We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Roma
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$72
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Durango(Durango)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
4
16
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
16
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I like this hotel just for 3 things, 1 price, 2 beautiful 3 right in the centre

also clean and very friendly, staff dose not speak so much in english but help is much whey can, Guru Tour travellers like this place so much.

Room Tip: if you have laptop ask for room with wifi
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mangirdas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We turned up at the hotel with a group of 14 people and they didn't have our reservation. We were given rooms all over the area one that you had to go through a tiny door to get to. Our room stunk like old ciggerettes, the white towels were very grey, the floor hadn't been vacuumed and gerenally it was disgusting. We all went out and got drunk so we wouldn't have to look at it. It was in good location and we would have changed hotels but with so many people i just bought a towel and flip-flops so i could have a shower.
Don't stay here until it gets refurbished or something.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lisajanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

Hotel Roma is a wonderful hotel to stay. it's noisy at times, but it's beautiful. I like it because it's very close to everything downtown. i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank memdrodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Previous review gives lots of details I agree with.
Here's what I wrote for my 3 night stay July 21-24, 2006: A 24-peso taxi ride from the bus station, this hotel was excellently located between the cathedral & theater. (My balcony had a nice view of the front of the theater.) 265 pesos per night for my single room with a good sized bathroom and hot water shower. Also, I had a small closet, small TV with lots of channels, a desk with mirror and stool. The staff was friendly and helped with questions on where to walk, eat, how to get to places like the Durango Fair and the Villas del Oeste John Wayne western film sets. This hotel has an elevator and lots of small lounge areas in its hallways to rest while you climb its stairs in Durango's high altitude. I'd also stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

In Durango, June '06. Selected Hotel Roma after looking at its website & the fact that their personnel were the fastest & most cooperative in responding to our inquiries. We opted for the mini-suite for only $37, since it was $3 more than a regular room. An excellent decision as it turn out. The hotel has a fantastic location right across the streeet from The Cathedral & Main Plaza & the exterior of the building is pleasant. However, when we entered the lobby we almost walked out. It was run down & filfilled with shabby old worn furniture & looked like a flophouse & not some place we thought we could stay. The large space fomerly occupied by their restaurant/bar & which is the center piece of their lobby entrance is now vacant & used as temporary storage space. Another room opening into the lobby is also vacant & unsightly, but there was a lovely old stately stairway in the lobby center. The employees sensed our concern & were very nice & asked that I please look at a room. However, when we stepped into the elevator I was sure it was time to leave. It was a dumpy, dirty old box with burned out lights & broken buttons that required a llman to operate. However, when we reached the 3rd floor it was another world. The public space was large & pleasant & clean & our room turned out to be fantastic. Just recently remodeled with new carpeting that was still clean. The bedspreads & draperies are custom made from fabrics far better than many 4 & 5 star Mexican hotels we have stayed in. The furniture looks original, but has been recovered & there are new mattresses. The bathroom was the best we have had in Mexico in many trips. All new fixtures & lighting & a huge walk-in shower. No AC, but Durango is not known for hot or humid weather. A great ceiling fan & double frence doors opening to a private terrace that overlooks The Cathedral, though no furniture on it. We think the place is in the midst of an ongpoing renovation, though the employees on duty were not aware of any timetable. Surely the owners won't just upgrade the rooms to such an extent, while leaving the public areas in such poor condition? Just make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor (302, 303, 304, etc.). Rooms on the 2nd floor have not appear to have been redone yet, though the public space on 2 looks recently redone. Would we stay there again? Certainly.

12  Thank 1globaltraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews