We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonoran Sky Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoran Sky Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room was clean and nice. Super close to the beach. Ocean view rooms. Having kids I was worried about loud party music but all went quiet promptly and we had a good night sleep. Friendly staff. NOTICE ABOUT STINGRAYS!!! I got stung in my foot and I just wish the resort would warn people about that possibility. The sting is very painful and Is a good idea to go to the clinic so the doctor can clean it out and give you shots for pain and antibiotic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zbysior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
49
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you want to save a TON of money over buying, rent these Condos'! They are fairly new condo's, which appear well managed, and on a good day your kid (not that you're too old of course) could nearly throw a baseball to the water from your balcony.
If you want action go to Las Palomas down the way, this isn't your place. Iif you want to sit on your balcony and read a book or stare at the beach go here.
There is bar/restaurant is on the beach below the complex pool which offers a nice place to get away for an hour or so, otherwise you're just kinda hanging out on the beach, pool, or balcony. They have a little store on site, a small gym, top notch pool, and out standing rooms with full kitchen.
This condo building of all the newer condos' is the closest to the town, but it is still very safe. A ten minute walk down the beach and you'll be at the public beach area with a few locals.
Twenty/thirty minutes walking the other direction and you can be a "Wreckers" bar and grill a very nice family bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: We jogged the beach daily in the morning and it was very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First time staying at Sonoran Sky, it was great and highly recommended. We rented one of the Penthouse units and it was amazing. The view is gorgeous to wake up to every morning. Short walk to the beach. They have a volleyball net right on the beach, vendors to rent jet skis/banana boat, horseback riding, fresh mangoes, if you need sunglasses, souvenirs, etc. Super Ley is a close drive if you need anything from the store, and the downtown/market isn't too far either if you want some fresh seafood or just in the mood to explore. The resort has a nice pool area and a swim up bar too. There's also a golf course about 30 minutes way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xmingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great place to hang at the pool where they have a swim up bar directly on the ocean. The units are fantastic and the service is good and welcoming. You can walk out onto beach and rent a waverunner for $25-$35/30 minutes, horseback ride for $20 for 30 minute ride on the beach and grab a banana boat ride for $5.00. For our family, it's Mexico every time over southern California. It's cheaper, closer, and the water is warmer, etc. Do yourself a favor, forget about the rumours and go check it out for yourself. You'll be glad that you did. Oh, and the cruise ships will be coming into Rocky Point in 2015

Room Tip: If you want a view of the downtown lights get a room right side of the Condo, if you want a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrTory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful condo, every room has an ocean view balcony. Pools were amazing, and kids LOVED the water slide. The infinity pool looks like it ends in the ocean. So beautiful! Ocean/beach is just steps away, and the swim up bar serves drinks and food. There is a gift shop in the lobby, and an open air gym that faces the ocean. Fresh drinking water is supplied to your room. Parking is gated and safe. Free wifi, too!

Room Tip: Corner (end) rooms have a huge wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a good place to stay in Rocky Point. The rooms were well equipped and appointed well. It was very safe. Only complaint was that the restaurant was closed while we were there (New Years). The hotel is located right on the beach. You can walk out and be there in less than a minute. The vendors on the beach were not bad and left most of the people alone. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Runnerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 4 days here at the resort and stayed on the 14th floor. The views from the higher condos were unbelievable. We spent a couple of the nights down at the Tiki bar and unfortunately it seemed to close whenever they wanted. This would force the entire group into a condo to continue to hang out. This was the one downfall I could think of. Overall it was a great experience. Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sky Resort

Property: Sonoran Sky Resort
Address: Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoran Sky Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sky Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Sky Resort Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing