments so I went there with a double feeling. But...the hotel was great! We had a big familyroom although some rooms may be a bit small but we got lucky. The kids loved the fitnessroom and swimmingpool very much which were very nice too! There was a nice jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom next to the pool from where i could keep an eye on the kids. Breakfast was ok when you like cooked english breakfast. It would be perfect if there were fresh fruit, breadrolls and some cheese or cold meat with it. Dinner was perfect as it was, every day a different menu with choise of at least 6 different starters, mains and desserts which were all perfectly cooked! There is a nice bar where you can have a drink in the evening or at 3 km there is a very nice pub which serves good food too. I'd recommend this hotel to others and I'd go there again if i'd plan another trip to the ever so beautiful Lake District! Thanks to the staf for being so friendly! Only negative thing I have to say is that my internet wasn't working at the hotel but other ppl's seem to work, guess Belgian laptops are not allowed in uk LOL.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneke1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Arrived with a group of 19 for a family wedding, hotel ok, nice location and surroundings. Breakfast of a good standard, and plenty food to be had. Wedding service went very well, and the Wedding Breakfast was excellent, but that's where the good things finished. We were in a private section of the hotel restaurant, a function room for the meal and evening gathering, which had been paid for, for the whole evening. We had music playing through 1 speaker, and was told in no uncertain terms to turn it down, or preferably off, as it was disturbing the other guests, bear in mind this was only 8pm. The room was then left set for the meal, with nowhere for the guests to dance, to the now almost inaudiable music. We left the room to get more drinks, only to find the staff setting the tables up for breakfast sittings!

As for the bar being open until all residents have gone to bed, (Read the managers comments further down) the bar closed just after midnight, and we were then literally thrown out of the bar area and told to sit in the lounge / reception area, and then to add insult to injury, the bar server then told us to shut up and be quiet, and if we didn't he would call the police and have us arrested!!!

Great customer service skills Damson Dene, the 20 people from our party have all said we will never return.

Choose wisley people, a wedding is an expensive day, and money spends anywhere, don't let somebody or a venue spoil your big day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Iamanamenotanumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Damson Dene Hotel.

We endeavour to please all our guests who attend functions and special occasions at the hotel, the wedding reception you attended was no exception. We try where possible to cater for all needs like the playing of load music even if not pre booked or arranged, which was the case on this particular occasion and absolutely no request were made for a dance floor. We have to consider the the comfort and relaxation of other guest staying at the hotel. As the function room adjoins the restaurant it was not possible to have the music turned up without disturbing other guests, even though it was only 8.00pm. As I am sure you can appreciate 8.00pm is a busy time for any Restaurant. At no time was any member of the party told to turn the music off. The Restaurant had been vacated for almost an hour before staff prepared for the next service period, staff had checked with a member of the party that the room was finished with.

We want and encourage our guest to enjoy their celebrations late into the day (in this case almost 1.00pm) guest are asked to take drinks through to the lounge and on occasions we do remind guest to be considerate of others staying in the hotel with regard to noise levels. I am sure you would want the same courtesy attributed to you if you were not with a wedding party. I am certain this was undertaken with the greatest of respect to guests and without the threat of being arrested. There is also no question in my mind that my staff and myself treated all guest attending this function courteously and with the utmost respect.

Once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
19.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing