We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great , food so,so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel great , food so,so”
Reviewed 2 August 2008

when we stayed the hotel was great, the staff very friendy, the only thing was the food, I went with 2 toodlers, so the breakfact was ok, I cound find something so they could eat, but at dinner, the food is very sofisticated and spicy, so there was no much I could choose from for them, they should have like a kids menu, with food a toddler o kid could it.

And the other thing my room safe did not work, they told us that it was working for sometime, so they gave me a safe in the front desk, but I lost the key and I have to pay a locksmith to come to the hotel and open it and it was very expensive, the hotel should have a master key for things like this, so the customer should not have to pay for it. or have all the room safe fix.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChichiSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    229
    95
    53
    44
See reviews for
236
251
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We just returned from the Penasco Del Sol Hotel in Rocky Point, Mexico. I traveled with my husband and two children ages 6 and 18 months. After reading rave reviews about this hotel, we threw caution to the wind and decided to book 5 nights.

We arrived late on Friday night and found a very active nighttime scene at both the pool and the lobby bar. Had I been alone with my husband, it would have been a good time.

We assumed that there would be things for our kids to do, but this hotel was definitely for the younger, single age group. The rooms
were very nice, but almost dangerous for small children. My 18 month old slipped on the marble floor and fell into a chest of drawers. She was fine, but had quite a gash on her forehead.

We had a nice breakfast buffet in the restaurant, but we were very disappointed in the beach. After quite a hike to get past the rock wall, we were barraged by local people camped out trying to sell us their wares. At first it didn't bother me, but after a couple of hours at the beach, the tide started to roll in and there was no available space left on the beach to even sit down. Very annoying. When you looked down you could not miss huge pieces of broken glass everywhere. I was very worried that my kids were going to cut their feet.

Later that night, after the tide rolled out, we were able to look for hermit crabs in the tide pools, the kids enjoyed it.

The pool was constantly crowded and we didn't feel comfortable bringing our kids into that environment. Also, the hotel starts blasting music by the pool starting at 9:00am and it lasts until very very late. I found it very annoying and WAY too loud.

We decided to leave on Sunday instead of staying until Wednesday. I don't think I would come back to this hotel. In fact, if I ever come back to Rocky Point I will try to find either a house or a condo that is far away from the hotels..

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotmama1Phoenix_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

This was my first trip to Rocky Point and I was rather excited after hearing good reviews from my friends from college. I'm not much of a party guy per ce, but I think I know how to have a good time too.

My girlfriend and I drove from Phoenix Rocky Point with a one night stay at the Penasco del Sol hotel. Unfortunately, I thoughtlessly didn't get directions to the actual hotel like I should have. I figured it was on the beach, thus easy enough to find...WRONG! We drove around the beach for an hourn trying to find the hotel. I quickly was getting mad when we couldn't find it. It was starting to get dark and we were getting a little worried. Thank goodness my girl kept a cool, plus she's way better with directions than I am (I admit to that), and she found the hotel after a while.

We were instantly greeted by attendants who help with our bags showed us where to park the car. I was using my Spanish but everyone there spoke English pretty well. We were shown to our room where the attendant, Jesus, put our bags away and even hung my my suit. Jesus found that the remote control for the very nice plasma screen TV was busted. He sent someone up, and it was handled in no time.

The room was awesome! A huge shower, very comfortable beds and easy access to the pool. The was a microwave, refrigerator and two sinks. The whole room was very clean and boasted marble floors and countertops as well as very rustic cast iron bars on the beds. The room had almost more of a Tuscan feel than Mexican, muy romantico.

The pool area was very nice too. It was open all night and had plenty of lounge chairs to sit in the sun. Some even had nice canopies if you needed a break from the sun. The bar had some pretty good bartenders. My girl loves D-I-R-T-Y Martinis, and she raved about hoe good they were.

The only down side would be breakfast the next morning. First it took and hour to get there, and they had no late check out. We called the desk to say that we ordered breakfast at 10, and it was now after 11, they gave us a late check out to compensate. The food was not great. My omelette was good but my girl, who doesn't eat pork, had some cut up hot dogs on her plate where I asked for potatos. Plus the pancakes had no syrup. The food wasn't great, but there were plenty of low priced restaurants with 5 minutes walking distance that were outstanding.

All in all, this hotel was excellent. Service was good and they were quick to fix any mistakes. The room was nice and clean, and the view was worth taking pictures of. I would certainly stay here again, but not for the food.

  • Liked — Very Romantic, Great View
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cervantez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2008

After seeing some bad reviews of this hotel I was really worried about staying here. I have come to the conclusion that some people set out to have a bad time, and it doesn't matter if they are staying at the ritz, they are going to complain. Don't listen to those people!

This is a beautiful hotel. The swim up bar is great, and the security makes absolute certain that kids can't swim in that pool...you have no idea of how many irresponsible parents tried to make their small children swim in the bar pool.

Checking in was a breeze. We arrived 5 hours before check in, and they let us right into our room, without asking a question. I didn't come across one single person at the hotel that didn't speak English, so it was really nice to not have a language barrier.

When we walked in we were blown away by how nice the hotel was. Since this is one of the medium priced hotels, I didn't expect anything grand...but the lobby and pool areas were something you'd expect from a much more expensive hotel.

The room was clean, and very spacious. When we checked in I asked the guy at the front desk if he could upgrade our room and he gave us a king ocean front suite for free!

For my wife and I this hotel had a better location than most of the other resorts. This is one of the only hotels located on the strip of beach close to the old port. That means that this hotel is basically surrounded by the neighborhood around it. The neighborhood is completely safe, and you could walk 2 minutes and find a great meal for only a couple of dollars. The resorts in the northern part Rocky Point, are very secluded and you are sheltered from the local culture, which for me is a shame. I loved being surrounded by the local culture, and being able to walk across the street and get real authentic local food!

My wife and I are already planning our next stay here!

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean room, great beach, and local culture
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timmilli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubac
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My sisters-in-laws and I drove to Rocky Point with our 3 grandchildren June 10, stayed three days, only problem was sewer smell in room 229, maid poured clorax in the drain. Free breakfast was great, Chliquillas, peeled and sliced fruit, omelet bar, yogurt, cereal, sweet breads, french toast, pancakes, etc, etc.

Great service from all the staff. We would diffenently stay there again. For those wanting a quiet stay;no wild young kids, go Tues. through Thurs. On Fri. going back to Tucson, many cars speeding towards RP. No long wait at the border, but was hot even in that half hour. The pool area was always clean,early mornings someone was cleaning beach area. We can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful Hotel and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TubacTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Ysidro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I make reservations thru the Hotel website, wich had a special: pay 3 nights, 4th night free. Had no trouble booking and called the hotel just to make clear about the 4th night. The reservations dept says If the site make the reservation it is ok, discount will be made at the departure. Also ask about springbreakers and they told me they leave same day that I arrived. (I have 2 kids under 6 years old). First: springbrakers stayed ! making lot of noise at night. Second: at the 3rd night when we went to the room, there was a awful smell, maintenance personel went promptly to smell the problem and sprayed some deodorized. Smell return late that night. At 8:00 am I went to the desk to close the check and to get another room, I ask about the 4th night free and what a surprise! They say no. I showed their web site and enter the special and they still say "I can't do anything". I ask for the manager and a very nice spoken lady take me to her office and She said that the general manager did not aproved the 4th night. I tell her that that was a misleading advertisement but She say "I'm sorry". I tell her that if they don't honored what they advertised, then I will leave that day with my family. Also mentioned the problems with the room and the noisy and drunk springbrakers and that I called the hotel to comfirm the springbreakers will leave before I enter with my family. Nothing was given, not even an apology. When I was paying to leave the hotel, I was informed that my '06 Uplander had a bump make with a truck las night driven by guess who! drunken driving springbreakers! I spend half day dealing with this matters and leave the hotel very dissapointed. Apparently the hotel owner is a USA citizen which have no respect to dissapointed guests. I do not recomend this hotel nor I will stayed in the future. For families, double check Your room rate and if You want a quiet vacations, Don't stay in hotels were springbrakers party. Seems that some hotels in Mexico don't accept springbrakers because they only make noise, don't spend in restaurants ( buy beer at the market and get drunk, also they only eat burritos or tacos ).

I think Mexico deserves better tourists.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mountainbiker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldmnaz, Director of Sales at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2008
We cannot discriminate against guests on the basis of age(unless under 18), we have security in place in the hotel and make every attempt to keep the hotel peaceful and quiet. In regards to the 4th night free promotion, this was not the package booked by this guest. In fact, that package was sold out when the reservations were made. It is impossible for us to determine if we will have spring breakers in the hotel based on a reservation date and we appologize if in fact someone said they would all be checking out. However, in pur research we found that comment to be unfounded. Thank you-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2008

After reading some of the negative reviews I almost changed my plans. However, after staying at Penasco Del Sol ..... I realize you can't believe everything you read. This is an excellent hotel which recently underwent a $16 Mil renovation. The food was great, the staff was nice, everything was clean and new - it was a very positive experience. Whatever problems this hotel may have had in the past do not exist now.

  • Liked — Great pool area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sverden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#6 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
7.0 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#14 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Property: Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing