We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January in Rocky Point”
Review of Pinacate Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinacate Condos
Anchorage ak
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“January in Rocky Point”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom #415. It was okay, but I'd probably give it a score of 2 1/2 not a 3.

First the bad. It wasn't very clean to start despite paying the $65 cleaning fee. The kitchen was set up okay, but the refrigerator was noisy. No hot water in the kitchen to do dishes, so we never even tried the dishwasher. The washing machine worked, but the dryer was terribly loud. The beach is rather far from the hotel, and a bit trashy. The pool is ice cold and swimming in it is impossible. The Jacuzzi worked, but they turn it down and you need to ask for them to turn it up sometimes. The hours are 10am to 10pm which bummed me out, as I like to start the day with the hot tub. And if you stay in #415, you will need to start the day out with the hot tub, because the beds are a bit hard. The fitness center has low quality equipment, but enough free weights to get a quick workout in.

Now the good. We loved the view of the port and watching the boats come and go. Nice sunset views, and the birds put on a great show.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My mother and I are renting a 1 bedroom apartment from the owner for U$55/ night, and we're spending lovely 11 days at Pinacate condominio.
The apartment has central A/C, balcony looking over the swimming pools and ocean, washing machine/ dryer, new TV w/ cable, microwave oven, coffee maker, toaster, good shower, wi-fi high speed internet. The condo has a pretty new small fitness center, a hot tub, 2 swimming pools for visitors that overlook the beautiful blue sea and 1 pool exclusive for owners, 3 grills at the pool area, gated parking lot, and the condo is located between the Marina and Sandy beach.

It's low season, and the common areas aren't crowded. In high season, I wonder if the apartment would be noisy as the bedroom windows faces the internal aisle, also I could hear my neighbor sweeping the floor. I'd recommend earplugs just in case.

We walk to the beach, which is a 5-minute strolling along the ocean front.

Security guards are consistently present at the condo facilities, and the building is clean and bright. Guests are provided bracelets that should be worn during their stay.
The pool is the social gathering spot in the evening until 10PM when it closes, where families with kids all ages, as well as group of friends and couples enjoy the warm nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank funfotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

There are a lot of bad old reviews on here, so I thought I'd share my updated review. :) My family and I have been staying at the Pinacate since the 90's, and it has changed a lot over the years. We just recently made another trip there this past weekend and we notice new improvements every time we go. The resort is lovely, as always. The pool area is beautiful - though we spend most of the time in the hot tub. There are grills, fire pits, palapas, and a volleyball net on the beach. It is also a very short walk to the main street with lots of bars and taco stands that are open late.

One thing that it seems like most people don't realize is that each condo is individually owned, so some may be outdated, but most are very nice, and they range in size, from 1 bedroom to 3 bedrooms.

Room Tip: You can book through Seaside or FMI Rentals, or you can usually book through the owners themselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesir60541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Pinacate is right on the water, right next to Sandy beach and is also right in town so you can walk to restaurants and nightlife. It is smaller than the resorts further out on Sandy beach so is generally less crowded. Nice pool area, hot tub and BBQ pit. Good fishing from the rocks directly in front (no fishing license required in Mexico for fishing from shore). There is a computer room (also wireless throughout the property), an exercise room and gated parking. There are several good restaurants right across the street. Max's is always good. It is also right next to the hotel Penasco del Sol, with fancier dining. This has long been our favorite spot in Rocky Point.

Room Tip: FMI Rentals has an office right in the lobby and should take care of anything you need. http://www...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Construction all over the place. They woke us up at 9am with a lot of noise... they were remodeling the condo next door.. it was awful.. please before you decide to come.. call and make sure they are not working near your bedroom. We made reservations with seaside.. very poor service.. i recommend that you call directly to the condo administration.. i think it is RPR Mexico and make the reservations other wise you cant get all the benefits as a regular client.. no pool towels, no wireless... only for being with seaside.. so be careful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mavituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Just returned from Pinacante Condos and it was great cuz nobody was there! We had the whole pool to ourselves. We stayed in room #409 and although it could use some new pots and pans and cable tv (we were soooo bored at night cuz nuthin is open except for a pizza place) this place was a 6 1/2 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meshella75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

First of all, let me tell you to watch out if you book through www.rockypointres.com. They do not have their act together! The receipt confirmation that they sent us had the wrong check-in location, which had us on a wild goose chase until we learned the new check-in location is actually in the hotel lobby! I am still waiting a $20 refund that they had pre-charged me to have a fifth person in my condo, who ended up not coming.
Anyways, the resort itself is great! We stayed in unit B206 and B103- which was ground floor ocean front. They were both wonderfully equipt and quite roomy for 4 people in each room. The pool next door at Penasco Del Sol is so fun during the day time, they have a pool bar and volleyball and music all day. Pinacate is just a short walk to the beach where you can catch a banana boat ride or rnt jet skis. Rcky Point is one of the best vacation vaues out there. You get a lot for your dollar!

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — having to book it through www.rockypointres.com- they are terrible! Book elsewhere!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AZTRAVELAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.0 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
740 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 15 in Puerto Penasco
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinacate Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinacate Condos

Property: Pinacate Condos
Address: Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Pinacate Condos Hotel Puerto Penasco
Pinacate Condos Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing