We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant chill atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As soon as you pass the guardhouse into the resort, you've arrived in Paradise. Totally relaxing and safe, you'll never want to leave. The spa, exercise room, pools, and beach are very well maintained and contribute to a feeling of being lost in vacation time. There is a great restaurant, wine bar and convenience store on site. They set up a small portable bar poolside on weekends, but there is never the loud raucous scene you sometimes see at other resorts. Buildings are 8 stories tall with an unobstructed view of the beautiful sea of Cortez. We saw dolphins and even a whale swim by. The beach and the tidal pools are great for walking. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but higher floors have even more amazing views of sunsets (and sunrises i...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

we stayed at the sonoran spa e309 and it was a beautiful condo. It was a 2 bedroom 2 bath very nicely furnished n clean, there were beautiful sea views from the balcony. The grounds were very well taken care of and the pools were very clean. Security was visible constantly, the parking lot was for guest with lots of security. We had a great vacation and highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jujube34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Sonoran Spa for a couple of days and it was very enjoyable. The room was clean as well as the bathrooms. We should have brought our own beach towels and beach chairs as there where none in the room. We were able to get beach towels at the front desk for a $10 deposit which we got back when we brought the towels back. The restaurant on the property was excellent. The prices were reasonable the service excellent. My wife and I had the flounder and it was excellent. So fresh. The resort had very good security. Would recommend. The only reason I did not give it a five star is that there was no food or bar by the pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west wing if you do not want the afternoon sun
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TierraPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We drove down on Friday night from Phoenix, we actually crossed the border to Puerto Penasco in the dark. The road is brillant between the border and Rocky Point. There are excellent paved roads, bright working reflectors, working call boxes and excellent signage. There is allot of hype around the previous shoot out that happened with the cartel. Certainly, no body should be a mindless American, you have to pay attention to their laws not speed, run stop signs, etc as you have to answer to the Mexican authorities. I felt very safe. Regarding the conversation of crime, you would be exposed to the same level of crime in Phoenix, Mesa, South Central LA, the Bronx, should I go on .... Do not drive in Mexico with out the correct Mexican insurance, a $64.00 investment for the weekend is not worth cutting corners as it could mean a possible jail hold for being cheap and careless.

When, we arrived into the Sandy Beach area at th Sonoran Spa, it is a busy section of the town. There is not a big light up sign in front of the hotel, so at night it is easy to miss. A guard at the Sonoran Sky redirected us. The Sonoran Spa security guard was quick and efficient. The parking is free and the have guards posted every where.

The majority of rooms are owned by private owners, so there is constitnecy on style and floor plans, but upkeep can vary. Overall, it has a great, clean and classy feel. I was in a two bedroom on the ocean which is worth the investment. The ocean front is almost pristine, the beach is clean and the water a clear blue on the sea of Cortez. The one possible design flaw on the one bedroom rooms is that the bedroom faces is next to the front door and the noise from foot trafficc can be an issue at times. I had a chance to see one of the 3 bedroom suites with a large patio, would be great for parties

In the rooms, the AC was great, water pressure in the showers was strong and temparture appropriate. Most rooms have some type of WIF and Sat-TV. Most have kitchen set-ups so you would never have to dine out if you didn't want to.

I used the gym twice, I thought it impressive, it was better than some American chains. I did not use any of the Spa service, but was told by others that they do a very professional job. I did not dine at the restaurant, but other reviewers have ranted. There is Bar grill know as the HUT, out side the front of the hotel that got rave recommendations from others. The pools are great, there is a guard on duty so what little vendors that stoll the beach do not bother you.

The distance to the old port area is about a 15 minute drive, it is not walkable and I did not see any local Mexican public transit. The area enough bike, sandy buggy, ATV, rentals in the area the one could get around. The majortiy of Puerto Penascains are hard-working, tourist friendly, honest folk. They want tourist to return. Your selection of dining is varied, I would recommend the seafood. I brought home 20lbs of Shrimp, as it has a sweet taste.

The old port area is a typical area with the typical Mexican tourist goods, fun for a stroll. I was there for about 36 hours, but I am planning to return. The 4-5 hour drive from Phoenix is easy, Rocky point is inviting and there is allot of things to do. I would recommend the Sonoran Spa to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a higher up room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Oh my gosh!!! Just had the best dinner ever......at the Sonoran Grill at the Sonoran Spa Resort. We started with the guacamole to go with their complimentary Chips and Pico De Gallo (so so good!!). Ordered the waitress's favorite, the Flounder Piccata which came with a Caesar Salad, linguine and fresh grilled veggies (cauliflower, green beans, carrots and broccoli). We had 2 sangrias and 2 bottled waters. Total bill was $27. We shared all between the two of us and are pleasantly full! So full, we couldn't even eat a dessert. We will be back for sure this trip! Bonus: The service was great! Downside: On the small side - Don't judge this book by it's cover.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When the buses arrive from NE Mexico the pools are crowded to the point where it is no longer pleasurable. Also it is a problem for security to keep people out of the pools with T-shirts and cut-offs.The restaurant has great food. The best on the beach. Mid week I can not think of a better place to stay. Treating yourself to the full service Spa is well worth the expense.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went there after recommendation. Food was so good! Presentation, taste, quality, price was outstanding. Looks a bit underwhelming when you walk in but the rest of the experience was great! When we don't like somewhere the comment made is 'take a good look around as we won't be coming back'. We did not take a good look around as we'll definitely be going back to the Sonoran Grill!!


Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank AZBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#15 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point

Address: Camino La Choya Km. 3.7, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico (Formerly Sonoran Spa Resort at Sandy Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £109 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoran Spa Resort - 202 Condos on Sandy Beach - Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point Mexico) - One, Two & Three Bedrooms - Less 4 Hours From Phoenix, Tucson & Yuma - Full Service Spa - On-Site Restaurant - Tennis Courts - Three Swimming Pools (One Heated) - Jacuzzis - BBQ Grills - Exercise Room - In Room Phones - No Spring Breakers Please ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoran Spa Resort At Sandy Beach Hotel Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Resort Puerto Peñasco
Sonoran Spa Puerto Penasco
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing