We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Senorial(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Bonita Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Mirador Village Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Motel Carmelita(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
Vina Del Mar Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Fiesta de Cortez(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sonoran Sky Resort(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Penasco(Puerto Penasco)
View Hotel
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
330
269
119
65
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
269
119
65
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky pointthe general managerhotel restaurantswim up barpool viewpublic beachmaster suitehotel is greatbreakfast buffetoverlooking the oceanceiling fanhot tubmain poolpool towelsshort drivetacosspring break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This beach front hotel on the east side of the Baja is located 60 miles into Mexico from the AZ. border in the free zone. (You don' have to register your car when driving to this area unlike other areas south of here.) The hotel is a three star plus with all of the amenities expected including a nice air conditioned restaurant and bar and great pool, hot tub, swim up bar along with excellent beach access.The hotel was completely redone two years ago and offers great beds and flat screen televisions in each of the ocean view rooms. It is a seafood/shrimp town so that is offered in the many local restaurants as well as in several of the new condos located on the point 4 or 5 miles away. There is an airport a few miles from town and service from PHX and Tuscon is good.I last visited this hotel in June 2014

Room Tip: Western facing above the first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dickmseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, the first was about five years ago and it was wonderful that time, but our last stay was not at all the same experience. It started on the first night when we received a phone call at 10:30-11 pm from the front desk asking us to come pay for our room, this confused us because our credit card had been run when we checked in. When we got to the desk we were told that they had an issue with their credit card machine when we checked in ( 4pm) and now we needed to run it again. I'm sure you can understand our apprehension but did it anyways. When we asked why this couldn't wait until morning we were told rudely that it needed to be done tonight! As if we had done something wrong... The room was cleaned one day but not towels were left, it took two trips and two hours to get towels for our cold showers. Very few smiles or thank you from any staff, we felt unwelcome. This is a nice hotel and for the almost $700 I spent I would expect better service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The people were very friendly, it was our first time in Rocky Point. Great area. Beautiful views, good food and service. From the pool was only a few steps to the beach. Room was decent, came with a mini fridge, coffee maker and more. Overall really good service, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 122jarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When we first arrived the reservations were not saved by the previous telephone operator. So I had to spend some time getting that to the original reservation, which they ended up doing. Which it started out nice in that way.

But then when i got in the room to relax and enjoy the comfortable bed, I layer down on it )(thinking it was really soft) and it was like laying down on a plastic box with a blanket on top.. VERY hard.. I called twice to see if they can do anything, and they didn't. That night we slept on the pull out couch...

The next day a nice worker changed the mattress, which helped, but it was an 8 year old matters,so it still left some back pain.

The ice machine was broken so ww could only get ice from the bar, and we were on the fourth floor.

The deal with the towels is that you get towel VOUCHERS and if you lose those or the towels that you borrow with the vouchers, you have to pay the hotel $50. So immediately going to the hotel, we had to be responsible, and not lose towels or little cards.. Not exactly something I wanted to worry about on my vacation.

The music outside at the pool from 12 noon to midnight was so loud and a lot of expletives, that I couldn't even hear the waves crashing, nor did I want to hear all the cussing.

I told them about all the frustrations at check out, and they "couldn't" do anything about it. I don't know why this hotel is rated as high as it is, ESPECIALLY on trip advisor, a source that I usually trust.

Room Tip: Beds are extremely hard.. Ask for a softer bed...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are New Yorkers who moved to Phoenix a year ago and we kept hearing about Rocky Point from our neighbors, and even complete strangers! We finally decided to try it, and we were not disappointed.

The drive from Phoenix is four hours. We met people who drove from San Diego and New Mexico as well. The town of Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point) is touristy, poor, but small. It doesn't feel as corporate or commercial as, say, Cancun, and it is definitely a 180 from Las Vegas. We were SO happy there is NO gambling anywhere here. So we like that the drive there was quick and that driving through the town when we got there wasn't extensive. Once you get to the hotels it is LAID BACK and everything is very nice.

Sandy Beach is amazing. We collected many shells. There are sweet tide pools. Many local families enjoying the beach, as well as the tourists, many people selling things, but no one pesters you too badly. Once you say "no" they immediately leave. Everyone is polite. You can leave your bags on the beach and no one will take your things. There are drinks, fruits, crafts for sale, music, you name it. At night you can build a bon fire on the beach. It is perfect for a quick romantic getaway or a week long family vacation.

The exchange rate was just okay, but we felt things were fairly priced. We stayed on the fourth floor, overlooking the ocean (we requested a king bed and an ocean view well in advance, which they gave us). There is a snack bar down by the pool that is cheap, and it is very good. Plus, you get to add all of your extras for free (peppers, guacamole, onions, etc.). Children and families are having such a good time there, and everything stays so clean. There is security, as well, and they are very good about keeping things in order. You get a bracelet at check-in to let security know that you are allowed pool/beach access.

So our king room was a suite, which meant we had an actual bedroom (tight space, but had a closet, a vanity seat and mirror, a safe for valuables and a very firm king bed and lots of lighting and a good ceiling fan to keep us even cooler), no tub, but a shower, which was acceptable, albeit small, a kitchenette with two bar stools (mini fridge and microwave, plus some glasses for our use and an ice bucket and coffee maker/mugs/free coffee), a small round table and two chairs, plus a living room area with a pull-out couch. We were able to set the temperature in the room to where we like it, and it was very good air conditioning!. It is quite hot in Rocky Point, but the humidity is what makes it more difficult. The AC was great.

There is Max's, a small restaurant/bar across the street, kind of $/$$ but really good (owned by a man from Syracuse, NY--a great little place to eat and drink!), plus a pharmacy (totally over priced--so we avoided it). It is a short taxi drive, or take your own car around the cove to get to shopping and more restaurants. The parking is ample at the hotel and the shopping/market areas, and it is free. The pharmacies near the shopping across the cove are a bit cheaper. Prices change from place to place, so compare.

Don't recommend you getting any pesos for your trip--don't bother, as they prefer US dollars everywhere. Besides, you lose when you make the exchange, then lose again cashing them in for USD when you leave. We had one night free at the hotel for having purchased two nights. Total king suite cost was $475 for three nights. We got one night of room service (we DON'T recommend room service--it took an hour and a half and was pretty bad, unless you like mystery meat beef nachos with liquid orange queso sauce.) Just warning you--it isn't typical American fare. We think the pizza came from Max's, and it tasted like reheated frozen fare.

There is SO MUCH to do there! We rented ATVs, a jeep (took it into the desert--wow!), rode a banana boat ($5 a person, but only a ten minute ride--but still a blast!). They have many pina colada stands throughout the town ($6 in your own carved out pineapple!..and not much rum, but they pour the extra into a plastic cup and give it to you). Lots of street tacos. Fish tacos are especially good there--and especially at the hotel snack bar (yum!). Restaurants out on the street are cheaper if run by locals.

You can parasail, rent a ski-doo or kayak, charter a fishing boat, take a sunset booze cruise, rent bikes on the beach from Paul, ride horses, swim in the ocean and enjoy the sunset (wow!), collect seashells, check out the restaurants of the other resorts...

Rocky Point has a lot of unfinished construction due to the housing market crash. This makes the place still feel somewhat remote, a bit of a secret gem. We only saw Mexican families there, for the most part, and all seem to be relatively well-off financially. People are family oriented and very polite. Still can't get over how clean it all felt. Cholla Bay is a fun excursion on a jeep or ATV (a dirt road takes you to the point, and it is rough on a car), and there is a convenience store way out there, plus a secret little cove inlet (so lovely and blue!).

The whole place is magical and we cannot wait to return.

If you go by car:
Bring a cooler for sure, and bring your favorite beverages (although it is cheap to buy it there, too). Remember sun screen! (it cost $18 at the pharmacy, so we didn't pay that!) :(
Bring beach chairs/loungers, and/or beach blankets
Bring a shelter if you can--these are pitched all over the beach.

People are so nice, we were offered to sit under someone's shelter, we had our own chairs so we declined, but we shared our tequila. :)

It is a jean shorts and old t-shirts kind of place, but also a place to dress nice for dinner. Remember going to the lake or beach with your family as a kid? This whole place re-creates that same feeling. Don't dress to impress. Dress to relax. But also know this is a place to dress APPROPRIATELY.

Sleep quality was excellent, with the exception of other guests who like to passionately fight at 5am. You may want to consider that when you request where you want your room to be.

ALSO: Leave your diamonds at home. Just don't bother with jewelry if you can help it.

Room Tip: Sleep quality was excellent, with the exception of other guests who like to passionately fight at 5am. You may want to consider that when you request where you want your room to be. If you go by car: Bring a cooler for sure, and bring your favorite beverages (although it is cheap to buy it there, too). Remember sun screen! (it cost $18 at the pharmacy, so we didn't pay that!) :( Bring beach chairs/loungers, and/or beach blankets Bring a shelter if you can--these are pitched all over the beach. Don't recommend you getting any pesos for your trip--don't bother, as they prefer US dollars everywhere. Leave valuables and jewelry/especially engagement rings with diamonds, safe at home.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews