We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly and clean”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Hermosillo
Reviewed 29 December 2013

As we drive from Canada to Mazatlan this is our last overnight stop on our way to Mazatlan or first stop on the way home.
We were happy to find that they accept pets. There is a fee, but the price was ok.
The breakfast is nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindiP1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Location: Good
Service: Good
Rooms: Clean yes, but looks old.
Breakfast: I missed it.
Pool : Good.
Price: Afordable
For a business trip is ok, for a more romantic goal is not adequate.
In general is a good hotel and respectable, near a Business Area. A Museum is near and also
a new shopping mall is a walking distance .

Room Tip: Rooms with Pool view would be my selection
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at 4 different hotels in Hermosillo while working at the Ford plant and the Hotel Colonial is by far the best. They have all the amenities of a higher end chain hotel, restuarant, room service, WiFi, pool, big clean comfortable soft bed, cable TV, phone, business center, coupled with the quit atmosphere of small town Mexico. The service is great and the people are friendly. The price is $15 to $25 less per day than you would pay at the bigger chain hotels.

Room Tip: Inside room facing the courtyard and pool. The suites on the ends are nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kedata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel was good but not great. The rooms and the building looked very good. It seems they had just completed a restoration about a year ago. But they were still building a new conference center which had construction workers and materials near the lobby. A little off putting but nothing permanent and I'm sure it's gonna be a great addition to the hotel in the future. Another thing we didn't like was that the included free breakfast was really really meager. Only some fruit (apples), cereal, orange juice, milk and sliced bread. We didn't expect much because it was described as continental breakfast, but at least we expected a little more, like more fruit types, something else beside orange juice or maybe a more assorted variety of bread. Our other discomfort was that the bed was really really hard. This is probably a matter of taste, but we are not really fond of sleeping on something that resembles a wooden plank hehe..

Now, that was what we didn't like. On the good side: The pool and pool area was beautiful, and considering Hermosillo is a really hot city, this is a big plus. As I said before, the architecture looks great, too. The price was really fair. And the location next to the city's main mall and a museum is also something to compliment.

All in all, it was a good stay, but we'll keep trying other hotels when we go back to Hermosillo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I had the chance to Visit Hermosillo for the first time and stayed At hotel Colonial.
It was excellent Just Like the One In Cuidad Juarez Chih.
Staff was exceptional they helped us so much since we had 2 litlle ones traveling along,they loved the Pool very privated .Rooms are so clean and they have complementary breakfast ,Free wireless access.They called a taxi for us to take us to the Airport and is only about 20 mins away with trafic.
the Hotel had an event for the up coming Elections our room was about 7 rooms away from the event and we had no problems with noice it all...I can tell you we did not run with the same luck on our stay back from our trip at the Hotel San Angel In Hermosillo
So If you are in need of a hotel In Hermosillo Sonora Bussiness , vacation our passing thru HOTEL COLONIAL THE BEST IN HERMOSILLO SONORA.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Hotel Colonial is an excellent choice when staying at Hermosillo, Sonora. Being a little away from downtown is just an opportunity to get around in the nice city of Hermosillo. Warm attention from everybody at this hotel. You find comfort in an fresh environment. The restaurant just accross the rooms has very good meals. Try the "jugo verde" a very healthy juice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripnena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I had the pleasure to visit the Hotel Colonial in Hermissillo Mexico while playing bass in a band. We were in town for a big music festival. THe promoter made all the arrangements and he booked us in the Colonial.

Upon arrival I was impressed with the look of the facility. Very clean with a contemporary design. The rooms were of good size, clean with good cable selections on the TV. Free wireless access was a plus.

The restaurant had a buffet for breakfast and dinner. This may sound stupid, but if you want good Mexican food... go to Mexico. I stuffed myself on everything. The prices at the hotel seem to be more in line to American prices than Mexican. I paid 25 pesos for a can of beer ($2.50) . I went to the Wal-MArt and was able to buy a whole 6-pack for 25 pesos.

The pool was nice with lots of seating and a BBQ for grilling.

The area surrounding the hotel looks kind of seedy, but maybe that's just me. I was told not to walk to the store so I took a taxi that was parked at the front door.

No problems, would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rock_botttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermosillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
Hotel Ibis Hermosillo
#7 of 33 in Hermosillo
282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel San Sebastian
Hotel San Sebastian
#5 of 33 in Hermosillo
202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bugambilia Hermosillo
Bugambilia Hermosillo
#30 of 33 in Hermosillo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suites Kino
Hotel Suites Kino
#26 of 33 in Hermosillo
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Araiza Inn Hotel
Araiza Inn Hotel
#12 of 33 in Hermosillo
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hermosillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Vado Del Rio 9 | Villa De Seris, Hermosillo 83280, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Hermosillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hermosillo
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Hermosillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing