We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Point is a great destination and Sonoran Spa is worth your effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Rocky Point is a great destination and Sonoran Spa is worth your effort”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We drove down on Friday night from Phoenix, we actually crossed the border to Puerto Penasco in the dark. The road is brillant between the border and Rocky Point. There are excellent paved roads, bright working reflectors, working call boxes and excellent signage. There is allot of hype around the previous shoot out that happened with the cartel. Certainly, no body should be a mindless American, you have to pay attention to their laws not speed, run stop signs, etc as you have to answer to the Mexican authorities. I felt very safe. Regarding the conversation of crime, you would be exposed to the same level of crime in Phoenix, Mesa, South Central LA, the Bronx, should I go on .... Do not drive in Mexico with out the correct Mexican insurance, a $64.00 investment for the weekend is not worth cutting corners as it could mean a possible jail hold for being cheap and careless.

When, we arrived into the Sandy Beach area at th Sonoran Spa, it is a busy section of the town. There is not a big light up sign in front of the hotel, so at night it is easy to miss. A guard at the Sonoran Sky redirected us. The Sonoran Spa security guard was quick and efficient. The parking is free and the have guards posted every where.

The majority of rooms are owned by private owners, so there is constitnecy on style and floor plans, but upkeep can vary. Overall, it has a great, clean and classy feel. I was in a two bedroom on the ocean which is worth the investment. The ocean front is almost pristine, the beach is clean and the water a clear blue on the sea of Cortez. The one possible design flaw on the one bedroom rooms is that the bedroom faces is next to the front door and the noise from foot trafficc can be an issue at times. I had a chance to see one of the 3 bedroom suites with a large patio, would be great for parties

In the rooms, the AC was great, water pressure in the showers was strong and temparture appropriate. Most rooms have some type of WIF and Sat-TV. Most have kitchen set-ups so you would never have to dine out if you didn't want to.

I used the gym twice, I thought it impressive, it was better than some American chains. I did not use any of the Spa service, but was told by others that they do a very professional job. I did not dine at the restaurant, but other reviewers have ranted. There is Bar grill know as the HUT, out side the front of the hotel that got rave recommendations from others. The pools are great, there is a guard on duty so what little vendors that stoll the beach do not bother you.

The distance to the old port area is about a 15 minute drive, it is not walkable and I did not see any local Mexican public transit. The area enough bike, sandy buggy, ATV, rentals in the area the one could get around. The majortiy of Puerto Penascains are hard-working, tourist friendly, honest folk. They want tourist to return. Your selection of dining is varied, I would recommend the seafood. I brought home 20lbs of Shrimp, as it has a sweet taste.

The old port area is a typical area with the typical Mexican tourist goods, fun for a stroll. I was there for about 36 hours, but I am planning to return. The 4-5 hour drive from Phoenix is easy, Rocky point is inviting and there is allot of things to do. I would recommend the Sonoran Spa to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a higher up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    47
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Oh my gosh!!! Just had the best dinner ever......at the Sonoran Grill at the Sonoran Spa Resort. We started with the guacamole to go with their complimentary Chips and Pico De Gallo (so so good!!). Ordered the waitress's favorite, the Flounder Piccata which came with a Caesar Salad, linguine and fresh grilled veggies (cauliflower, green beans, carrots and broccoli). We had 2 sangrias and 2 bottled waters. Total bill was $27. We shared all between the two of us and are pleasantly full! So full, we couldn't even eat a dessert. We will be back for sure this trip! Bonus: The service was great! Downside: On the small side - Don't judge this book by it's cover.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When the buses arrive from NE Mexico the pools are crowded to the point where it is no longer pleasurable. Also it is a problem for security to keep people out of the pools with T-shirts and cut-offs.The restaurant has great food. The best on the beach. Mid week I can not think of a better place to stay. Treating yourself to the full service Spa is well worth the expense.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Went there after recommendation. Food was so good! Presentation, taste, quality, price was outstanding. Looks a bit underwhelming when you walk in but the rest of the experience was great! When we don't like somewhere the comment made is 'take a good look around as we won't be coming back'. We did not take a good look around as we'll definitely be going back to the Sonoran Grill!!


Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AZBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

For the past 8 years we have made Puerto Peñasco our summer vacation destination. If we go nowhere else we make sure we return to Peñasco every year. For the past 5 years we have returned to the Sonoran Spa and requested the same unit. The owners of this unit have managed to make our stay unforgettable and amazing. Our family of 5 feels right at home. Every time we go back something different has been updated to their unit. Huge props to the owner and if you ever read this we would like to thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Sonoran Spa W 506 on July 5th 2013. I would say that this particular condo is just barely average. Has not been fixed up or updated in years. The best thing about it was the view.. The pool was kept clean and nice but Someone got sick on the stairs on Saturday morning and many houskeeping poeole walked by and we told the front desk about this but nobody seemed to mind. There was trash lying around stairs and just not kept very clean. Way overpriced for this condo..

We had stayed at Las Palomas before. It was spotless/clean and up to date..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurtmg1, Owner at Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
I would like the opportunity to show you how much things have improved since my management company has taken over. Please contact me directly for a special deal. Kurt (602) 380-7203. Mention your trip advisor review dated July 9, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Sonoran Spa Resort. We opted to stay in the same exact unit as we did last year, just because we knew what to expect. The unit has definitely been worn and tattered since our last visit. There was only one set of blinds at the very far end of the windows in the living room. Since the room was on the ground floor I was a little bit uncomfortable with that, especially since the blinds were there last year. The kitchen is dated...cabinets and counter tops are old but the biggest pet-peeve of the kitchen is that only two of the burners on the stove worked and even at that, I had to hit them with the pan to get them to work. We go with a group of people and we like to eat our meals together but you're not allowed to sit on the grassy areas of the resort so that is a bummer for our group. The pool is wonderful, my kids enjoy it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All-in-all, this resort is nice. I would stay here again but I would definitely choose a different unit. And I would love it even more if we could use the grass :)

Room Tip: Ground floor is great if you're traveling with a lot of extras (luggage, canopies, chairs, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
711 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
211 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
5.6 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#14 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point

Property: Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Address: Camino La Choya Km. 3.7, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico (Formerly Sonoran Spa Resort at Sandy Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoran Spa Resort - 202 Condos on Sandy Beach - Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point Mexico) - One, Two & Three Bedrooms - Less 4 Hours From Phoenix, Tucson & Yuma - Full Service Spa - On-Site Restaurant - Tennis Courts - Three Swimming Pools (One Heated) - Jacuzzis - BBQ Grills - Exercise Room - In Room Phones - No Spring Breakers Please ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoran Spa Resort At Sandy Beach Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Resort Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Spa Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing