We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights - OK”
Review of Casa Granada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mulege
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Granada
Ranked #2 of 7 Mulege B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It was OK - we were not aware that breakfast was not included
When we finished breakfast on the second day - we were told the cost of the breakfast.
There was a cockroach one night, next night a scorpiion in my room.
The other places we stayed in Baja were much better

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JalapenoUno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

My wife and I flew our small prop aircraft from San Francisco, CA into the Mulege airstrip over Memorial Day 2011. We spent 4 days at the Casa Granada and truly enjoyed it. We chose one of the two casitas in the back of the property, which included a comfortable outdoor seating and dining area. Our hosts, Lena and Christian, were extremely helpful and friendly. Lena cooked utterly delicious breakfasts every morning (ask for her huevos rancheros), which were a great start to the day. We also borrowed two bikes for a few days, and she also offered us kayaks if we had wanted. If you come to Mulege, stay at Casa Granada. This seasoned world traveler can promise you that you'll be happy with your choice.

Room Tip: Two casitas (out back) are worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

While you don't have the run of the house like you might have in some B&B, you will certainly be very satisfied with the accomadations and cleanliness...ie ....excellent. For this part of the world you will be very pleasantly surprised and we will be back!!! Also if you happen to be a pilot exploring the BAJA, you can land at Hotel Serenidad and walk about 50 yards to this little B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iansdadsbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casagranada, Manager at Casa Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Thank you very much for the review. We do appriciate that you took time to write it.
We would like to know what can we do to improve the service.
Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Baja is the tops in the world for the new passtime of whale watching, because here, you get to be up close and personal with mother and baby whales in Laguna San Ignacio.
Each year the whales seem to get tamer, and interaction increases. The whales are as interested in people as vice versa! Staying at Casa Granada, in Mulege, is the civilized way to make this trip. Accomodations over on the Pacific coast are in tents, so Baja styled luxury of this B&B is a huge improvement. One can hire a van to drive over, or like we did, fly over by private plane from the strip located 100 yards away. This beautiful stone villa, now features 4 upstairs rooms, some interconnect with a viewing lounge, and two casitas, with their own kitchens. Perfect for long term holidays. The property is shaded by date palms, fronts on the Mulege estuary, and has views of the Sea of Cortez.
There are no accomodations in the area up to the standards of Casa Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dancer062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband, myself and our daughter stayed for eight days at Lena and Kristian's wonderful casita. Lena was extrememly conscientious in checking in with us and making sure that our vacation was going the way we planned:a cave painting tour, private Spanish lessons, trips into the warm and inviting town of Mulege and good snorkeling sites. Lena was a wealth of local information and she gave us some terrific recommendations for restaurants and interesting sites. My daughter enjoyed the freedom of playing with their wonderful dog, Bella and we felt so relaxed and cozy in our beautiful courtyard outside the casita where we could cook all our meals when we wanted, sit and read, and play intense card games of Heart into the night. We highly recommend this wonderful spot and our family plans on returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyVoyagersWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My aunt and I embarked on a road trip from San Miguel de Allende in central Mexico to Los Angeles. We decided to take the Mazatlan - La Paz ferry and drive up the Baja Peninsula which neither of us had ever done. We made no prior reservations anywhere not being certain how far we might get, or want to get, in any given day. This worked quite well. At Mulege, we dropped in to Casa Granada in the late afternoon by almost literally stumbling upon it. The proprietors were very accommodating even with this short (or rather no) notice. Casa Granada, we soon learned, is in an excellent location on the estuary near the boat launch. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the proprietors friendly, knowledgable and sophisticated. They arranged fishing for us on the spot with an excellent skipper and recommended a great place for dinner. This was an amazing level of accommodation given that we gave them no notice of our arrival. This is a truly great place within a great place. I recommend Casa Granada very highly and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SisyphusandaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Mulege on the Sea of Cortez in Baja California Sur is a small friendly Mexican pueblo that is blessed with great people and fantastic scenery. This is not the place to go if you want all the glitz and glamour of the Cabo region, but for a step back in time to old town Mexico this is your place. Mulege has a number of good eateries, a bank with an ATM, post office, laundry mat, an interesting prison converted to a museum and a Jesuit Mission from the 1700's. The town has a grand spirit of history and of renewal.

The Casa Granada is located on the south side of the Mulege river almost at its confluence with the Sea of Cortez. The large main house is built of native rock, high ceilings, tremendous tile work and stone walkways which meander under a multitude of palms and flowering fauna. Kayaks can be launched directly from in front of the inn or you can just take in the view from any of the outdoor patios. However, the secret to the Casa Granada are the two casitas located behind the inn.

The casitas offer the independent traveler an Oasis which has all the accoutrements one would wish to find. They share a large enclosed patio with bougainvillea, cactus and citrus plants surrounding an exterior kitchen area where each casita has it's own sink and propane oven. Also available is a fully stocked pantry with many cooking utensils, small wares, local spices, a blender and even a microwave. There is a built in high BTU propane burner and a charcoal Bar-B-Que. The visitor can prepare anything they catch themselves or buy from the local fishing men who at times have shrimp and/or a variety of seasonal local fish (yellow fin tuna, roosterfish, sea bass and dorado).

The casitas themselves are one bedroom high ceiling spacious units. They have a refrigerator, a coffee maker and dishware for four. The best part is they have no television or phone. However cell phone coverage is excellent and full WIFI service is available. A new HVAC unit is available which helps on cool nights or warm spring afternoons. The beds were comfortable and storage was adequate.

We have enjoyed Mulege so much we have built a home there ourselves - enjoy the Casa Granada on your next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tecatedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulege
35.5 mi away
Las Casitas Hotel
Las Casitas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mulege
68 reviews
35.5 mi away
Hotel Terrazas
Hotel Terrazas
#4 of 7 in Mulege
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Granada

Address: No. 1 Estero de Mulege, Mulege, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Mulege
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mulege
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Granada in Mulege is a spacious villa constructed from local stone, on the Mulege Estuary, surrounded by palm trees, and including gated parking. We offer four nicely tiled guest rooms with views, bath, fridge and microwave, and two secluded Casitas with their own patio and out-doors kitchen, all at a budget price. Breakfast of your choice on request. We wellcome your 1 or 2 wellbehaved pets. Two older Seda Kayaks, one sit-on-top, and ping-pong are available. You are welcome to use the pool of neighboring Hotel Serenidad. Walking past the fishing boat lauch in front and airstrip you have access to miles of beaches and -Mulege's best kept secret: a large dune belt with lush vegetation. We will be happy to arrange Tours, horse-back riding, and fishing trips for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing