We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Puerto Penasco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Penasco Del Sol is one of the best Hotels I have stayed at Rocky Point. It is as good as the classy resorts but without the half hour drive into town. Its the perfect location with the beach footsteps away and various bars and restaurants down the street. Not to mention the professional management and staff who were great throughout my whole stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

My wife and I had a very relaxing weekend in Puerto Penasco. It was our first time staying at Penasco Del Sol but it will not be our last. Everything from the food to the hospitality was great! We had no problems with any of our service, never had to wait in line for a drink or food. We have stayed at other hotels and condos in Rocky Point but we put this experience at the top.
Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c12miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Traveled with a group in a chartered bus from Phoenix for the Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers Concert on Saturday night, June 12. We arrived Friday afternoon. Check in was a breeze-staff met us with Margaritas, sign one pre-printed form, receive a wrist identity bracelet and room card key. The rooms were clean with plenty of towels which were replaced daily. I had a nice balcony with a terrific view of the pool area and beach. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby along with some swinging night spots. Breakfast is included and is on a par with the all you can eat breakfasts at Las Vegas 5 star hotels. Plenty of fruit choices, pancakes, pastries, sausage, juice, coffee, etc. They also had made to order omelets with over 18 choice of fillings-class act all the way. The only thing I found troubling was the booming and banging of kids throwing firecrackers on the beach at night, some of those things sounded like hand grenades going off. It was kind of comical, though, to see the police chasing after them. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and plan on coming back next year. Incidentally, I am 72 and our group age make up was from 21 thru 72.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwotkyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I loved the swimming pools, the landscaping, the food, the service, and the recently renovated rooms. The beach by the hotel was good, but I really got to see how the other half lived when I went to the other end of the bay, where a cluster of hotels offer beach view rooms over gorgeous stretches of private beach. Still, we got a great deal and had a great time.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank HelenH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We rode down for a motorcycle rally, as this was our first time we were a little concerned. The Hotel was clean and everyone friendly. With a large group of motorcycleist the pool area was at times loud, but no more than any other place we've been.(they closed the area at 10pm) Our rooms were clean and ready when we arrived. The morning buffet was a reasonable price and the food was good. Maxi's across the street had very good food at a nice price. I noticed that the rooms are a little less this week than last, but all in all we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadglider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The service is not very good and the rooms are not so comfortable. But we happen an agreeable time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoruichi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I am a Mexican woman traveling with my sister. We were born and raised in Sonora, Mexico. Language and culture was not an issue. What was an issue was the staff's rudeness. They acted bothered at us being there. My sister and I work hard for our money and are NOT drug traffickers. I guess the hotel doesn't cater to people in our catagory. I booked with Orbiz and was told by the staff that they don't honor Orbiz prices so we were charged more. We couldn't go somewhere else because we would have been charge a penalty. The swimming pool was over crowded with unsupervised kids and was dirty. The restaurant was expensive and the food was very poor. My advise: DON'T STAY THERE!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WOOKIE81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#9 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort
Sonoran Spa Resort
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £45 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing