We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just for guarantee full disclosure, we own in the Sonoran Spa. However, it's been years since we stayed in our own unit as we own next door at the Sonoran Sea as well. We were pleased to see the resort is holding up well. Our advice to anyone considering visiting is to make sure, once you arrive in the room, do a full inventory of things and make sure they all work. If they don't, request another room. This resort is a nice place. It ins't a high end hotel, but it's nice. The proximity to the beach, the pools and the high quality restaurant make this resort a great place to hang out and chill.

Room Tip: Look online and find the room with the best pictures. Also, there are rooms that get little use tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woodsstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    45
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My wife and I along with another couple have spend New Years in Rocky Point for the past 15 years. it's a great way to get away for a couple of days and avoid the craziness of New Years in the states.
We've stayed the last couple of years at the Sonoran Spa. This year we even stayed in the same unit as last year.
We're bid fans on the resort with a small, but tasty restaurant and workout facility on the property.
Our unit was on the ground floor and since all of the units are individually owned, there's no consistency of furnishings. Ours looked good, but - but many little (and some big) things proved to be annoyances.. The couch may have been the most uncomfortable piece of furniture I've ever plopped my behind on. The blinds on the sliding glass doors were broke. Only two burners on the stove worked. Several light fixtures needed bulbs or wouldn't work at all. Oh well
The front desk did provide a couple of light bulbs, but no one to fix the stove or blinds.
Most of the little things didn't bother us - we were in Mexico for the beach, sand, food and beverages - all of which were wonderful.
We'll probably stay at the Spa or one of its sister resorts again, but not in the same unit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

this was my second time staying here, it is right on the beach with a nice balcony with patio furniture. Nice furniture in the condo and it was clean. Need maintance, It was really hot and humid, lots of condensation from the air conditioner dripping from vents but it worked really well.
Nice and comfy king size bed. We went the week before Labor day weekend and it was empty and really nice and quiet. Flew into Phoenix and drove down to Puerto Penasco after going and doing a Costco shop, great road, no hassles beautiful scenery. We did get stopped by the mexican army looking for drugs and guns. They were polite and quick. I felt very safe through out the visit
Went to the fish market in town, bought fresh shrimp and fish for dinner. yummy

Very hot and humid .....swimming in the ocean was great and the pool was clean, Nice workout room too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was our first trip together to Sandy Beach and we were quite pleased. The drive was easy and straightforward. A direct shot practically out of Phoenix. Within an hours arrival we were registered, unpacked and down to the water. This beach is sandy all right. It's a soft sand, kept really clean and you can wade out what feels forever into the water with continual soft footing beneath you. In the low tide events you can walk out very very far to explore the ocean floor and the small tide pools and wild life. It was excellent.

Oue resort included a pool and hot tub which we never went into but they looked inviting. The restaurant on the property was being renovated but down the road there were others to enjoy. Also with the condo, the kitchen was completely stocked with all the tools necessary to enable us to make our own meals with all the food we brought.

We needed a break and this provided it. Easy, last minute planning, a quick 4 day respite, we came back again in August and rented the same unit. I expect to be back several times each year now that we know how easy it is to get here and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in N805, a one bedroom condo, center tower, top floor. It was quiet with a great view. A t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Visited in June with my BF and was very, very, impressed with our suite! These are privately owned, so every one can be different, but the 2bed/2bath we were in was very spacious, way too big for the two of us to be using alone.

The weather was perfect, beach was gorgeous and the sonoran spa had a relaxed, casual atmosphere that was fun but friendly and not "too much" like the resort next door. That one...woah...pool was packed, music was way too loud and people were hammered.

Sonoran Spa is much more the place for me! Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msu_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have never write a review for any hotel because I always think that people have different opinion on what they are looking for in a resort. But this time I will write one. This weekend that we stay at this resort will be one that my entire family will never forget. My son bumb into sliding glass door not ran into it just bumb into it and that's all it took for our nightmare to begin. In one second glass chunks came falling down on him. I though that he was going to be gone. He ended almost loosing his leg and he is only 5 yrs old. According to staff at resort all rooms don't have tampered glass and could do the same if bumbed the wrong way. I write this to warn anyone thinking of coming to this resort. If you have children please becareful with them near that glass. If you drink becareful near that glass. If I could one family from going through the nightmare we went thru this review will be well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Racosta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Like the previous reviewer said most of these condo's are owned and rented out, we were lucky to find a great two bedroom on the third floor. We stayed for two weeks in early June 2012 love the views from the Sonoran Spa and Sea and Sun and they way they are set up makes for a beautiful ocean view from all rooms. We stayed at the Sea in March and much prefer that resort cause of the pool bar and it was a quieter resort then the Spa. The Spa seemed to many families of 10-15 mexicans cramed into one room the second weekend we were there. They were quite noisy and loud talking from balconies down to the pool or beach!!! And totally over run the pool which was fine with me as we much prefer the beach. Which there is no palapa's at the Spa so you better bring your own umbrella or purchase one from a vendor on the beach. We did eat one night at the little resturant there it is small with some inside tables and outside tables. We ate outside cause it was cooler outside then inside and the food (dinner) was really good! We also made our trip to the fish market a few times and ate at The Pointe for lunch and at The lighthouse on whale hill on night always wonderful to eat there and the views are to die for at sunset.
We have also stayed at Las Palomas many times but I really love the beach and totally think the views are far better at the Sonoran Sea, Spa and Sun so next visit in Oct. we're staying at the Sun.
The Sea is gated and has security 24hrs a day and I always feel safe in Rocky Point have never stopped going there and never will. Now they even have a brand new Sams Club to my surprise!!! How cool is that? Although I do enjoy our trips to the grocery store there in Rocky Point the super ley. Rocky Point is a great getaway for us in Arizona why go to Hawaii when you have such a beautiful beach within driving distance?!!!!

Room Tip: That's what I love about the Sonoran Spa, Sea, or Sun all rooms have great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrskeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Blanca Resort
Luna Blanca Resort
#8 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point

Property: Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Address: Camino La Choya Km. 3.7, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico (Formerly Sonoran Spa Resort at Sandy Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoran Spa Resort - 202 Condos on Sandy Beach - Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point Mexico) - One, Two & Three Bedrooms - Less 4 Hours From Phoenix, Tucson & Yuma - Full Service Spa - On-Site Restaurant - Tennis Courts - Three Swimming Pools (One Heated) - Jacuzzis - BBQ Grills - Exercise Room - In Room Phones - No Spring Breakers Please ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoran Spa Resort At Sandy Beach Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Resort Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Spa Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing