We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service is horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“service is horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

we had reservations on two rooms, when we arrived they didnt have our rooms ready, they gave us our rooms at 5pm when arrived at noon. the rooms were in bad services, no cold water, the ac buttoms were all worn out, we were guessing whats hi and low. we spoken to the manager about all this and they didnt care. this is the first hotel a soon as you come in to town dont stop here there are better hotels and condos if you keep going. thier free breakfast is not free. they only give you two items bread and egg and if you want the buffet you pay extra. thats not a free meal. the front desk clerk was rude and didnt care to comp us on anything for their mistakes.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cesar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We really sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. In high season is very difficult to check in at noon because all weekends we are sold out but We do have an option for all our guets arriving early, they can enjoy the pool area and all property using the guest bracelet and also we can take care of your luggage. Check in time starts at 4:00 p.m., sometimes if our guests have special requests like joining rooms, rooms next each other, an special floor or near to the pool is difficult for the front desk assigned another rooms ready before 4 oclock.

This summer there is an special package that include breakfast, I apologize you can not get the breakfast buffet It was a misunderstand with the cashier. Please for next time let me know and I recompense it for you. Please reach me at gramirez@hotelrockypoint.com

Cordially,

Gisela Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    215
    86
    47
    40
See reviews for
220
234
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Six of us (three neighbor couples) stayed three nights at Penasco Del Sol. We were part of a group of about 50 who were part of a bus tour from Tucson. The hotel was very nice, spotlessly clean, well maintained, and was attractively decorated with well appointed rooms. The view of the pool and Sea of Cortez was beautiful! I was pleasantly surprised to find a coffee maker in the room and even wash cloths for the bath! Large towels for the pool were easily checked out and returned in the lobby. They have a small but well stocked gift shop and good restaurant. After reading some of the older reviews we did not know what to expect in the restaurant. As it turns out, they had very good food, an excellent bar, and a nice breakfast buffet for those who wanted it. The menu was varied and food was very fresh! The location was excellent! There is a nice little commercial shopping area adjacent to the hotel with souvenirs, food, bars, and pharmacies which is easy to walk. The highlight of the trip was the Pina Colada cocktails served in hollowed out pineapples! Yummy! We did have dinner two nights at the Playa Bonita hotel restaurant farther up the beach, and it was outstanding! The location on the beach was great for walking the beach collecting shells or buying souvenirs; and for the more actively inclined there was horseback riding, ATV and jet ski rentals, Ultralight airplane rides, and boat rides on big inflated "bananas"! The pools were well maintained, and there was a good swim-up bar. All staff members were friendly and responsive. There was loud music playing most all the time which could be positive or negative depending upon your interests.

Room Tip: Most all rooms have a view of the pools and Sea of Cortez. Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really lovely hotel, got great service from the front desk, very comfortable room/beds.
The wifi connection in the rooms is more or less non-existent, which was especially frustrating because I couldn't use my cellular service in Mexico. However the lobby gets an ok connection, and is very beautiful and comfortable - so I wasn't totally cut off. The in-hotel restaurant is WAY over priced, and they have very slow service so I wouldn't recommend it. (Go to the market area down the road for food!) The outdoor bar tenders were very nice. But again the drinks were crazy overpriced. The convenience of the hotel is outstanding... The pool area overlooks the beach, so it's but a few seconds walk away. The pools are very nice and I love their swim-up bar! Also, right across the street is a place called "Wrecked"... which is a two story upstairs bar and grill. They have awesome service, cheap drinks, and good food.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I got a room that opened up to the pool, this was fabulously convenient... but if you want a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coercionette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night so it was not very busy. Staff was all very nice. Service in restaurant was a little slow at times but food was very delicious. Room was clean, smelled fresh and spacious. View of the pool and ocean was wonderful. Amazing sunsets! Had the pool pretty much to ourselves on Monday. If you want to be able to charge to your room, make sure at check in they know you will want to do that. We had to provide our credit card three times for additional authorization. Very easy access to the beach. Already thinking about our next trip!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Top line: this is a very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable, and it sits right on a huge beach - perfect location.

I was quickly checked-in, no hassles, nice friendly staff. The rooms are a decent size - I had a nice balcony looking over the pool and the beach (see photos). The beds are a good size, good wifi, both Spanish and English satellite TV channels. The rooms only have a shower - no tub - and they are quite basic, so don't go expecting luxury, but they are definitely comfortable.

I ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times - it was pretty decent. Very friendly staff, quick service, the food came in good time and tasted good.

One thing which could be considered a downside for some people is that it's not that close to the main strip in Puerto Penasco - it's a $10 cab ride away. There are a few restaurants nearby, but if it's the promenade you want, then you have a little ride to get there.

For me, it was a good thing not to be right near the Puerto Penasco strip - this was a quiet, relaxing hotel, and it's location to the beach is second-to-none - you're right on it, and it's a great beach too.

I had a little hassle when the lock to my room stopped working, and so I was locked out. However, the reception staff dealt with this really quickly and had a guy come and fix it straight away, so it wasn't much of a hassle.

The hotel has secure parking, and one other important thing... quick elevators! (I really hate hotels with slow elevators!)

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MendozaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

A beautiful property, stunning Lobby, spanse pool area, and awesome beach front, right on the Bay,of the Gulf Of California.(Sea of Corte'z) Beach side 'palapas" and a huge pool deck with jacuzzi and Bar. One thing missing: SERVICE (and Guests!) Hummmm? There 'were' employees, on shift, but they seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves in espaNol, or nowhere to be seen!? "check in is at 4" However I did arrive around 1050 am-ish. There were no guests, many empty ready to go rooms right then, but I was jacked around saying ' my rooms is no ready". I CAL B.S. on that one. I know games hotels play. NOT COOL! I had been driving since 645am, from Blythe Ca. and was tired. There was no NEED to not just assign me a room in the catagory I reserved. It's not like people were checking in soon. in a 200 room hotel, I was maybe #20. at most. thats rooms rented! And no real joy en the restaurant staff, or really anything. PLUS the ENTIRE hotel is No Fumar No smoking. It's like Hawaii: "no smoking within 20ft. of the perimiter". Stupid!~
It's mexico! you can basically smoke "where ever" Lame!

Room Tip: Get a Beach Front, or pool front, Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerovergalineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had planed our vacations since March 24th. Came to Peñasco (my first time) and have to say that the experience staying at the Peñasco del Sol Hotel was more grateful than we expect.

I have to recommend you guys and gals, families and any one want to have a great vacations in Sonora´s beaches, go there. You will no regret. Price, cleanness, friendly staff, avery thing there you will find.

Have a great day and a great vacations

Room Tip: Ask on building front to the pool and the beach.... we stay at room 531 ... great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Property: Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing