We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Francia Aguascalientes
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Aguascalientes
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heart of the city”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked our stay at this hotel for friday- monday. As a part of our vacation to La Feria de San Marcos. We left town for a couple days... But after experiencing the hotel and getting front row seats to one of the fairs parades as well as walking distance from the fair..we decided to book the next weekend at the hotel before leaving town! Overall great location+ helpfull staff...worth the cost!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
36
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The website for the Hotel Francia describes a superior room as having a king bed, fireplace and bathrobes. This is in fact the description for the junior suite. The superior rooms do not have any of these things. The superior room was good and the staff were friendly. The hotel has a great location and you get a really good price if you book on line. The only problem was the street noise. Car alarms were going off every night and kept on sounding for hours. This isn't the hotel's fault. It's probably the same in all hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUADALUPE ESPIN... F, Gerente at Hotel Francia Aguascalientes, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Google Translation
muchas gracias por sus comentarios le agradecemos el tiempo que se tomo para el llenado de su encuesta .
Esperamos verlo de nuevo en este su Hotel Francia. Saludos cordiales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
673 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed for one night with reservation made with the hotel. Perfect location attached to Sanbourns and located adjacent to the Zocalo. The lobby is a bit dark due to a low ceiling, check-in was slow due to excessive paper shuffling. Staff are professional and friendly. Functional rooms, large with good beds (two doubles). Comes with free in-room wi-fi and safety deposit box. Shower is OK, nice towels, no face clothes, free bottled water and flat screen TV. Hotel appears to be well maintained. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking Calle Madero. After 10 PM there was no street noise. Our room included a buffet breakfast in the Sanbourns dining room. Service starts at 7 AM. The Francia is a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was originally on the 7th floor, but the noise of the ar conditioning machines made it impossible to sleep. I asked to be changed and the staff immediately swiched me to the 4th floor, which was much better. Not only in that respect, the staff was always very considerate.
Location is great and the restaurant in the second floor isn't bad either.

Room Tip: Lower floors, street view is surprisingly more quiet than internal rooms because of ar conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Probably a grand hotel when it was built 100 years ago, but now it's lost the luster and appeal, and is just a fairly clean and convenient place to stay, and could use a true renovation. It was inexpensive, and for the price was pretty good, though the rooms were small. A 2 minute walk to the park, cathedral, shopping and museums...you can't get much better than this. I spent as much time outside as possible. Pleasant and accommodating service.

Room Tip: We were on the westerly end of the 5th floor with 1 room facing south overlooking the alley and park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here three nights in mid-February and found the room, the service and the facilities excellent quality for the money. Though it was more costly than we wanted, the extra comfort and location are worth it if you want to splurge a bit. The hotel also has a Sanborn's store connected to it, which is a good place to find things you will not find in a typical Mexican market.I had left my camera battery charger at home and was able to find a universal charger in Sanborn's. The hotel is fifty paces from the main plaza, cathedral and not-to-be-missed Government Palace, which has excellent murals and interesting architectural features. There are several pedestrian streets leading off the main square and what seems like six or seven museums and galleries within walking distance.

Also, I was taken ill in the middle of the night and the desk staff was so helpful in arranging a cab to the hospital and waiting with me on the street for the cab to arrive before giving the driver explicit instructions. Residents of Aquascalientes are called hidrocalidos, and all we met and interacted with were warm, hospitable and eager to help us with our well-intentioned but mangled Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel, built in 1915 but updated, is in a great location by the central zocalo and is in close proximity to key attractions such as the National Museum of Death, the main cathedrals, etc. The hotel room (ours was a double) was comfortable and clean with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Beds are quite hard, but bedding/linens are in good condition. As with many global hotels you'll need to bring your own washcloth if wanted. The air conditioning unit was functional, though it took some guesswork since the LED was broken and you couldn't enter a desired temperature...the best you could do was adjust the arrows up and down and go by "feel". Amenities included a hair dryer and the usual shampoo and soap. Room was supposed to have a coffee pot and coffee in the room, but it wasn't present and when requested from the front desk it never appeared during the week we were there. Remote controls for the television also must be requested from the front desk and seemed to be in short supply because though requested, we never received that item either. Wi-fi is free, but you can't get service/connection above the fifth floor, so if this is desired request a lower floor and room. The PC in the business office on the 2nd floor had no service either, and I just gave up on it. Others reported service to be slow and intermittent. There is no restaurant in the hotel itself, but it is located next door to a Sanborn's, which has a very comprehensive menu and generally good food. There is no fitness center on site. We were provided with two bottles of bottled water dailym but water is available for purchase at small stores across the street. The biggest issue for our group of 47 people, was that the room keys for most of us kept de-magnetizing and did so quickly. Getting re-keyed in the morning didn't guarantee you could get back into the room that afternoon, necessitating yet another trip to the front desk. Hotel staff were great for the most part.

Room Tip: Choose room on 5th floor or lower if you want to get wi-fi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguascalientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Aguascalientas
Quality Inn Aguascalientas
#12 of 33 in Aguascalientes
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Aguascalientes
Fiesta Americana Aguascalientes
#2 of 33 in Aguascalientes
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
One Aguascalientes San Marcos
One Aguascalientes San Marcos
#7 of 33 in Aguascalientes
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ibis Aguascalientes Norte
Ibis Aguascalientes Norte
#21 of 33 in Aguascalientes
187 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Aguascalientes
0.8 mi away
Hotel Medrano
Hotel Medrano
#10 of 33 in Aguascalientes
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francia Aguascalientes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francia Aguascalientes

Property: Hotel Francia Aguascalientes
Address: Av Francisco I. Madero No. 113 | Col Centro, Aguascalientes 20000, Mexico (Formerly Calinda Francia Aguascalientes)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Aguascalientes > Aguascalientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Aguascalientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Francia Aguascalientes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francia Aguascalientes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing