We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Playa Inn Hotel

Playa Inn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Inn Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Queen Creek, AZ.
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I booked 3 rooms for a weekend stay, mind you we are employed for eloy az correctional center.Yes,I also read the review on this hotel and did I regret of this. I tried to find a way out, I thought that it would be a night of terror.I was insure that it will be safe and to my true surprise it was very clean , well staff with friendly, professional and respectful employees.The pool is clean, jacuzzi was pleasant the continental breakfast was great.The security was great always showing there presence watching the cars in the parking lot as well as the hotel.I never seen any threating situation. I give this hotel two thumbs up we will stay in Playa Inn everytime we visit Puerto Penasco.Don't believe the negative reviews experience it for yourself you will not regret especially for the money.Oh ya,tell them that you want to speak to Barbra she is the one to book you for a fishing trip,by the way it was great.Thank you Playa Inn and to the staff, great work!From Martin Moreno

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank moreno123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    5
    6
    11
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Arrival: Despite having all my expedia confirmation information, was told at check-in that I did not have a reservation. The staff seemed uncaring, and our party waited half an hour while they tried to find my reservation. Then the owner, a very pleasant man, listens to my situation and says that he will find us a room, and we will get an upgrade to a full suite for all of our hassle. But, we have to check-back in 2 hours. Two hours later, we're put in a room that's not a full suite, not even the regular suite I wanted/needed, but a single room with 2 beds. A big problem since I booked a suite to ensure having 2 Queen beds and a sofa bed. Staff seemed totally uncaring to the fact that I'm now a bed short, and the room only had towels for 2 people. The owner was nowhere to be found.

Inquired about switching into a suite the next night, was told I'd have to check-in the morning-seriously what hotel doesn't know if they'll have a suite available the next night? We had an incredibly squished and cramped stay.

Asked for extra towels, they never arrived.

Telephone in the room was broken.

However the dining staff was very nice.

Don't trust what they say! You could stay at one of the new/nice hotels at the nicer beach for only a little bit more-I think it's worth it, that's what I'm doing next time.

  • Liked — Pretty Bouganvilla plants surrounding the pool area
  • Disliked — Lost my reservation, then lied to me and stuck me in an inadequate room!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PixterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Penasco hotels

Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

I have been on this site for several years and I travel for a living so I am aware of what a hotel should be like.
First let me start by saying that the hotel itself is really not all that bad. I mean the air conditioner was solid and worked fine. The room was clean. The shower worked and we had hot water. We had a small ref and it kept the water cool. There were no insects or rodents running amuck. The hotel stadd were friendly. BUT!

The clients or "guests" that frequent this hotel will ruin your vacation. The non-stop boom box blasting from the pool of crappy latin rap/soul/CRAP never seems to end. The young hordes of screaming cildren with diapers and snot oozing from their screaming mouths will make your head explode. My favorite is the teenage or early twenty something loud mouth drunk cigarette smoking "guests" just trashing up the pool area and making it a nightmare stay. If you do go swimiming bring a skimmer to get the layer of??????? off the water.

As for the beach? This hotel should be called a beach resort like Key West should be called a Rocky Mountain getaway! The so called beach is gross. I have been to a lot of resorts and beaches in my time. The beach is littered with diapers and garbage and bums,, nice! And this hotel is located a long way from any so called beach. Screw it,, do yourself a favor and drive to San Diego. I mean it, I was so disappointed. The only redeeming quality is that the shops have some nice art pieces and that the food was rather good. We had a nice dinner at the lighthouse with a very nice view of the sunset but the service there was not so good and I had the shrimp which tasted like chlorine and be sure to have a 4x4 to drive up there.

My Spanish is not so good so maybe I have it all wrong,, maybe Playa means "haven for loud ,obnoxious, non-parenting, greasy, cigarette, drunk people haven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Air conditioner was cold
  • Disliked — LOUD! Terrible location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TCHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pheonix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This hotel has new management, and my stay there was wonderful, clean and roach free.....The Playa Bonita is the scary one! I think you should see for yourself, that the Playa inn is the best for your money!!! They have a very polite staff, and a clean pool as well! They also have a boat called the CARNAVAL, witch is the BEST boat trip in Rocky point. It has a very good LIVE dj, (DJ SKRIBE) from phx,AZ, and alot more selection of free drinks..... Its like a your favorite dance club, on the water!!! The other boats have holes in them, and are very dangerous to ride in......That a TRUE FACT!!! So whatever review these guys have had in the past, ignore them and give em a shot, cause, they got it together now! ITS GREAT!!!)

  • Liked — The Carnaval boat was the most fun I have ever had in my life!!!
  • Disliked — The older tourists!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PheonixBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

This was the first time we went to Peniasco and we didn't know what to expect travel the Baja all the time and go to Cabo often,we were really happy with Penasco and the Playa inn was super,the rooms are clean and the bed was real nice(some hotels in Mexico have horribly hard beds)the pool is nice and clean and it has a cute swim up bar.The restaurant is just ok.The security in the parking lot was real good.a guard is there all the time.All in all this is a great place to stay in Peniasco.

  • Liked — nice room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

I had read the other reviews before booking and was a little nervous about booking, but I was going on a sold out weekend, and this hotel was the only thing I thought was half way decent that was still available. This place exceeded my expectations, the rooms were clean and we had hot water. I enjoyed the pool and had a great time partying with fellow patrons. In the morning, I ate at the cafe, and had some great breakfast, that was a surprise! The staff was nice to deal with and new a good deal of English as well. One complaint was the hard matresses, but I got used to it. I parked on the lot right outside, and was greeted by a security guard every time. I made sure to tip them, since they were on watch 24 hrs a day. I fet comfortable leaving my car there overnight without hesitation. Overall, this was a pleasant stay, if you want a place on a budget, definately stay here. It is not a 4-5 star resort by any means, but then again, who goes to Rocky Point to stay in their room? The beach and bars were close by which was a definate plus.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Phxnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

All review I read pretty much said it was horrible, and to stay away from the bar, I was a spring breaker on a low budget, the only thing bad is the dirt parking lot is kinda creepy at night with no security, but if you have an alarm and park by your window its fine, my room was by the Bar, which I read was loud and noisy, on a Friday night during spring break, it was silent, then we had requested more towels, many times, and we got them every time, cuz we didnt want to reuse our soaking wet ones, the pool was clean, the counter people spoke english, but I could do enough spanish to get by and that worked better, the price was right and in our room we had a bed a bathroom a tv , which we picked up my local 12 news in english out of phoenix, I had a blast, we trusted the maids with much expensive stuff in our rooms, they didnt tamper with any of it, the room was kinda dumpy, but clean, it was not Las Conchas or anything resort like, but it was Affordable, and a great place to eat and sleep, because if you are going to Rocky Point, what more are you going to do? In Mexico, you get up everyday and leave, the beach is right down the street, you can access the beach in a 1/4 mile walk, and mannys is around the corner, Ice house is across the street from mannys and the underage "mannys" is close to it too, we had fun in Mexico, and enjoyed our stay at the Playa inn, too many people had too high of standards, you get what you pay for, but it is nowhere near as bad as people make it out to be, The rooms look just like the pictures at [--] and they are fine, if you want a place to sleep, eat and leave, for however long, I highly recomend the playa inn, in fact my buddy and I are going back down in the middle of june, guess where we are staying? the playa inn.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The reviews stupid people gave
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kyledkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.6 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
716 reviews
2.5 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
695 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#19 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Inn Hotel

Property: Playa Inn Hotel
Address: Calle Sinaloa 62, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Puerto Penasco
Playa Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Hotel Playa Inn
Playa Inn Puerto Penasco
Playa Inn Hotel Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing