We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous ocean views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoran Sky Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoran Sky Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ocean views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful condo, every room has an ocean view balcony. Pools were amazing, and kids LOVED the water slide. The infinity pool looks like it ends in the ocean. So beautiful! Ocean/beach is just steps away, and the swim up bar serves drinks and food. There is a gift shop in the lobby, and an open air gym that faces the ocean. Fresh drinking water is supplied to your room. Parking is gated and safe. Free wifi, too!

Room Tip: Corner (end) rooms have a huge wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
49
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a good place to stay in Rocky Point. The rooms were well equipped and appointed well. It was very safe. Only complaint was that the restaurant was closed while we were there (New Years). The hotel is located right on the beach. You can walk out and be there in less than a minute. The vendors on the beach were not bad and left most of the people alone. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Runnerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 4 days here at the resort and stayed on the 14th floor. The views from the higher condos were unbelievable. We spent a couple of the nights down at the Tiki bar and unfortunately it seemed to close whenever they wanted. This would force the entire group into a condo to continue to hang out. This was the one downfall I could think of. Overall it was a great experience. Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The only negative keeping this review from 5 stars is the service. Front Desk and Maid service was lacking. We were rushed from our room upon checkout and Maid Service was barely present.
The views from our condo were amazing. Our balcony looked over the ocean and was great in the morning and at sunset. The rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. The bar by the pool shut down very early on some nights even though they had people sitting at the bar still ordering drinks. Over all, it was an excellent time and I enjoyed the Sonoran Sky Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveO_C53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite $250 per night). It was dirty (sandy). Our maid service consisted of a roll of toilet paper for day1 and 2 and a roll of paper towels on the 3rd day - I think that was just to show their presence because there was no cleaning. We started out with it not too clean. Very dirty floors and water rings on the glass dining table. No dish soap or cloth. Had to wash our own towels but the washing machine was defective (the door kept popping open and soap/water on the floor). The staff at the desk pretended to understand English. Since almost all of the guest are English speaking you would think that the staff would be better at it.
Lovely beach, nice pools and bar but restaurant not open or reserved for wedding. Good restaurant for dinner within walking distance. Bring your own breakfast and beach towels and face cloths. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been to this Sonoran Sky Resort before and have really enjoyed their facilities.This time though both hot tubs were warm tubs and the pools were ice cold.
Our one bedroom condo was nicely decorated, however the cleaning service lacked service. No clean towels were ever brought, at least we got toilet paper.
Awesome view of the beach.
Rented a quad for the first time there and that was very fun!
Try "The Hut" restaurant. Good food and they play music at night. If you are downtown at night go to the El Capitan Restaraunt next to the Lighthouse. Great sunset views and drinks.
Bring your own pool towels, as there is no pool towel service at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been going to Rocky Point for many years but went this time with the intention of buying a condo in the area. We took advantage of a special that was offered by Sonoran Sky and toured their units. Needless to say, they were beautiful and well appointed. Great ocean views.The sales personnel were especially cordial and left no question unanswered. I highly recommend you stop and check with the Sonoran Resorts and view these units. They sell themselves. Family friendly, great pools, Tiki Bar on the beach, full service restaurant adjacent to the bar. You couldn't ask for much more. Staff was up and beyond our expectations. Overall, very pleasant experience

Room Tip: Higher up is better. Less noise, a little further from the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottomgun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sky Resort

Property: Sonoran Sky Resort
Address: Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoran Sky Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sky Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Sky Resort Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing