We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PLACE FOR THE COLLEGE AGED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fiesta de Cortez
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
A TripAdvisor Member
Lubbock, TX
13
Reviewed 10 June 2006

This hotel was suffiecient for the needs of 16 college kids who wanted to party and have a good time. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. It was near the beach and incase you were too inerbriated to walk that far- a pool was on the premises. Also it was very close to all of the night clubs. Mani's was just down the street. The price of the hotel was very reasonable and so was the price of the drinks. If you are jsut looking for an inexpensive way to relax and have fun- Fiesta De Cortez is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Roswell, New Mexico
111
Reviewed 30 May 2006

(Please note, my review ties in with "Best Place to Get Drunk in RP". We were some of the 17 who stayed at Fiesta de Cortez)

Fiesta de Cortez is the greatest place in Rocky Point, Mexico for college students who are looking a Happy Time! It is affordable and is the best place to party! I coordinated a trip to Rocky Point with 16 friends who truly know what it's like to have a great time. I chose this hotel because it was affordable and it was near all the happenin' places in Rocky Point.
When we arrived, the staff manager Charmin, was exceptionally cool! The staff here are so amazing! The bartenders, Jorge and Jorge even named a drink after our group called The Roswell because that is where all of us partiers came from. If you stay at this hotel, you MUST ask for a Roswell!
The pool at Fiesta de Cortez is awesome for just relaxing with about a hundred Coronas with lime a day, having a pool-side beerbong, and dancin' it up to the tunes they play in the bar. Seriously, folks, Fiesta de Cortez is the best place to stay in Rocky Point because, not only were the rooms fantastic and even had air conditioning, the staff is Incredibly Hospitable. Things got a little crazy while we were there, but the staff did not mind at all.
Fiesta de Cortez is the best place for college students and big groups who like to drink, dance, and really get wild and crazy! Viva Fiesta de Cortez!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Albuquerque
16
Reviewed 25 May 2006

This Hotel is the best place to stay Rocky Point if you plan on drinking nonstopped for your entire stay. Our party which consisted of 15 college students got drunk on the hotel premesis every day and night then proceeded to break bottles; light one-eighth sticks of dynamite (which we had purchased from street vendors) in our rooms, pool, parking lot etc; and blow up dead fish; the farewell barbecue we had even turned into a 10 foot tall bonfire, into which my freinds and I blew tequila, everclear, and lighter fluid from our mouths--resulting in a dragon like plume of fire. We were animals. If you party like this, fiesta is the best place in RP because no matter what we broke, set on fire, or exploded the staff was totally cool. The last night we even destroyed the plumbing in one of the rooms and water was shooting up like it was comming out of the blow hole of an orca whale. None of this was ever a problem with the staff! If you complain a lot, are old, or have children that you don't want hearing profane language then do not stay here. Got questions? hit me up: physicalphunk@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tempe, Arizona
13
Reviewed 24 May 2006

Warning: One of the hotel wings is unfinished/condemnable and you may end up in it. To be fair to this hotel, one of the two wings looks better than the other and probably is. The only problem is that you will not know which one you will be put in until you get there. I reserved two rooms and requested that they be side by side if possible. When I got there, the rooms were on two totally different floors. There were air conditioners in each room that did not have any manual control buttons and had to be operated with a remote control. Unfortunately, the remote control to one of them was missing, and when the front desk was told about it, they said that we would have to share between the two of us! Also there were no remote controls to the televisions, which had poor reception anyway. The worst thing of all is that the rooms did not even come equipt with telephones to call to the front desk or anywhere else. And when the people next door return to their rooms at 2:30 a.m. (as this is a popular place for young vacationers who party all night), you'd better be expecting to party along with them because it sounds like they are entering your room because the walls are so thin. Also, the shower had no partition from the rest of the bathroom in my room, but they did have one in my friend's room. And, there was no closet or anywhere else to hang clothes in my room, but my friend's room had a bar in an alcove to hang clothes on. Finally, you'd better bring your own towels if you stay here because you only get two very thin and rough feeling ones that are not absorbant, and this hotel has rules posted which read that "you will be charged $10 for stained towels". Which room will you get, with which amenities? It seems to be random. This place is not worth what they charge. They want to charge prices that are comparable to American rates, but not provide equal quality of service. Beware!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
15
Reviewed 21 April 2006

I was lured to this hotel by the 3 star rating, I will give it a 1/2 star.
This hotel looks like a set for a Stephen King film. Very old and needed repairs.
The day of our check in was delayed due to the room being cleaned, they should have left it dirty since the condition was still filthy. The phone was ready to fall apart and did not work. The sofa bed was a wood board and with no mattress(not usable). All the furniture must have been 15 to 20 years old and ready to fall apart. The advertised kitchen was a crawl space, only the small fridge was working. The bathroom had mold and all of us felt uneasy using it. The windows did not shut and had no ocean view(as advertised). The swimming pool had sand and the staff was very unfriendly. We had no choice but to stay at this hotel since all others were booked but will never recommed it to anyone. If you have reservations, cancelled them.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson Az
12
Reviewed 20 March 2006

I went down with 4 friends during spring break. It is sweet because its mainly students staying at the hotel. The hotel was alright, but if I wasnt on spring break; I would never stay at this hotel. The hotel water was not working for most of the day. Clean towels were always running out at the front desk. The roof was leaking and many other problems. DONT NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL unless your trying to save money and your going to partying the hole time then this place mite be alright. If you want a nice hotel go some where else.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2006

Not a bad place to stay - I've seen way worse in RP. It's across the street from the beach, all of the popular clubs (Manny's, Baja, etc.). Had very few issues for such a crowded weekend. As a 'starving college student' would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbumbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.8 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
815 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#12 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
164 reviews
2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#9 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fiesta de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fiesta de Cortez

Address: Baja California y Ramos Arizpe s/n, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fiesta de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta de Cortez is ideally located few steps from Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point) beach area. Close to all bars and nightly entertainment. Offers STD and Suites with capacity up to 5 pax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Atrapalo so you can book your Hotel Fiesta de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Fiesta De Cortez Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing