We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks good from the outside, not so good from the inside” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gandara

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gandara
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hermosillo
Tijuana, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks good from the outside, not so good from the inside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Looks good from the outside, not so good from the inside. The rooms need to be remodeled ASAP. Breakfast Buffet was good, service overall is OK. Internet wasn't very strong in my room. more than a hotel I would say it serves as a Motel. So if you just need to sleep it's OK, not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosilu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is not a 4 stars hotel but something between 2-3 stars. It is very old and needs renovation. For one night is ok, but we would not stay there longer. The internet was fast, the aircondition worked good, the staff was polite, the parking was safe. The room was very simple and small. The bathroom should be completely renovated. Just an average hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

It is a shame the way they keep and run this Hotel defenettly not a good system.
At arrival they charge in advance instead of opening a boucher
They demand a deposit for used of telephone which by the way does not work correctly
telehone system outdated.
No plasma TV
They make you sign for the tv control....
Closer doors are dirty and need painting.
Water on faucets very low presure.
Water never gets hot jus warm.
Entry door to room not sealed you can see the outside light.
Excellent personnal and service yes they try to help but looks like owners do not know what maintance means. as well as having better administration system to run the place.
what a shame.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermosillo hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

This place is clean, has nice showers and beds and safe and close parking but isn't spectacular either. The staff was very kind. I'm sure there are other options in Hermosillo but this place is a good option. We were just passing through Hermosillo and it served our purposes perfectly for around 650 pesos.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmdale,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

i stayed at the hotel Gandara for only 2 days. i had booked my stay from one week. however after only a few days i realized it just wasn't the hotel it seemed on the websites. just not worth the price. i stayed in a ex. suite for 65.00 and night. just couldn't see what i was paying for.

  • Disliked — too much money for too little
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkidd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2006

I stayed at the Gandara for 4 nites the last week of Jan 2006. In the past two months I've been staying a lot in Hermosillo and tried different hotels. This time I chose the Gandara.

The hotel's reputation is among the best in Hermosillo and on the outside the construction is nice. The rooms, however, are very old to say the least. I got an "Executive Room" for $65 a nite but I couldn't see what was executive about it. it was a normal room with old furniture, comfortable but with a lot of minor things like lightbulbs that didn't work (promptly replaced), old TV, the remote control screwed to the nighttable, etc.

One redeeming quality that I'd been searching in Hermosillo is that their wireless Internet, for the most part works adequately in the rooms (as opposed to the nicer, newer Araiza).

The food at Hotel Gandara was extremely good.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarioMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2005

We stayed at hotel Gandara for a week we were attending a wedding which was the first held at the hotel. My nephew was getting married in the garden and the reception was in the banquet room of the hotel. It was a lovely place. the staff was very considerate, the rooms were very clean and roomy. the showers were excellent, they were large and the walk in type.
The food at the hotel was also very good. we enjoyed our stay there and wpold stay there again. L.J. in Pa.

  • Stayed April 2001
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermosillo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
#6 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#11 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Express Hermosillo
City Express Hermosillo
#2 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Angel
Hotel San Angel
#22 of 33 in Hermosillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 33 in Hermosillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Araiza Inn Hotel
Araiza Inn Hotel
#12 of 33 in Hermosillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gandara

Property: Hotel Gandara
Address: Boulevard Francisco Eusebio Kino 1000, Hermosillo 83010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Hermosillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hermosillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gandara 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gandara Hotel Hermosillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing