We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anyone who says this hotel is good is insane”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Hermosillo
tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“anyone who says this hotel is good is insane”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My family and I were driving to stay in san carlos mexico for last weekend, and decided we would stop in hermosillo the night before to be rested in the morning. I saw the reviews on "the colonial" and believed them. Yikes! The staff was very nice when we got there, i will give them that. We paid 114 dollars, as this was supposed to be "luxury" ...yikes. you can find more luxury in a 25 dollar motel 6. The beds? HARD AS ROCKS. Seriously. It's an old mattress (s) stuck on a wooden plyboard! The room smelled pretty bad, there were stains on the carpets, and you had to put your key in a device to turn the lights on. not only that, but all the lights came on! you couldn't just close a few, the lights are on the roof of the room , so it either had to be pitch black or blazing light...very agitating.

The decoration of the room was ok, the bathroom was ok...but of course we woke up in the morning and the water wasnt running. I went outside and looked at the pool an it was nasty. the "breakfast buffet" was supposed to start at 6Am, it was 645 am and all they had was juice...so we left.

The people are very nice there. No drama in the night. But, oh my god, your back will kill you the next day. Their beds are STONES.
I walked into a vacant room and touched the bed. Same thing. They need to buy some matresses and boxsprings that are not from 1951. This is an honest review...I have never written one before, but feel compelled to warn others...don't say i didn't warn you.

  • Liked — leaving in the morning
  • Disliked — the beds were like sleeping on the street, only less comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagainTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    53
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
13
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson az
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2007

(Repeating info from another review) People expect because they are in Mexico that all things will be less expensive. In Hermosillo this is not the case. HMO is a booming, prosperous industrial and business center for Sonora, as well as the state capital. Hotels cost pretty much the same here as an equivalent hotel in a large US city. One tip I would provide about most Mexican hotels is that the beds are very firm; the mattress is often on a wooden platform with no box spring; that has been my experience everywhere in Mexico except in upscale hotels in Mexico City.

My rate at the Colonial was $82 US including taxes. A billboard offered a special rate of 876 pesos ($82) when mentioning the specific promotion code B1. The normal rate is 1166 pesos ($109). The room was well equipped, very clean and comfortable. There was no wireless Internet, but there was a high speed wired Internet connection which worked great.

The staff was bilingual. The hotel is located in the "government zone" on Rio Sonora which is just south of the city center. There are restaurants nearby as well as in the hotel. A hot breakfast ordered from the menu was included in the rate, and was quite good. This is probably the "third best" hotel in HMO after the Fiesta Americana and Araiza Inn. I have stayed in several hotels in HMO. The only negative thing I would mention about the hotel is that it is built like a motel with outside entrances to the rooms. Otherwise it is very modern and well-equipped. The pool are is in a very pleasant courtyard.

  • Liked — comfort and amenities of room
  • Disliked — motel layout though hotel was circled by wall and had security
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2007

A friend who lives in Hermosillo made my original reservation, for one night, a Thursday. I stayed there one additional night, 10 days later, or so, a Sunday night. The hotel had a lot of vacancy. It was January, after all. I was put in a third floor room the first night, and did not realize there was no elevator until I was already down to the room. I have no idea why they didn't give me a ground level room. The second night they did. The rooms were identical. The first one on Thursday was $110 and the second one on Sunday was $80. I guess weird American pricing for business people has found its way to Hermosillo already.

Anyway, I recommend this hotel. There is a taxi stand outside the front office, as well as a nice place for breakfast, which was included in the rate.

Very clean, nice grounds, fairly centrally located; certainly near many of the government buildings.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious room, location
  • Disliked — Fluctuation in price
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ustlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 August 2004

My husband stayed at Hotel Colonial in August "04 and we loved it. The rooms are spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. The rate ($65-$85) which included breakfast, was quite reasonable. The food and service at the restaurant are excellent. Food presentation is outstanding. Their low prices were really surprising. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS FRANCE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2004

This hotel is a wonderful find, located about 20 minutes from the airport (cab about $12 US). It is inviting, situated near the gov't offices and the CIMA hospital and a super Wal-Mart (annoying) and a few blocks from the historic core of the city. It is 3 levels of VERY clean rooms with a wonderful decoration full of vibrant colors and fresh smells. The pool and spa are in the center and the view of the surrounding mountains is superb. Perfect for a relaxing weekend. No loud music like the Holiday Inn in Hermosillo. The fresh and cool air conditioner is ideal in the summer during the city's 'hot season'. The cable TV is excellent, the cleaning service is absolute. The staff does everything to accomodate visitors, unlike rude American hotels. There is a cheap, clean restaurant on the premise that also delivers to the rooms for an added 15% pesos of total . Cabs available on request to all areas of the city for a cheap price. In all, a fantastic place to stay for (US $80).

Helpful?
28 Thank Meursault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermosillo hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel San Sebastian
Hotel San Sebastian
#4 of 33 in Hermosillo
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bugambilia Hermosillo
Bugambilia Hermosillo
#30 of 33 in Hermosillo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
#7 of 33 in Hermosillo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hermosillo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Kino
Hotel Suites Kino
#26 of 33 in Hermosillo
65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hermosillo
Courtyard Hermosillo
#5 of 33 in Hermosillo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Vado Del Rio 9 | Villa De Seris, Hermosillo 83280, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Hermosillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hermosillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Hermosillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing