We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Bonita Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoran Sky Resort(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penasco Del Sol Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Senorial(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Blanca Golf Villas(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Motel Carmelita(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
El Mirador Village Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Grand Mayan(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vina Del Mar Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
42
80
51
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
80
51
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadjacent restaurantpatio barhot tubhappy hourmorning buffetsandy beachgreat shrimpan older hotelin townrooms are greatfridge and microwaveworked fineclean hotelfloor roomshrimp cocktailold portocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Playa Bonita lacks alot of amenities and they kept any belongings left behind. There towels are very old make sure you bring your own. There toilets are old and rusty from the inside. My daughter forgot her camera in the room. She was distracted and placed her camera on one of the beds. When i called the hotel I was told that they didn't find anything. But we are possitive it was left there because just before we left the hotel she had taken a picture of the ocean from our room.. It's very upsetting for them not to put something away on a lost and found and at leaset waited a couple days to see if they get a call or something. I don't think we'll be caoming back to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliciav207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We drove down from Arizona and forgot the map to the Playa Bonita. Luckily there were signs on the main street (Benito Juarez) that directed us to the hotel. It was a bit on the windy/chilly side and the fact that the hotel keeps the doors to the hotel wings open, made it a bit colder. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The beds were not especially comfortable, but sleep-able. We were concerned about the music from the adjacent restaurant, but they ended at about 9:30 and it didn't bother us. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and really enjoyed it. It was a good price for the food and a lot of the dinner guests liked dancing to the oldies (sung in Spanish by Rico).
The location on the beach was ideal and we loved going beach combing for shells during the low tide. One minus was the fact that the hot tub was anything but "hot". It would have been nice to relax in a warm jacuzzi on the cold nights. It was too cold to swim as well, but the pools looked nice and well maintained. We had wi-fi in our room which was great since we needed to search for several shops and other places while in Mexico. Staff was helpful as well.
Be sure to check out the "Cholla Mall" not far from the hotel. The shops there are much better than the ones in the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Easy to find, great location, beautiful facility, great beach. But, the hotel totally lacks amenities.
The room was comfortable, although small. No coffeemaker. No ice bucket. NO ICE!!! Towels were paper thin. Only two TV channels were available. One in english, one in spanish.
When I inquired, I was informed that a storm took out the dish. Then why two working channels? Hints of off-season cutbacks to me. Bar and restuarant next door were wonderful.
Food and drinks were stateside prices, but very good. i will have to think about staying again.

Room Tip: Ocean front view is the only way to go.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogiebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Best value on Sandy Beach. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. The 2 swimming pools are clean and newly tiled. The hot tub is great. They are located on a great section of Sandy Beach. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel has a wonderful happy hour and good food. No need to leave the premises after dark. They have secure parking. I would avoid the hotel during Spring Break if you like peace & quiet, though!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoladyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This hotel was rated two stars in our AAA travel guide! Not so! Not so clean room! Complained about all the noise in the middle of the night! The clerk at the desk could care less! I don't think we will stay there again!
Twisted in San Felipe!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before booking it!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfelipetwisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews